We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel- Fabulous Location”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel- Fabulous Location”
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The hilton is an amazing hotel in Malta with the perfect location and amazing views. The Hotel is very large which can be a bit impersonal. I felt there were no extra perks with staying at the hilton.

However, we had a gorgoeus room on their executive floor in the contemporary wing which is absolutley wonderful and I highly recommend these rooms. The hotel was very clean. There are four pools which are great as it does not feel crowded or busy. Breakfast was great with a variety to choose from. The guys at the Quater Deck Bar really know how to make their cocktails! Amazing.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravelCrazy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,120
    1,071
    278
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,097
2,070
177
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We've just returned from a wonderful week at the Hilton. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates the finer things in life (at a price of course!). From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we experienced nothing but helpfulness, friendliness and care from all the staff. Everyone seemed to go out of their way to be helpful and cheerful - always a good morning from the staff. The concierge (I think his name was Charles) was amazingly helpful and helped us with bus timetables and things to do. When we left he shook our hands and said he hoped we had had a good stay. It is this sort of personal touch which is so important.

We had only booked bed and breakfast as we wanted to sample other restaurants. The breakfast was absolutely brilliant. Hot and cold buffet, loads of different types of rolls and bread, every fruit under the sun, cereal and an egg station where you could get freshly fried eggs, omelettes etc. ~The guy cooking here was a mine of information as well. We had so much to eat at breakfast that we really didn't need to eat again until the evening. We only ate in the hotel one night - at the Blue Elephant. Possibly the best Thai food I have ever tasted (cost £100 for two - without wine) but was worth the price. There are a number of restaurants in the Hotel - the Oceana has a mediterranean buffet in the evening which costs around £30 a head, the Blue Elephant which I mentioned above, a bistro (I forget the name). There is also snack food available in the QuarterDeck bar - however this seemed rather pricy for what it was - £12 for spring rolls??? Also, should mention that drinks prices were ridiculously high - my partner asked for a pint of Cisk (the local beer), which cost about 3 euro a pint - we were charged nearly 7 euros for it in the Quarterdeck bar. We learned our lesson and had our drinks at the Portomaso Cafe about 100 yds away after that. We also could get free wi-fi at the Cafe whereas the Hotel charged for it.

The area of Portomaso where the Hilton is situated is a quiet, clean well-kept area with many restaurants nearby. There is some building work going on the other side of the apartments surrounding the marina but it wasn't particularly noisy and the double-glazing soon stopped the noise.

Our room was spotlessly clean with a king size bed, seating area with comfy couch and a balcony overlooking the marina. My only gripe was the pillows - they looked good but collapsed after lying on them for more than five minutes. It would be good if the hotel had a pillow menu! The bathroom had both a bath - very deep - and shower and again was spotlessly clean. Plenty of wardrobe space with an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. Hairdryer in the bathroom wasn't bad but had no diffuser attachment so it was difficult to blow dry in any particular style.

The outside areas, pool and gardens were again spotlessly clean. Plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas.

All in all an excellent five star hotel in a superb location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candice-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Me & my partner decided on the Hilton because we wanted 5* luxury, no expense spared.
Malta is quite a poor, half built island with a lot of building work so the area of St Julians itself was not as we expected. I thought it would be an established, cosmipolitan area as described in other reviews but it isn't - this wasn't a problem really, just a slight disappoinment.
The hotel looks OK from the outside, a little tired we thought although the palm trees & fountain outside are inviting. We paid €240 per night (room only) over the first 4 nights.

The hotel has two parts - the 'classic' side and the updated side. We were in the classic side which, in our opinion, may have been 5* 10 years ago when it was built but not anymore. We had an old style TV, no air con and two single beds pushed together. We decided to complain which turned out to be very long-winded with Anne Marie (the Journey Ambassador) as she did not want to offer us any alternative or discount but after speaking to her lovely manager he told us we'd be upgraded to the executive suite a day early (we had already paid for this room for the last night).

This room was MUCH better - a lot more modern & what you'd expect for the calibre of hotel it is. This included free breakfasts and access to the executive lounge in the evening where you could help yourself to any alcohol & snacks.

The food was fantastic. The Blue Elephant Thai restaurant on the 1st floor was the best meal we'd ever had - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! So, so beautiful in there too - a huge water feature & river running under the decking with live carp & so may plants it felt like a tropical rain forest!

Room service was great too. Very easy to spend a lot of money there as the cocktails are around £8 and a pint of beer about the same - we knew however, that prices in similar hotels are like that wherever you go.

The view from the rooms are beautiful - we were lucky to have sunshine for most of our visit so took advantage of poolside-sunbathing. Beware the pool is not heated - I was annoyed by this but my partner didn't care - he still enjoyed it.

The main thing i was absolutely impressed with was the staff - they were all so friendly, polite & couldn't do enough for you.

So, overall verdict is - Yes, i would recommend this hotel but make sure you ask about your room- what type of bed etc., and go on the 10th floor if you can, this has the best view. The area is OK for a knees-up with friends but isn't all that exciting.

You'll have a great time - we did.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem260883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicesterhire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Very good hotel we stayed at for five nights, did not book in for bed and breakfast but ate out locally which was far more cheaper. Had breakfast one morning only and was disappointed in the food, sausages were not what they seemed. Found excellent restaurant just outside hotel which did great food. Pop down the road into St Julians and find good restaurants can be a bit pricey if you pick the wrong ones but we had great food every single night at different restaurants. Visited the spa but the steam room was not working but the sauna made up for it. Very busy in there as it was wet and windy when we there. Sun came out the last two days though and made use of the outside pool area which was very nice. The last two days we were there they were setting up for a conference which took up the whole of the ground floor and you couldn't help but feel that as a guest you were slowly being squeezed out of the lobby area as all the chairs were slowly being taken away. Conference due to start the day we were leaving and so glad we were leaving that day as it just became a big conference centre, which seems a shame when there are conference rooms being left empty. Would suggest anyone going find out if there are going to be any conferences on while you are there. Saying that though the Hotel did live up to its name

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyinghigh054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Excellent hotel in bustling location, with super views of marina and the med. Panorama Suite (room 822) was a corner suite with large wraparound balcony, and views of sea and marina. Lost the sun in the evening though. Decor very slightly dated, and bathroom was poor for a five star hotel (cramped shower, no jacuzzi bath, single basin, bath and shower curtains rather than screens etc. Suite gives access for adults and children to the Executive Lounge, which serves full breakfast, afternoon tea, and pre-dinner canapes. Also alcohol all day if that is your fancy. Oceana buffet restaurant is excellent value, and linked to bistro style restaurant. Kids can swap between buffet and a kids menu at will. Don't miss fabulous Blue Elephant Thai restaurant - wonderful food and service. All staff to be commended, from concierge to cleaners, everyone was friendly and helpful. Outside, plenty of pools, tennis, watersports etc, but a minor quibble is that when we visited (April) several of the facilities were unavailable as it was still "Winter" season. Very good value, and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nothingbutthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Another superb Hilton - the way the staff looked after the guests was, for us, by far the best we have encountered compared to any other hotel (excluding other Hiltons!!). Nothing was too much trouble and everything was handled smoothly and with interest, yet without being intrusive.
The room was excellent - spacious and bright and airy with plenty of storage for clothes etc and the bathroom was lovely.
The facilities were excellent - the gym had everything we needed for training and the swimming pools (indoor and outdoor) were lovely and also were so large so they never felt busy. (NOTE not all the pools were open at the time we went because it was pre the high season but it made no difference to our stay). The tennis court was great - easy to book and floodlit so one could play anytime.
The food was out of this world (we had half board) - lots of choice and always fresh and lots of fruit at every meal - in fact too good for our waistlines!! There was a buffet each night but one could have al la carte with the half board instead if one wanted something different.
Because the children go free it is outstanding value for money and I would have no hesistation on stronlgy recommending it to anyone - in fact I dream about going back one day!!
Only 2 things in our view to be aware of:
a) The pools are not open to children under 16 after 6.00pm which we think is a real shame
b) There is no real beach with the hotel and whilst one can walk to one 10 minutes away , it was not that great a beach.
But for pure enjoyment for a hotel to stay in and use as a base to tour round the island (the main highway 1 is a 1 minutes drive away) then we think you could not better it!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

The hotel has its good and bad points.

Every single member of staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone said hello, for instance.

We were given an upgrade to an Exec Plus room (that's two grades up from what we booked) and the room was super. The exec rooms are modern and the bathroom was superb. We asked whether this entitled us to use the exec lounge. It didn't but they said we could use it for EUR30 per day, which we did for one day.

We had breakfast on only one day and I have to say I don't think it was anywhere near as good as others on TA have suggested. Bacon was not soggy, sausages were like frankfurters (but made of chicken), scrambled eggs were hard, fruit was tasteless etc etc. And worst of all I am pretty sure the coffee was instant served in a pot -- not really good enough. I certainly wouldn't recommend paying extra for it -- there are other places in Spinola -- but I know others had a different experience. I didn't make use of the egg/pancake/waffle guy, but my girlfriend did and said the pancake wasn't great.

We used the quarterdeck bar twice. Very nice, especially with the piano being played on first occasion. However, they need to learn how to make a Manhatten -- it needs to be stirred over ice!

The design of the hotel is bizarre, which I don't think anybody else has mentioned. Our room was down 1 floor from reception. In order to get to the indoor pool which was literally outside our door we had to walk down a corridor, up in lift to 5, down another corridor and then in another lift to 4.

Also in order to get from our side of the hotel to the outdoor pool area you had to walk through reception and past the front door which is not great when you're in your swimming togs!

Concierge was very helpful -- especially with bus routes. The buses are excellent by the way -- cheap and fun! 65 goes to Mdina and 62 to Valletta.

Not the hotel's fault but the guy at the Avis desk in the hotel was rude and extremely unhelpful -- didn't end up getting a car in the end. Buses are good and driving a car looked v hazardous!

Spinola has a good number of restaurants and cafes. There is a very good pizza place at the roundabout in front of the hotel which is part of another hotel. V nice people and excellent steak.

The beach club and its two pools were closed while we were there but the outdoor pool area is very nice. The indoor pool was good given the weather while we were there but they need a lot more loungers -- it got very busy, especially when it was windy outside.

Overall, you could do a lot worse that this hotel. The downsides were minor. The staff were really exemplary.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_Lab_5105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing