We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, luxury hotel, some minor improvements would make it excellent”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Pre pay your taxi at the booth when you get to the airport. 20 euros and about a 15 mins drive.

First of all, it's hard to see when you book just how huge this hotel is. We asked for an interconnecting room (when we booked) for the children and we got one. Check in was easy and the staff friendly. We were put on the 5th floor (the new wing) which has views towards the sea. New rooms, spacious bathrooms (big bath) but no shower? Strange as there is enough space for one and on this type of holiday, with hot temps, I think you need one. Good rooms though, you can hear the sea crashing against the coast. We were celebrating my daughter's birthday and we told them this and the next day they delivered a cake to the room. A v nice touch greatly appreciated!

The pools are lovely and well maintained but the sun beds do get very busy. We spent most of our time down at the Merkanti beach club area which has a bar. There are waitresses running around to serve you by the pool but it's hard to catch them. Better to serve people by the pool (and your takings will go up!) than wait for them to go to the bar and order. Just a minor suggestion.

You have to show your card to get towels but there is nothing stopping non residents getting to the pool. A sign tells them not to but that isn't going to stop anyone and while we were here, we saw lots of groups of people who clearly weren't at the hotel using the pools and the surrounding areas making it even more crowded. Control this better Hilton! I know it's difficult but it can be done.

Food in the hotel is quite expensive, the bars not bad value for hotel bars and we enjoyed good service throughout the whole hotel.

If you have the choice to get access to the executive lounge with your room then take it as we enjoyed (free) afternoon tea here and pre dinner drinks.

We walked to the nearest sandy beach one morning to find it full of young men/women who had clearly been out on an all night bender. The surrounding area is a bit like this so be warned - a bit rough round the edges with a lot of European young adults out to party all night. Our room was fairly quiet but you can still hear some of the groups late at night. The hotel is not situated right in these areas as it is on the coast but a couple hundred metres inland is where that all starts.

The cafe (portamaso) just outside the hotel is good for ice cream and breakfast.

It's easy to pick fault with things here - our lock was broken on the patio door but they fixed it quickly. The finishing is good but it's not excellent (e.g some of the fittings are loose, the grouting is messy). Not things that ruin a holiday by any means but noticeable. The rooms are spacious, the balconies lovely. The service in the hotel is excellent. As it's a corporate hotel there were functions every day which sometimes closed one of the pools or used one of the bars but tbh that didn't bother us. One strange thing is the main pool closes at 6 and you can't swim after that which is annoying.

The gym was spacious and an indoor 20m pool a bonus.

You can walk easily to lots of restaurants and the marina which for us was one of the reasons we booked this hotel rather than the Radisson Blu. You have easy access to a variety of restaurants right on your doorstep and if you are travelling with older children, it's perfect as they can go out into town without being miles away.

I'm not sure I'd call this a peaceful holiday. I saw another reviewer term their stay here as such but maybe they came out of season. Malta in the summer is busy and hot. One tip is do everything early. No one really gets going here till late morning early afternoon so all the tourist stuff is quiet first thing. Also the restaurants don't really get busy till 830/9 so if you eat at 730, you're more likely to get a good table without booking.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Malta - this location is too good. The hotel is great, it's not perfect by any means, but it makes a fabulous base and has everything you need with large rooms to wind down after a day in the sun. The staff will go out of their way to help you with anything you need and overall we were impressed.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank CityKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alastair_morin, Front Office Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear CityKate,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that your stay started very well with a smooth and easy check in and that we have been able to accommodate in one of our contemporary rooms with connecting door that’s has suits perfectly your needs. We took good note of your comment regarding the fact that your room was equipped with a big bath and not a shower.

I am happy to learn that we have participated on your daughter’s birthday, it is really an honor to have participated on such a special occasion. I trust she will remember this nice time.

Thank you for sharing your comment on your pool overall experience, indeed our pool are well maintained, I can read that you have also enjoyed our Merkanti Beach Club however I am distressed to see that the drink service by the Merkanti Pool was not up to your satisfaction. Please, rest assured that your comment has been shared with our Food and beverage operation manager for improvement.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused with your lock, I am glad that our engineering team took care of it in a quick and efficient way.

I am sure that the tips you mentioned about the area of Portomaso will help other tripadvisor travelers. Thank you again for sharing them.

I hope that travel will bring you back to Malta as we will be more than happy to welcoming you back and offer you again the great service that has been provided during your stay and might be celebrate another birthday with us.

Warm regards,

Alastair Morin
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,956 - 1,962 of 4,823 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This is the first time i have stayed in a hilton hotel and i must say,the whole experience was very good. On entering the hotel, the reception staff were very helpful and offered us a complimentary drink and cooling down towel. The suit we booked into was immaculate and we couldn't have asked for a better view. The pool was excellent and the guys at the pool were fantastic, they couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We ate at the Blue Elephant Thai restaurant which again was great, the food was fantastic and the waiting staff were very good. Excellent hotel, would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Paul_and_Kate007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Paul_and_Kate007,

Thank you!
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us whilst holidaying on the Island of Malta!
The Hilton Team is very glad to have provided you with you a good experience and do hope that this was the first of your many visits to our hotel!

We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The Hilton is in a great part of malta. Lots of great restaurants nearby and easy to get to everywhere. The exec rooms were great and the amount of pools also. The exec lounge however is far from any exec lounge I've experienced. Overcrowded, noisy, canteen like. The hotel either needs to make it bigger or raise threshold to enter. Not the oasis an exec lounge should be. Between 6 and 8 pm was worst and no management presence to view the mayhem. Inconsistent service also around the pool and housekeeping replenishment. Also a very surly duty manager marika was on hand and was not at all interested I helping when concierge were not at their desk.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank poptrash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alastair_morin, Front Office Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Poptrash1,

Thank you for taking the time to review on tripadvisor.

I do appreciate your nice comment regarding the location of our hotel, However I was distressed to read about your Executive lounge and pool experience.Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

May I kindly ask you to contact me directly as I would be interested to review the shortfalls you experienced in details and provide you some information regarding our Executive Lounge organisation following your comment.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in order to show you our true level of service.

Kind regards,

Alastair morin
Front Office manager
alastair.morin@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

just enjoyed the most fantastic holiday with 8 other members of the family.
The staff are all most welcoming especially Anne-Marie one of the duty managers and Martin the poolside supervisor.
The contempoary rooms all had sea views and were extremely spacious, with air conditioning that you control.
we had 10 poolside beds every day and there were no issues with space, the pool was never overcrouded and if you wanted a change of scenery you could go down to the Merkanti pool bar area where you are also overlooking the sea and have another wide range of sunbathing areas and a great eating area.
The Gym had every facility you needed and again the staff were very friendly and helpfull.
The breakfast set up was well organised and the choices were vast, everybody was catered for and again even though it was very busy we didn't ever have an issue getting 3 tables together.
We booked the hotel for bed and breakfast because the hotel is situated in a great area where there is a great choice of places to eat.
The one downside is you have to pay for wifi in the room, it is free in the reception area but that was not always convenient.
We will definately be going back .

Room Tip: if you want a sea view room ask for 6th floor or above but watch out as a couple of rooms do have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear JULIE S,

Thank you!
Your kind words are highly appreciated!
We are glad to have added and made your stay a fantastic one and look forward to welcome you for many more visits!

Yes, as yet wifi is free in the public areas but might be free all round by the time you will be back to our hotel.

Looking forward to assist you one more time!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Returned for another 10 day stay with the family. Excellent service from friendly staff. Split stay between traditional room and contemporary room. Both very good just a matter of choice although I think the traditional rooms are generally more spacious but contemporary have better bathrooms.
Executive lounge is excellent with great afternoon tea. Only issue to be aware of is some noise in some rooms from quite a lot of weddings but seldom much beyond midnight. Gym is of very high standard for a hotel and better air conditioned than my Virgin gym at home. Less than 20 min taxi journey from airport, cost 20 to 25 euros. Look forward to next visit. Good quality water sports nearby, children did scuba diving and paragliding.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms generally avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael958_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Michael958_13

Thank you!
Thank you for choosing spend another 10 days in our hotel!.

Was very happy to read that your overall stay was a perfect one.
Since now, you experience both types of room, am sure that you have your "preferred" one. When we have the opportunity to welcome you back, please feel free to email me directly so that I would be able to allocated and follow up on your preferences.

Kind regards from the Hilton Malta Team
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The property is extremely well kept and cared for with pride by the employees.

Speaking of which, we interacted with some fabulous people (including Claudio at check-in and then the executive lounge). They were friendly and welcoming to us and definitely uplifted our spirits.

The pool(s) are large and numerous (wish they had a real jacuzzi just for adults). The hotel is fairly well situated for going our to explore Malta, so definitely try to wander around the island if you can.

If I had to gripe about anything: the layout of the hotel is a bit strange.
There are some really really long corridors to walk down that aren't as friendly and welcoming as the large lobby. The breakfast was good, but pricey and essentially the same each morning.

Overall, would come back again in two seconds!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cphwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear cphwilliams,

Thank you!
Thank you for your very valuable feedback about your stay!.
Your kind comments about Claudio will be sent to the Human resources team so that they recognise his very good work.

We look forward to welcome you for the second and for many more visits.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Family holiday with three teenage boys. Hotel has all the essentials. Our room on the 7th floor was comfortable but not properly cleaned when we arrived so had to get staff back to vacuum the carpet and clean before we settled-in. Boys room also on 7th floor was smaller, but fine with a tiled floor. Bars good, pool areas good, gym good, breakfast good, water sports facilities good.....all quite positive. Away from the hotel, Paceville is a bit grotty, but the boys loved the clubs and bars, but St Julian's is much better for anyone over 25. Overall good place of a family holiday if you want to relax and chill.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear PeterSRugby,

Thank you for you time!
I am very sorry that you encountered some shortfalls with regards to cleanliness of your room. I have shared your observations with our Housekeeper Executive for her immediate attention.
Being a five star property we understand that our service and appearance should be impeccable and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Having said that, we are very happy to have provided you with an overall "calm and relaxing" stay!
Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more times.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,052 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,708 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £96 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing