We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad but a bit tired”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed for 4 nights with my teenage son on a diving holiday and the hotel was okay for our needs. The rooms were a good size but the room we stayed in was in need of re-decoration as it was looking a little tired. There were a few students staying at the hotel and we were unfortunate to have a room next to some Italians who stayed up until the early hours. Whilst they were no unduly noisy, we could hear them talking next door as we tried to sleep. Breakfast was good and the hotel was okay but nothing special.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    454
    286
    109
    86
See reviews for
163
472
74
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

It amazes me when i read some reviews for this hotel,we went with two friends who are very critical of hotels but they the found the hotel very good as we did and as for the staff,well they could have not been friendlier.The food was very good and choice was every good.Reception were so helpfull and friendly.I always think that the staff react to you and if you are polite as they deserve you to be then they are the same.We were sat next to a couple who found fault with everything and after suffering him passing his comments to all and sundry I told him he was so far away from the truth and why not go to another hotel. if it was so bad.Quite a few guests later told me they felt the same and would have loved to have told him.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We loved our 7 night stay at the Vivaldi. ( We just booked Bed and Breakfast)
It was our first trip to Malta and we would go back.
The staff in all parts of the hotel are so polite and helpful.
We booked a boat trip that was delayed and the receptionist rang the company for us.
We both got lovely massages and the bar staff always had a smile.
The hotel is in a brilliant location, we walked everywhere and the tourist buses stopped outside the hotel. For cheaper tickets there was a guy standing at the bottom of the road with a wooden board.
There are loads of places to eat around town but we found the hotel food was lovely and the standard of quality was always the same. Both menu's were almost the same in the roof top and downstairs. The portions were massive.The breakfast was fine in the hotel. The Maltese people are so friendly and welcoming , we noticed in all the places we visited. The only downside to the hotel is that for a 4 star hotel we did expect a kettle and iron. Also the room we stayed in was a bit dated ( small holes in the curtains that looked like moth bitten and the bottom of the lamp was rusted into the carpet). But these issues didn't affect our stay, for all the time we stayed in our room. The room was cleaned daily. Checkout time is 12pm and our flight was at 7pm . We were allowed to keep our bags in the luggage room and use the hotel pool also which I thought was very kind. We would definitely recommend...

Room Tip: we paid extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salonica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I just came back from Golden Tulip Hotel.We stayed there for 5 days on B/B basis.Our room was huge and clean, breakfast was delicious and the staff was very friendly and helpful.The location of the hotel is excellent with lots of restaurants and shops around the hotel.We had a great time at the Casino near the hotel as well!We will definitely visit Golden Tulip and Malta again because Maltese people respect foreigners and they are also so friendly and kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salonica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Me and 2 friends stayed at the Golden Tulip for 10 days. We chose it because of its location to Paceville (The Party Capital of Malta). It was about a 30 second walk from the booming clubs and busy bars. But not so close you wont get a wink of sleep at night. Rooms were spacious and clean. We payed extra for a sea view room, while it was nice, not sure if it was worth the extra 20 euros a night. The breakfast buffet included was ok. Food consisted of the usual egg, bacon, sausages ect along with cereals, pastries and other cold meats. However the restaurant situated on the roof of the hotel served excellent food and great prices, its a definete recommendation from me. There are 3 types of staff at the Golden Tulip. The first type wont even acknowledge your existence even if your standing right in front of them. The second are utterly incompetent and you seriously will no more than them. Thankfully the third were actually helpful and polite. Overall hotel quality was probably not that of a 4 star hotel but was more than acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Sea view is nice but will cost you extra 20 euros a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank studentspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Fab rooms, lovely views, nice pool (small) on a lovely roof top terrace. Fab barbeque nites on the roof.
But, sun beds from another century, not what you'd expect from 4 stars and no porters, which seems to be the norm for 4 star. We had to buy our own kettle to make tea, as they wouldnt lend us one.
And there are a million students in the area at this time of year so its disco till dawn, very noisy at night!
But, St Julians is fabulous, with the restaurants and bars. The hotel is within walking distance of all amenities.
The reception staff at the hotel were particularly surly and we told them!
But our overall opinion was good, maybe 3 and 3/4 rather than 4 star!

Room Tip: Always ask for a superior sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevgoldman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This 4-star hotel is near the sea. One outdoor pool att roof where you also find a great restaurant for your lunch. Sightseeing buses stops right outside hotel with different tours around the island. Lots of great restaurants and shops nearby. There is also a indoor pool, turkish bath and sauna at the bottom floor. Here you also find the gym. Great breakfast buffe. Wireless internet att rooms for 21€ for 3 days.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#15 of 33 in Saint Julian's
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing