We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Being in our sixties and first trip to Malta, we were rather concerned about the stories we had heard in the past about all the building that was affecting holidays.
We found this hotel very comfortable, our room was quiet, after they had cleared up the tables where the pool is, which was on the floor above us. We found it very central for getting tours to the vaious sites.
The food wasn't quite to what we expected, but that is often the case in hotels, so we often ate outside at the Lulu restaurant and had an ice cream at the cute coffee bar just down the road on the right of the hotel where they also serve fresh orange juice, made from pure oranges.

Room Tip: We were first given a room in the new wing which was a double, but as we wanted a twin we were given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Have been here for extended period and found good service - friendly staff and catering that will go the extra mile to help individual needs.

If I return to the island - i would not hesitate to stay here again - thanks

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We can recommend the Vivaldi hotel Malta. It has all the facilities you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The rooms are large and well appointed and all the staff are friendly and very helpful. The catering is to a high standard,. You will not be disappointed and we would recommend it to family and friends. We have stayed at the hotel twice a year for the past 6 years. Enjoy.
David & Rita.

Room Tip: In my experience there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was staying in this hotel while on a business trip for 5 long long days.

Day One: My colleague arrived a day ahead of me and they had put us in the smallest room imaginable - I'm pretty sure it was a broom closet and while we had reserved a twin room the beds were pushed together and there was no space to separate them. So we had to upgrade which cost us extra. The AC didn't work in that room either so we would have had to move either way.

Day Two: Rust stains all over the carpet of our new "suite". But at least there was room to swing a cat. It said "wifi zone" all over the promotional videos but then when we asked about the wifi code it was an astronomical €9 per day - we purchased the voucher and were kicked off the internet every half hour or so and had to keep signing in. Then the cleaning lady threw our internet voucher out - I followed her and asked did she throw it out and she completely protested against this. I rooted through the bin and found it...covered in milk or something...

Day three: We went down for breakfast and I really wish we hadn't - the tea tasted like tar and splashed from a machine. The buffet style breakfast food was completely cold and tasted like rubber. We left for the day - that night when we came back we asked would they call ecabs for us for the following day, they wouldn't.

Day four: In a hurry to get away from our rubbery breakfast we accidentally left our mobile phone on the breakfast table. When we returned to the hotel later we asked Stephanie, Glorianne and Bernard the night manager ehind the desk if anyone had handed in a mobile phone. Stephanie walked away while I was mid sentence. Glorianne looked pretty pissed off that I had asked her a question. Bernard opened one drawer, closed it, looked at us and shrugged. Then Glorianne requested we settle our bill. I was perplexed and explained that we would be checking out in 2 days and it was unusual for her to ask me to settle the bill now.

Day five: We chanced asking a waitress in the breakfast room if a mobile phone had been handed in yesterday after breakfast. She returned with the mobile phone. It had been behind reception all along. We settled our bill with reception. They did not say thank you.

Morning of check out: We had made 2 more local telephone calls the night before (after we had settled the bill) from the room and I was expecting Stephanie to say "That will be €1.02" but she just said "It's fine" as if she was doing us the biggest favour ever. Handed back our key cards and ran the hell away.

During my stay in Malta I worked in the Phoenicia Hotel in Valletta for a couple of days - I had free wifi and the staff of the Phoenicia were very very nice - and I wasn't even paying to stay in that hotel!

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

30 June, 2012

Dear Madam,

As you mentioned, your colleague arrived a day ahead of you and was allocated a room which you specifically booked namely ‘a standard room with 2 single beds‘ and as to what your reservation notification and price stated you were given exactly that. You could have also seen the broom closet which was four rooms down from your initial bedroom. If the A/C did not work in the first bedroom it would not have worked in the other bedroom for the simple reason the A/C is a centralized system and not an individual one and if you happened to leave the balcony door open it will surely not work. Also the ‘extra cost’ you paid for the upgrade is normally for a superior room but as the hotel was at full capacity we conceded to let you have one of our larger ‘suites’.
I have personally inspected the room and for the life of me I could not see rust stains all over the carpet but to be fair on close inspection there was some rust which, in the meantime has been dealt with by the housekeeping department. This would have been done immediately had you reported the matter to the manager on duty as this requires special cleaning.
Rightly so the wi fi is promoted by our establishment but nowhere does it state that it is free of charge and for 24 hours will cost you Stg.7.80 (Eur9.00). The wi fi is programmed to log you off if it is idle for more than 30 minutes. If like you say you rooted through the bin and found it covered in the things you through in the bin, I am positive that the room attendant would have emptied your bin in her garbage bag, and you would probably not have found it.
I am a bit surprised you waited for day 3 to come down for breakfast. What happened to day 1 and 2?
To our knowledge, during your stay and to date both the tea and the coffee from the machine are downed by the 500 or so guests who are currently staying at the hotel and we do not have any complaints, as one can have as many cups of tea or coffee as one desires. I also fail to understand how the cold cuts on display should be ‘warm’ and the cheeses, jams, croissants, cakes, bread, etc. can taste like rubber? They couldn’t taste that even if one tried to do so. While the hot items, some of which are prepared at the breakfast buffet on demand, are on the other side of the counter and are kept hot as required.
Taxi service is always available from the reception and this service is available through a reputable local company at pre agreed rates. The front office personnel are instructed to book our transport requirements through this company. This is done to maintain a excellent service through this company
Had you required another particular company, one could have easily done so from the telephone in hotel room and booked it directly.
We are pleased that you located your mobile phone and I thanked the waitress who found it for you and kept it safe in the restaurant cupboard, hoping that you would call during the day, until the next morning, that is why no one found it at reception in the evening. In fact, when you called at reception to ask for your mobile phone, Stephanie did tell you to ‘wait a moment’ until she checked if it was in lost items drawer. The mobile phone was left at the reception by the restaurant staff the next morning and was not behind the reception ‘all along’.
Finally, as a matter of information regarding our hotel policy, hotel bills are to be either pre paid, or settled on arrival. The receptionist informed your friend about this but apparently she was in a hurry that evening and said she would be calling the next day to sort it, but she never turned up.
Since you were at work in another hotel I am sure the management made a concession for you to have access to wi fi, the same as we do to our employees.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A casual onlooker might think this is a Grand Hotel when seeing the spacious lobby, the restaurant area with high ceilings and sea view. The illusion fades quickly when checking in.
The rooms are dirty with plenty of signs of all the guests before you. As if they couldn't care for a good cleanse let alone redecoration. The personnel act as if they lost interest in their jobs since the eighties when this hotel probably still looked good. Phone calls often are answered by a rude; "Yesss... "(sigh).
The breakfast almost looked comical with zombie-waiters programmed to take away everything from your table as soon as you leave your seat. The coffee comes from a machine which splashes out a cupful at once when pressing a button. No surprise that this tastes like salty mud with a hint of soap. The blue-smoke generating central counter is where they prepare eggs. Amazing how an omelette with mushrooms, onions and tomato can be made to taste like... nothing, no taste at all! The juice machines at the other hand produce a cadmium-orange mixture which tastes like mildew and sugar.
Housekeeping seemed a little too keen on asking whether I really wanted my room cleaned, really?
Unbelievable that this hotel carries the Golden Tulip brand name, is this a scam?
It is probably unfair to blame it all on the personnel. A rundown hotel which once looked fancy and demotivated people is certainly a true sign of mismanagement. Mismanagement from the guy at the top, no-one else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "new" section, these are a little less run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, Manager at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Mr. Peter Berger,

Although we appreciate comments from our esteemed guests in order to improve our services, it is disturbing to hear that that you were disappointed with our amenities.

The breakfast is advertised as a buffet breakfast and the food available, which includes on the spot cooked items including fried, scrambled, omelets, boiled or poached eggs, etc. The selection of all the other items available is too long to mention, and it we leave it to the guest to have something different of their choice from the buffet spread. There is no restriction for tea and coffee and one may have as many cups as one requires. Italian coffee is available on request and at an extra charge.

It is a pity that all your remarks and comments were not referred to the Manager on duty in the first instance as he would have addressed you immediately.

We trust that you at least enjoyed what our island in general has to offer.

Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I attended a 5 day conference in this hotel and it was awful. I have attended several conferences in Malta over the last five years and I have never had such a bad experience.

Tea and coffee were made with tap water that was clearly unfiltered because you could taste the salt in the water. I had to suffer through 10 coffee breaks with the same poor quality tea and coffee which was made available to us. We were also provided with juice which was watered down and undrinkable. Also we were supposed to have biscuits provided with our coffee and they gave us the same two types of cookies for all 10 coffee breaks which happen to be the cheapest cookies which are manufactured locally.

Also not enough water was provided through out the day. Rubbish from the yard just opposite our conference room was not picked up from one day to another and the toilets were not cleaned until we complained that they were dirty and there was no toilet paper, after 4 separate people made complaints about this it was cleaned in the afternoon.


We were also provide with lunch as part of our conference package, the food was of a very poor quality at the small cafe which they have next to the reception area. One day the food came out cold, mozzarella in a salad was sour, two people got food poisoning and we quite ill immediately after eating the chicken. The portion sizes were also very small and everything was greasy.

Needless to say I ended up eating out and bringing my own lunch from home to attend this conference.

I would also not recommend that anyone stays in this hotel because is surrounded by some of the most dingy bars on the island. If anyone wants to stay somewhere nice and in a good location go stay in Sliema or anywhere but here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kitty20122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, Manager at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

First of all I would like to Thank you for attending the 5 day conference which was organised at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel and would like to point out some things regarding your unexpected complain.

1. We had 18 people over 5 days attending the conference and no one ever complained about the coffee breaks. The coffee used for the conference is the same coffee we use for over 500 guests daily during our breakfast. The coffee is also known to be one of the best on the island which is also used by many 5 star hotels.

2. Same matters happened regarding the Juice, the jugs where being emptied every day and we never add water to our juices. Would also like to inform you that the water was provided as agreed with the organizer, although no one asked for more water during meetings. We would have been very happy to provide more should any of the clients asked for more.

3. Regarding the food poisoning issue which you are accusing us of, we never got any complaints from any of the clients attending the conference dates that you mentioned. We also never got any complaint from the Environmental Health Directorate which should the clients or the doctor have informed them, we would have got an inspection on the day. Also please note that it is practically impossible to be contaminated with food poisoning bacteria just immediately after a human being eats contaminated food. Food poisoning usually occurs 4-8 hours for Staphylococcus Aureus after consuming food or 18-24 hours for Salmonella (Which is found in uncooked chicken), E coli and Shigella after consuming the food.

We are situated in a very nice area in St Julian’s few minutes away from the beach, we are also in a very good location for tourist. We would have taken immediate action, should any of the clients, including yourself complained during your stay in our Hotel. Once again we never got any complaints from any of the clients attending the 5 day Conference at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi hotel.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here for a week as members of a Riviera Travel group. We can't think why there are so many negative reviews of this hotel. Our room - in the newer part - was fine. Perfectly clean and the air conditioning was great. Public areas of the hotel were clean and the reception area was impressive. The staff were all friendly and efficient. The dinner buffet was so-so but this is fairly typical of hotel buffets generally. There were plenty of places to eat out for a few euros as an alternative in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the hotel - more modern and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lmp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#13 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £41 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing