We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only place to stay in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only place to stay in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week at the Hilton Malta last July. What a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the Executive rooms, with access to the Executive floor. (free internet, food and drinks at night) The room was stylishly decorated, with a huge bathroom and a big Plasma TV. The service was great, from the front desk, to the waiters at the pool. Nothing was too much trouble. One night we ate at the Blue Elephant restuarant located in the hotel - which was the best thai meal I have ever eaten! Highly recommended. All in all - a perfect week at a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benj888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,979
    1,044
    270
    76
    50
See reviews for
1,051
1,988
170
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

My wife and I had our wedding reception here. We had about 40 people come over from the United States and 8 from Indonesia (where she is from).

Our rehersal dinner in the Blue Elephant was fantastic. The atmosphere is great and the food wonderful.

For our reception we re-configured the Quarter Deck bar. The wedding cake was best we have ever had. The food was exceptional and the hotel went out of their way to make everything just right.

The front desk asked one of our guests "Will we see you tomorrow at breakfast" and when they told the staff their flight was too early for breakfast they asked what food they liked and made them a take away breakfast for eating on the flight!! That's amazing service!

The indoor and outdoor pools are both lovely and the breakfast is equally fantastic.

This hotel is in a convenient location for walking around. It is within feet of a great Malaysian restaurant and another great Greek restaurant. It's an easy walk to a charming bay, or to the Bay Street mall / entertainment complex.

Of course, to see the charm and sights of Valletta you will need a taxi or to hire a car.

I recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Liked — Blue Elephant, location, staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

10th wedding anniversary at the Hilton,a friend came along - best people were Edward the concierge and Stewart the breakfast chef - nothing was too much trouble, he even made eggs Benedict for my husband.
Husband organised a jazz duo at the bar as a surprise for me - indicated we would be drinking brandy - 3 glasses set out + 3 bottles of brandy - between us and a friend we finished a bottle, but rather than charge us by the bottle+ profit - they charged us by the peg, which we thought was exorbitant - the evening cost more than the 5 night stay+flights!! - manager said she couldnt help so we paid out a large sum of money - perhaps our fault, we should have checked, but we got carried away by the mood and the music etc. Came away a bit unhappy cos we had the nuisance of having to try (and fail) to sort it out on the last day.
Clean hotel, Angel the Housekeeping manager checked that all was well - but when we asked for extra milk, turned up with 6 small pots of UHT in her fist, so they dont do trays, obviously.
A lot of the restaurants at St Julians have a cover charge of 12 - 14 Euros and are very pricey for the foods they serve, so check re the cover charge before you sit down. Malta is a bit run down and could use a lick of paint and some refreshing. Kerbs are shockingly higgledy piggledy. Pick pocket stole my friends purse from a zipped up handbag, beware!!

  • Liked — Clean and spacious
  • Disliked — Expensive, inflexible
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HallieMaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

The Hilton at Juliens Bay is a lovely hotel. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. We had a great view of the Marina and there was no noise on the upper floors. There is a Blue Elephant Thai restaurant in the hotel and i would without hesitation recommend a visit here as the food and service is above the norm. The pool area is lovely and has sun most of the day but don't leave it too late as the beds go quick. A fair few kids in the pools which did get a bit much a times when i was trying to kip . The breakfast was really nice and as one would have expected from a Hilton. The only thing that i was unhappy about was in the bar in the evening. Be wary of the fact that if you order (lets say Southern Comfort as that was what i was drinking), there is very little difference between a single and a double. i became suspicious after the single a had tasted stronger than the double so the next evening when we retired to the bar i watched the tender. Despite the manager telling me later that they measure their spirits, i watched the tender fill the glass with ice and pour some straight in from the bottle, hence the great variety in the amount you get. I mentioned it at the end of the holiday but chose to drink elsewhere from that point which was a lot cheaper, a lot more fun and proper drinks ! Never the less a great hotel and i would still reommend it to anyone visiting Malta

  • Liked — Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant
  • Disliked — Drinks in the bar
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunny0578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

We had a wonderful holiday here at the Hilton. It was very relaxing at the Hilton with superb breakfast included- unbelievable number of options including freshly cooked omelette while you watched!! Lovely indoor pool with leisure club, steam room etc which motivated us to join our local gymn on returning home. As executive guests there was a free drinks, cakes and sandwiches around 3.30pm then free bar with savoury snacks from about ??5pm. In effect this meant that if we had a good helping from the breakfast bar then we didn't have to go out to buy much more food each day!!

There was plenty to do on Malta. We especially enjoyed the neolithic sites. It was handy to have the hire car, but we did find the roads very busy.

Overall, wonderful holiday!

  • Liked — executive lounge facility, close to the wonderful thai restaurant on ground floor
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbuddies36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

Could be one of the best hotels I have stayed in, the staff from the General Manager to the maids were fantasic, food was to die for, and the omelette's for breakfast well he did show how to make them properly. (if you have stayed there you will know what I mean ) Such a friendly place for a large hotel, Can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dranny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

We stayed at the hilton last June for our Honeymoon and were very impressed with it.

Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable the view from our balcony was of Portamasso and was beautiful.

We sunbathed in one of the hotel's many pool areas most days and foud the poolside staff to be friendly at attentive. Snacks and drinks were pricey but they brought them to your lounger.

We were on a bed and breakfast rate, but we did eat in three of the hotel's four restaurant's. The Blue Elephant was the prettiest restaurant I have been in the only criticism being there wasn't a great deal of choice for people who don't like fish, but it was still lovely food. We tried bottega de vino in the middle of our stay and I had the best piece of steak I have ever tasted. We went to the gazebo on our last night and this was easily the best meal we had on the whole holiday there was a live band that night too which created a great atmosphere. We went to the quarterdeck bar most evenings it was expensive but worth it for the lovely atmospere and good service we loved thier after dinner cocktails. Breakfast offered a huge choice each morning you could have pretty much anything, except marmite which we ended up buying a pot ourselves and bringing down with us each morning!

We had massges in the spa one day also very good but we were so relaxed we ended up falling asleep in the quarterdeck bar that evening!

All in all an excellent hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Malta is a beautiful island and this is perfect base to explore it from.

  • Liked — Location, Food, Quarterdeck Bar
  • Disliked — Expensive drinks
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing