We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved the hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Hotel was very nice. Reception very helpful and breakfast was great. Great location in Paceville. The only problem was parking which is very common if the hotel is in a very good location. In my opinion, parking should be provided and you should not pay extra for parking if you are a paying guest at the hotel. I needed to enter the hotel for 10minutes at one point but it took longer to find parking and eventually left the car in a "non parking zone" risking getting a ticket. If free parking was included I would give it a full 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    450
    282
    109
    86
See reviews for
160
468
73
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

On the website this place looks good. In reality it is far from being close to good.
Some staff at reception and in the restaurant have obviously failed the charm course. On the other hand, a couple of staff were excellent.
For days, trays with half-eaten food lay in the stair well.
I had to change my room due to the awful smell of dampness. Similarly, a friend had to change room due to, what he described as, a smell of urine.
Tea in the breakfast room was of the builder's type...like tar. It was not possible to get something like Earl Grey or English Breakfast. The only tea available came from an urn.
If you want to go to a nice hotel for a restful break think twice about choosing this place. If you want to enjoy the noise of people on the street or the adjacent car-park having fun at 3 or 4 a.m. then this is for you.
On a positive note, rooms were kept tidy by the staff and laundry was good and promptly returned.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A hotel with real great potential. The location is perfect, one of the best views in Malta even if do not have its one beach.
The personnel was nice and warm without any exceed.
The hotel itself really needs a full refurbisment for the rooms not for the furniture. But such works are required.
Overall a good destionation for any couple and/or individuals. Even for couples with kids under the reserve of the room states.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I visited Malta in mid February for a business trip. the company i work for booked a double room for me at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi hotel.
I arrived in the hotel in the evening and my first impression what rather positive, the reception area i big and quite pleasant. the person at the front desk checked me in quickly.
I went up to my room, and that is when the appointment started. when i walked in the room it smelled terribly like mold, i couldn't even walk in because of the strong smell. immediately i requested to switch rooms, the new room i was given was even worse - the smell was unbearable, i decided it was better to return to my previous room as there the smell less horrible.
The rooms is very old and it's apparent that it was not renovated in the past years. the bed is not a actual double bed but two singled put together. for me it didn't matter but if a couple is planning a vacation there it will be uncomfortable.
the sheets did not look clean and i had disgusting stains on the blanket. the bed spread is also the blanket and it was very dusty. not to mention that i has ants in the bed as well as in the shower.
The breakfast is a quite standard and was fine. not a huge diversity but enough. if you are looking for a place with a rich breakfast this is not it.
My overall experience was terrible - i hardly spent any time at the hotel and couldn't wait to leave. the basis of a good hotel and one that calls itself a 4 start hotel is clean rooms - and i certainly didn't have that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Yuliya1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Greatly positioned in St.Julian's - just across the street from the casino and 2 mins walk from the beach and the main street in St.Julian's. The quality of the room was excellent. The best breakfast I've ever had! It also has two pools - a rooftop pool and a heated thermal pool at -1 floor with a spa. Room service is absolutely accessible although the food is of a very good quality. Also very clean!

Just one little thing: remember to hang the "do not disturb" sign on your door in the evening, otherwise the cleaning ladies might knock on your door very early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Rooms are extremely dirty, not at all a 4 stars rooms. The carpet is old, with some dirty spots.. Don't forget to put on your sleepers when moving around the room... Highly recommended. The outdoors pool has a great view from the top of the building, that's it, nothing else special about that pool. Service at the restaurant/bar is really slow, and not at a 4stars level. The gym as well as the sauna and the spa services are closed during weekend. I personnaly recommend to book a room with no breakfast included, and get breakfast at the corner of the street, much cleaner, tastier and may be cheaper as well. You would understand the reason I'm saying that if you decide to go ahead and use the hotel's facilities for the buffet breakfast (careful when asking for an omelet though.)
Basically, if you get a very good rate for the property go ahead and book it, having in mind that you booked a 2 stars hotel and it will be ok. But never book this hotel thinking that you booked a 4 stars hotel, there is nothing in this property that shows any of the AAA 4 stars standards.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ren0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I spent 2 nights with my wife there few days ago , i was there for business and my wife was with me . The hotel is in not so nice road with a lot of closed restaurants.
The hall is really dark and the smell from the restaurant is incredible!
Rooms are old , restrooms are not so clean and the furnitures are 30 years old!
The breakfast food is not so bad but better don't try the coffee , service is terrible , few people and not so kind!
This hotel seems ready to be closed!

Room Tip: chose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corrado1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing