We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities - but could try harder!”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great facilities - but could try harder!”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here for one night in April and we had overall a pleasant stay. I booked a Executive Room which was in the new wing with a decent sea view and was very modern. I was disappointed about the cleaning, both in the coffee and tea making set it was full of crumbs and I could also find some places in the bathroom that need more attention as well as in the wardrobe. Few things that could do this to even a better experience when you stay in an executive room at a Hilton, no turn-down service was provided and the selection of bathroom amenities was poor (ok, you got what you need but no cotton buds, sewing kit or the lovely bath crystal that I like at so many Hilton’s). I recommend you to go for a room in the new wing, if you like freshness – I saw some rooms in the old wing and they maybe have a better view but are definitely in more need for a face-lift. The Executive Lounge was very nice with balconies for a pre-dinner drink and a wide selection of breakfast, afternoon tea and hours deuvre.

Staff was very friendly, but there was also several rude team members. For example one of the bell boys that actually make a noise with the front desk people, just because he would not happy to help! The concierge could be more awake. The swimmingpool is great, so the gym, the spa and the surrounded area with marina and some few shops.

Don’t miss to have a lunch by the pool, excellent pasta and good wine for reasonable prices. The best gem in the hotel is the Royal Thai Blue Elephant Restaurant, it was the thing that makes us so happy and the thing that makes us wants to come back to the Hilton Malta. The service, atmosphere, food and drinks are outstanding!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KamiltonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,171
    1,084
    284
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,140
2,087
180
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The two tings that stand out at this hote is that every room has a balcony facing the sea, and that the people working there are so friendly. There are no bad rooms! The executive lounge was very nice, but the breakfast restaurant was hectic and noisy. Excellent concierge with good restaurant tips, also for reasonably priced meals. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotter41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Arrived in the middleof the night - welcomed by very efficient reception - asked for a superior romm, king size bed, quiet and with a sea view - room lived up to all expectations. Exceptionally clean and comfortable - good seating area and nice balcony. Bathroom was very well equipped - large shower, bath tub and double sinks - all very clean, towels were replaced each day and were soft and absorbent - even the hairdryer was good quality. Bed was very comfortable with a good mattress topper - often I am so fussy I would rather not get into the bed - this was fine - clean and comfortable.

Hotel breakfast is buffet style - lots to choose from and service is quick and efficient - coffee not good but you can order latte or capuccino and this is better. Hotel has four restaurants but we only went to the Blue Elephant - others seemed overly large and somehow lacked the feel of a restaurant - little ambience. Staff customer service is excellent - they have clearly been very well trianed right down to the porters and housekeeping staff. Unless you ask for local beer it is very expensive 10 euros a pint as opposed to 3 euro 60.

Restaurants on Spinola Bay were poor - San Guiliano, Girasole and Raffaels. We preferred Al Molo on the harbour just below the Hilton, Zerris and Pepperoncino near Balutta Bay. Portamosa Cafe just beow the Hilton is good for coffe and cake or a light snack.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandJDunnington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We really love this hotel. Great location in Malta, views from the room can be very romantic, new rooms are really nice, great pools and facilities (though pool-bar prices are rather exorbitant), great exec lounge etc. etc. Would definitely recommend. We have stayed there many times and it remains one of our favourite in Malta. Staff are also really helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

I really liked the Hilton in Malta. It is situated direct at the sea. Some rooms have seaview . My room had a nice view to the Harbour. The rooms are large including an office desk. Nice bathrooms and modern look. A balcony is available and the windows are openable. There is a nice Bar in the hotel and a restaurant where we had the conference lunches. The conference Center is very modern and big. I can recomend that hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermartinZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The Hilton Malta was definitely our best choice for our long weekend break. The service was excellent in all the areas of the hotel - Reception, all restaurants, poolside, housekeeping. The staff are friendly, courteous, extremely helpful and efficient.

The room was brilliant, spacious with a big comfortable bed. We had a marina view with a big terrace. We especially liked the tea/coffee service, ironing board and mini clothes horse available as part of the room facilities - very handy. Most of all, it was quiet and we enjoyed our much needed restful nights.

The hotel is centrally located without being in the hub of the nightlife area. The pool areas are beautiful, always having sunbeds available, palm trees and umbrellas providing shade, very relaxing and tranquil, even with kids around. Excellent service by the poolside staff, as well as in the breakfast room and in the various restaurants, with many romantic settings to be found.

Food is great and there is a vast choice of different fare to choose from with good value for money especially in the restaurants. The drinks are a bit pricey though. Cocktails cost €8 for a small glass and beer €6 for a half pint. If you decide to double the amount, the price is doubled as well so beware of signing up huge bills to your room.

All in all, our break here was just what we needed to feel relaxed, pampered and well looked after. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Overall I would say 50/50 on this hotel.
As I visited other Hilton Branches and expect 5 star standard, this hotel was a bit shame for their reputation.

Good
- Overall Staff at the restaurants were brilliant. They were very kind and Friendly.
- Swimming pool was excellent both indoor and outdoor.
- Cleaning lady had very nice touch, we thanked us on tips that we have her and she left us with thank you note and little drawing. It was very nice personal touch.
- Toilet products produced from crabtree and evelyn were good.
- The view from the room was superb!!

Bad or need to be improved
ok, I hate to do this part as I am a big fan of Hilton but when you pay a good amount of money on the hotel, we do expect 5 star service.
- 1st day, we ordered room service breakfast, even though we clearly said breakfast for 3, they only provided us 2 culteries/ failed to deliver breads and fruits that we ordered so I had to call roomservice about twice/ yogurt that they gave us had black stains on the pot which really put us off to eat it./ breakfast was delivered 20mins late! --Yes, it is August and busiest time but roomservice's usually charges us extra roomservice charge so we deserve to have a good service!
- Tried to book spa in the hotel, it was booked most of time. They should recommeng the guest to book inadvance or even before arriving in Malta. Disappointed!!!!!!!
- The smell of Duvet and Pillow! I know Malta is a bit humit and hot but 5star hotel should not give us 'wet' smell duvet and pillow!! I visited many humitted Asian countries but never had problem. I had to spray deodrant of them! yuk!!
- Before went to Malta, I sent email to book taxi to pick us up at the airport.. It took them a week to reply so I gave up and went with independant taxi company. It looks like the email does not go to Malta branch straight away so it takes them a bit to reply. This is not a 5 star hotel service!

Overall it is nice hotel but above problems let down the hotel'e reputation.
Hope they can improve above issues.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeyeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,955 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing