We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views out over the marina”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Just returned (24th Mar) from a 4 day-trip to the Hilton. The hotel is lovely, very clean and spacious but just be warned that there is a huge amount of building work going on. We had a room with a fabulous view overlooking the marina on the entrance level (5), all the rooms below (4) are being renovated and the banging starts at 8am - REALLY relaxing! If you are going for sun, then wait a few more weeks yet, its VERY windy and this effectively reduces any increase in temp from the UK. Didn't wear a t-shirt at all in 4 days, never mind a bikini! Luckily, there is a more than adequate indoor pool and gym to while away a couple of hours.

The food is great, but the exchange rate against the euro makes eating out expensive..... even in the town you're looking at £35 for a very average meal and personally I would rather pay more for the excellent quality in the hotel - the Blue Elephant thai is fantastic - but it was £70 for 2 with only one glass of wine - forewarned is forearmed....... but absolutely delicious and fantastic service.

Beware of the minibar prices - I know its a 5* hotel but £3.50 for a bottle of water/coke/sprite and £7.50 for a tiny wine. In the small shops (everywhere on every street) I got the same red wine as in the mini bar for £1.20 a bottle.

If you are suffering bad weather take an easy stroll to St Georges and the Bay Street shopping mall where you will find a 10 screen cinema showing all the latest movies.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would return, albeit later in the year when it would be possible to take advantage of the fabulous outdoor pool.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CromerMaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,537 - 3,543 of 4,881 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2009

The Hilton St Julian's is located in the perfect spot. We got a really nice room 845 facing the ocean, sunrise is incredible and wakes you up in the morning. The room was clean and everyday it was done perfectly with attention to detail, even with name cards of the maids. The service is very intimate and staff is very friendly and always helpful. The concierge gave us the best insider details how to get around and what to see in Malta.
Breakfast is the most incredible, with a 10 mtrs buffet, very rich, even giving you advise about the nutrition facts and how to enjoy a healthy breakfast, they really give you the choice and advise! In the morning you get fresh juice and they pay attention to your needs, refills, replacement of cuttlery. The breakfast room is spacious, the view onto the swimming pool and always sunny, with palm trees even inside the hall.
The outside ammenities, fitness, tenniscourt, portomaso harbour with several restaurants...all close by!
The fitness and sauna is spacious too, it belongs to an external company. For us it seemed very big, with squash courts, a nice pool with warm water, even they have the myoka spa where we got a relaxing jetlag treatment.
The finnish sauna is nice and new, can be as hot as you like. The steem sauna seemed a little cold sometimes and could be taken care of.

All in all a perfect holiday with the most intimate service - you feel welcome and taken care of all your needs. The staff makes you feel home away from home. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maltamaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Stayed at the hotel 2nd - 10th March in Executive Room 961.

What was good:
Room is a good size, modern with excellent bathroom. Bath is round with a transparent side (with a curtain) giving views of the ocean when in the bath, as well as a loo with a view!
Room has a small balcony which catches the morning sun. There are rooms on lower floors on this side of the property that would never do so. If you want the sun on your balcony in the afternoon, early evening, you need to ask for a room on the marina side. These rooms are in the original part of the property and may therefore not be as contemporary as the one we have described.
Food was good in the open restaurants (see what's not so good!) Price per meal (starter and main)with a 20 Euro bottle of wine is around 80-100 Euro. The Blue Elephant is slightly more expensive but serves good quality Thai food. The spice can be 'enhanced' if you wish.
Breakfast served in the Oceana was extensive, including an excellent egg station, in pleasant surroundings with an option to eat outside in appropriate weather. The breakfast served in the Executive Lounge contained a limited selection and no egg station is available in the latter. There are a small number of tables in the Executive Lounge suitable to eat at.
Car Hire is cheap and can be arranged via Avis in the hotel. You are looking at 60 Euro a day for a couple of days. Car parking is via a multi story next to the hotel and free.
Property has a good location with a number of dining options outside of the hotel. The cost of a meal of similar quality is comparible with the hotel. Cheaper options are available.
There is a local supermarket around the corner should you need it.

What was not so good:
- There was no one to help with baggage etc on arrival
- The executive lounge check in facility was not available on arrival
- Much of the property and facilities are closed. Some of this I knew about (eg Gazebo restuarant closed). However, all the outdoor pools and pool areas, bars etc were closed and being repaired/renovated. You could sit outside if you wished but the whole area was clearly not in use.
- The Quartermaster bar was closed to guests on one evening as it was being used for a private function.
The Oceana resturant was closed for lunch and dinner until Saturday and Sunday. On Saturday evening there is a 'sea food' buffet for 37 Euro which is well supported by the locals. Most of the sea food is served cold. The warm swordfish and salmon options were not high quality. The buffet includes a wide range of other choices such as beef, pasta, salads and even a chicken doner kabab! Overall, a good pile it high option.
- The indoor pool is part of the local heath club, is square in shape and divided into swim lanes. Not really a relaxing experience.
- Service was a little mixed. At times very good indeed, at other times attention to detail was lacking eg toileteries not replenished, no turndown, room not cleaned although bed made.
- Service in Executive lounge is 'self service' ie there is a tea and coffee making facilities and access to a fridge which has beers and soft drinks. It is a nice facility but it got busy at times and I imagine you could struggle in high season.

Overall, my impression is that this is a good quality hotel which perhaps is not at it's very best in the off season.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheElvesofFelsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Just returned from 10 days in Malta and can say I agree with all the good reviews We stayed in an Executive Room and found the extras that comes with that very good value for money We booked a package holiday with a company called Belleair which I am sure gave one a much better deal than what one could buy booking direct or through the Internet

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

I stayed at the Hilton Malta for 4 days in February. I was picked up at the airport as had been arranged previously by the concierge which was very welcome indeed after the flight over. The check in was very quick and there were no problems at all. Got to the room which was the finest room i've ever stay in very spacious indeed & with a lovely balcony overlooking the Mediterranean which was really nice.
The breakfast the next morning wasn't the greatest there was a lot of variety but not so if like myself you enjoy a cooked breakfast in the morning. I had a meal in the Bottega Del Vino one evening which was really wonderfull and the dessert was the nicest i've ever had. I went to the Quarterdeck bar onw night while i was there but i didn't go again as the place has no atmosphere at all. The only negative things i would have to say for the would be regarding the price of drinks at the hotel. I went to the Quarterdesk bar an ordered a pint of Budweiser and sat down for the barman to bring it over, later when he brought me the bill they had charged me for 2 bottles of Budweiser instead of a pint whichn cost €9.80 a very expensive pint indeed!!! also on the last night i was there i got a can of diet coke from the minibar which was charged at €3.50. Those minor niggles aside it was a really nice stay, all the staff that i spoke to were really helpfull and nice at all times and i wouldn't hesitate to reccomment this hotel to anyone staying in Malta

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Style_19719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week at the Hilton Malta last July. What a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the Executive rooms, with access to the Executive floor. (free internet, food and drinks at night) The room was stylishly decorated, with a huge bathroom and a big Plasma TV. The service was great, from the front desk, to the waiters at the pool. Nothing was too much trouble. One night we ate at the Blue Elephant restuarant located in the hotel - which was the best thai meal I have ever eaten! Highly recommended. All in all - a perfect week at a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benj888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My wife and I had our wedding reception here. We had about 40 people come over from the United States and 8 from Indonesia (where she is from).

Our rehersal dinner in the Blue Elephant was fantastic. The atmosphere is great and the food wonderful.

For our reception we re-configured the Quarter Deck bar. The wedding cake was best we have ever had. The food was exceptional and the hotel went out of their way to make everything just right.

The front desk asked one of our guests "Will we see you tomorrow at breakfast" and when they told the staff their flight was too early for breakfast they asked what food they liked and made them a take away breakfast for eating on the flight!! That's amazing service!

The indoor and outdoor pools are both lovely and the breakfast is equally fantastic.

This hotel is in a convenient location for walking around. It is within feet of a great Malaysian restaurant and another great Greek restaurant. It's an easy walk to a charming bay, or to the Bay Street mall / entertainment complex.

Of course, to see the charm and sights of Valletta you will need a taxi or to hire a car.

I recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Scott603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £84 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing