We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, lovely rooms, service and price not so great”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed at the Hilton back in November having got a good deal on a last minute site. The location is excellent and the hotel itself is lovely.

On arrival we were told the room was not ready but that we could go have some lunch and come back in an hour. We did, and almost 2 hours later we returned but the room was still not ready. We were both tired from the flight and wanted to relax but had to wait another 30 mins before we got to the room.
Once there, we saw that it was a twin room (we had booked a double and I had added a note requesting a double bed!). The room was also quite shabby with tiled floor (more like a 3* holiday apartment), and although the apologetic bellboy kindly offered to push the beds together, we asked to be moved. This was done immediately and without fuss. The second room was perfect and although still one of the older rooms, it was very clean, comfortable and nice ... much nicer than the original room.
The balcony had amazing views over the marina and during our stay there was an electrical storm so we had a fantastic view of the massive bolts of lightning dancing across the sky!

Breakfast, served in the main restaurant, consisted of a huge choice of hot and cold food, cereals, fruits, juices, breads etc. Everything was very tasty and kept well stocked. I requested some gluten free bread and was served lovely gf brown bread each morning. Sitting out by the pool having breakfast is very nice but a little chilly in November.
The only gripe we had was the stuffy atmosphere and aloof staff at breakfast. We got breakfast by room service on 3 mornings just to avoid the hassle and drama. The room service trolley converted into a round table with a 'hot-press' underneath that contained the hot dishes! Very impressive and everything very tasty indeed! Unlike lots of hotels, there was as big a selection on the room service menu as there was down in the breakfast buffet! We didn't feel like we were missing out in the slightest.

Having eaten out for lunch on our first day, we found a huge variety of restaurants within 5 mins walk and all at very cheap prices so we didn't eat in any of the hotel restaurants.
We also headed into Sliema a few times.
The buses are very frequent and cheap so it's very easy to get around.

On the second day we decided to try out the pool. Because of the time of year, the outdoor was too cold to use (although a few brave people jumped in!). We went down to the indoor pool but ended up leaving quickly because of the smell. I'm not sure what it was but it was disgusting and totally overwhelming. A shame because we would have enjoyed a swim. The outdoor pools are huge and look lovely. I'm sure they would be great in warmer weather.

The staff (apart from at breakfast) were fine but didn't seem too bothered. This didn't impact our stay (apart from our arrival) so it wasn't really a problem. I would agree with previous posts pointing out the shocking prices in the bars and restaurants. Again we avoided these, preferring to eat and drink elsewhere but most 5* hotels are expensive so it wasn't really a surprise.

Definitely take a trip up to the bar at the top of the tower next door, amazing views and not too pricey considering the location! We also went to the casino in the basement but unless you're really into gambling, it wasn't anything special.

Overall, the hotel is not a bad choice especially if you want a good location, spacious clean room and some peace & quiet. We will likely return in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday_addict11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,605 - 3,611 of 5,009 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

I totally agree with Jack, i visit Malta every year and often have a drink or two in the Hilton ,lovely inside the Quarterdeck bar and Blue Elephant,but the prices are getting ridiculous to the point i will not venture in there this July,why do they do this ?,i stay at The Corinthia Palace ,not as luxurious as the Hilton but charming with better prices ,not cheap mind you but nowhere near the costs in the Hilton

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Have you ever paid more than £10 sterling for a 'large' fresh orange juice (40% ice cubes, 60% carton juice) served in a plastic glass?

I have, and that is why I will never stay in a Hilton hotel ever again. Shameful prices that are in no way merited other than by sheer greed. Hilton Malta. Hilton Gatwick etc... The only difference is location; the corporate ethos is the same i.e overcharge for everything and anything. From the aforementioned orange juice at the pool bar to the anti-mosquito repellant found in your room (ten euros please).

As previous reviewers have noted this ridiculous pricing strategy has the effect of turning the hotel bars and restaurants into customer free dead zones. Everybody with a brain, eats and drinks anywhere but the hotel. Shame really, but the Hilton Malta prefers corporate clients to holidaymakers like you and I.

Stay somewhere else on Malta. Try the Westin just down the road. The Maltese people are almost without exception, friendly, courteous and welcoming. They deserve your custom, the Hilton doesn't.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackholl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Malta. It was my first visit and in the 4 days that i stayed I have fallen in love with this beautiful tiny country.
From airport we were driven to the hotel. The location is excellent and ideal to relax. The check-in process was smooth and the rooms were big and spacious.
The hotel is located at the Portomaso waterfront and we were able to relax outside.
The only problem is that the service is bad. The hotel staff is least interested in your problems, though they listen to it with a smile. But thats it.
During our event buffet I was looking out for some butter to put on bread (I am a vegetarian and there were no special dishes. So opted for my favourite - Bread and butter) and i asked at least 3 waiters and each said they will have to ask their head waiter where it is.
At the reception I asked if I could meet the GM. The lady smiled n took a msg n said he will get back. Till I left neither did the GM nor his secretary got back to me.
It surprised me.
If service is not important then the hotel is worth just for its location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank satana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Just got back from an excellent week's holiday. Glad we chose the Hilton - a friend's recommendation. However, we got off to a bad start when, instead of a marina view as booked, we were put into a nice new room but facing a wall with a just glimpse of the sea. It was 2 in the morning and we were tired but I was determined to get it put right. After much frowning the guy on the desk put us in a floor 1 room with a marina view but with a 'builder throwing rock in a skip' alarm clock! We complained again and were given a 7th floor room which was OK and kept spotlessly clean by a very good cleaning staff. Be warned; this hotel has a peculiar design and floor layout - takes a day or 2 to get used to it.
Other reviewers mentioned the impact of conferences; they do tend to overwhelm breakfast and occupy key parts of the hotel but I guess they are necessary.
We only ate breakfast (excellent) in the hotel; everything else was just too pricey. I don't feel comfortable being ripped off. I cannot understand their business model as their overheads are the same whether the bars are full or empty. Pricey bars and restaurants just encourage people to go out.
The Quarterdeck bar is a good spot but the drinks were ridiculously expensive. So we wandered over to the Portomaso bar (75 yds) which was much more reasonable.
Lots of good restaurants nearby and we particularly liked The Avenue (good value and popular with locals), the Rokna Hotel pizza restaurant and the Terrazzo in St Julians (terrace with a good view of the harbour). Warning: eating out at the weekend is difficult in the popular restaurants without booking.
Valetta and the fortresses were excellent and the harbour cruise was well worth it. The gulet cruise to Comino and Gozo was good but oversold - and the skipper was a complete bluffer when he explained that little extras (speedboats, sandwiches etc) were specially arranged for us. Insincere money grabber!
The Hilton is in a good spot and it is easy (and fun) to get around in the yellow buses. Overall Malta is plain scruffy but it is in the Med and the sky was blue - fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSwerve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Just spent a fortnight there, it's our 4th stay at the Malta Hilton although the first was the old pre-Portomaso building. Last there 3 years ago and I have to say that although it's still an excellent hotel, the standards seem to be slipping.
We had a few problems - the air con in our room wasn't working and took 2 calls / visits to reception to sort (even after they said it had been fixed, it obviously hadn't been looked at). A lot of the room seem to be getting upgraded but one lift was out of action for the whole fortnight which meant occassional long delays waiting to get one to go to breakfast / pool terrace. Also there were several times when the lifts that did come were full of maid trolleys / room service - I've never seen that in the Hilton before. Previously the staff used a service lift.
Prices have increased - €10 for 2 soft drinks by the pool is ridiculous, and service standards around the pool have slipped. Restaurant standards have slipped as well - one meal at the Blue Elephant seemed to have nothing but trainee staff on and service was very poor - especially given the prices they charged. They also charged for wi-fi which given the free wi-fi at the portomaso cafe seemed a bit pointless.
There was also a few problems with areas being closed off (e.g. Quarterdeck cocktail bar and the pool area) for weddings / private functions. Also the massed mobs of conference staff didn't help (several mornings the queues for breakfast were a nightmare), while there seemed to be a lot of smokers congregating around the front door which didn't help.
It's still a good hotel - the marina view is excellent, rooms are big and maid service was flawless. General staff service was fine as well - reception staff and concierge were great. Also the location is still brilliant, despite the move of Paceville to the big hotels as opposed to the small sidestreet restaurants you used to get.
We usually go to Malta every 2-3 years, and the Hilton has always been our preferred hotel - next time though I think we'll be shopping around a bit more.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

recently had a 5 day break to malta; the concierge team charles and edward were outstanding in good advice and knowledge; they know the island inside out. would stay at hotel again delightful location surrouded by great restuarants and marina.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#6 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £109 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing