We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Our hotel room was spacious, clean and tidy. Would highly reccomend a room with marina view. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff very welcoming and helpful. It is situated in the heart of St Julians, with lots of reasonably priced bars and restaurants nearby.

Breakfast was of a good standard, however it gets very busy between 8.30am - 10.00am. We had to wait 10 mins to get seated and que for food.

There is plenty of room around the pools to sunbathe and we liked the adult only pool. My only complaint would be the price of drinks. We ordered two cocktails at the pool side, which cost 30 euros.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rookery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,971
    1,041
    269
    76
    50
See reviews for
1,046
1,985
170
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Great hotel, lovely rooms, very relaxed with fabulous service. The staff really cannot do enough for you. It was our second time here and we would not hesitate to go back. Originally recommended by Distinctive Destinations, an ideal location, hotel and facilities for a great summer holiday with family and or friends

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrenm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

What can I say, well first of all don’t believe all the negative reviews; you would think people want something for nothing.

We stayed in the resort as diamond Hilton members and were upgraded to an executive plus room, the complementary welcome pack was not there however on the first night we were given a bottle of wine in each room via a voucher so you could choose red or white, chocolates on the second night, then cookies etc. They did forget us one night though. Complementary water was replaced every day.

Staff: The staffs were very friendly, especially when we arrived and only one room was available, they did everything to make life easier. They sorted our luggage out while we chilled in the executive lounge. we stayed in the new side, would highly recommend this, as seasoned Hilton hotel customers, it was nice to have a room that did not look like the normal Hilton rooms, it had a round bath (did take some time to fill) the sea view was excellent except on sat and sun night when the local youths congregated on the rocks and partied all night, didn’t effect us that much.

Executive lounge: this was bigger than most with 3 balconies over looking the pools and sea, never had breakfast there so can’t comment afternoon tea was excellent same sandwiches every day and lots of choices of cakes and warm scones. Pre dinner snacks were very disappointing though same things every night on the cold plate and only one choice on the hot plate and not that apealling. Drinks in the evening were good, plenty of choice and restocked quickly. The only down side was the computer kids on facebook , however there was a business lounge with computers however, you had to leave the kids behind, they were not aloud in. There was also a Childs executive lounge with toy and squash, crisps and sweets. Beware they close at 8pm not like the usual 10 which was disappointing.

Pools: There were 4 outdoor pools, these were always clean, they were never busy when wer were there, however the sun loungers were, the trouble was people went andleft there towels there so you never knew if they were being used or not.

Spa: my daughter and I decided to have our nails manicured, my daughters were fine and done well, however the girl I went to was more interested in selling other treatments and kept looking at the clock, she did not do the full manicure properly ie cuticles etc so I had to go back and have it redone with the same girl that did my daughter, what a different experience that was. She was very friendly, never once tried to sell another treatment. She was an asset.

Out and about: would recommend using the buses, however be prepared to stand up and a bit of pushing and shoving as they can get very busy, we never paid anymore than 2 euros per trip, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND MALTA SIGHT SEEING BUSES, they are over priced and they seem to over book these, sometimes you have to stand for quite a while and when we were there there were lots of school groups that took over the bus. Splash out on a day jeep safari with captain Morgan’s they will take you to all places the sight seeing buses cant get to. we paid 220 euros for 4 adults for a full day they picked us and dropped us off at the Hilton, this included 3 course meal and a bottle of wine don’t get to excited the meal was average remember it is only lunch so you will need to eat in the evening. We had George as our tour guide, he was great and one of the other drivers was great with the kids, (can’t remember his name but he was the brother of the owner) he even got the kids bread to feed the fish at the fishing village. Don’t forget to take your swimming stuff as you have an hour at the golden beach (not long enough really) and it was great not over crowded at all. SPLASH AND FUN WATER PARK, we made the mistake of going for half a day would fully recommend a full day, we caught the bus (1.19 Euros each way), however be aware even if you show the driver were you are going they wont stop unless you press the bell (on the old Bedford bus it’s rope running along the top of the bus), as we learnt very quickly when he drove straight passed and we had to stay on the bus for an extra 15 minutes to catch a bus back.

Eating out: we had breakfast in the main restaurant it wa great omelettes, pancakes and waffles freshly made and plenty of choice of breads etc (except no mushrooms), eating out we found a great restaurant attached to a hotel near by (walk out of the hotel to the main roundabout, take a left and just over the road opposite the clothes shop) we went there three times, staff were great and food was good. also try buffalo bills at the marina which is a steak house the prices do look expensive 33 Euros for a T bone steak and 1.95 for sauce however that includes bread and butter, soup, brochette, help yourself salad and chips, so I think it was well priced. Can get busy around 8 for an out side table but there are plenty in side.

over all are stay was excellent however not much to do with the kids unless they are happy to stay by the pool and as for the myth that Malta is full of OAPS I don’t think I saw one, from talking to people GOZO is though. WE WILL DEFENTLY BE GOING BACK

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Loved this hotel, however, be aware of Adults-only Pool policy both at the Merkanti Beach Club and main pool area of the Hotel. It's a joke. Kids still jumping, splashing and pool boys not correcting them. It's a joke, really. No discipline whatsoever. In other words, both adult pools (two) is a gimmick. I was fed up of informing the pool boys about kids jumping - they don't really care. Shame on you, Hilton Malta.

Ants and filth at Merkanti Beach Club - don't expect to inform hotel three times to clean and disinfect ants. Horrible. Shame shame!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetPea113811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This is my second stay here, and so had high expectations for it, it exceeded my expectations by a mile!
I was upgraded to a suite in the contemporary wing, at no cost. The room was wonderful, flat screen tv in living area and bedroom, lovely bathroom with plush robes provided. The view was beautiful from the windows, looking out to the sea.
Service as always, is good.
The gym, they have upgraded the equipment since I was here the last time, they now have a small tv on every single treadmill & stepping machine!
The only bad thing I can say about this place is the in-room tv menu, it doesn't seem to work very well. It kept switching channels on its on or refuse to work, so in the end, I unplugged that and the tv functioned well after that..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepamint_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We have stayed in a few hotels around the world but this one stands out. Beautiful setting but most outstanding was the staff and their attention to detail. We travelled to Malta for the first time and this hotel really made it special for us. Nothing for too much trouble and the breakfast was excellent. Very welcoming and service with a smile. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashiremags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My husband and i just returned from Malta and spent the week in Hilton Malta.
it was excellant i loved everthing about it from the frienly staff to our marina view room.
The quaterdeck bar was a lovely place to relax in the evening.It was a little more expensive to drink there but the surroundings made it worth while.We tried the Blue Elephant Resturant on one evening,it was very expensive and we found quite a few just as nice resturants within walking distance of the hotel at a much cheaper price.
I would definately return to the hilton if i ever go bact to Malta

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracie010728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
1,756 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
1,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing