We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Vivaldi. We were told that the wi-fi and car parking was free, but we had to pay for both upon arrival. The buffet breakfast was average. We had a double standard on the 4th floor overlooking the road. The air con did not work and the room was roasting hot (would be awful in the summer) so we had to sleep with the patio doors open all night. Drunk people walking past shouting and screaming all night so we did not sleep too well. Although our room was large and clean, it was worn and the furnishings smelt. Each morning there was an awful stench in our bathroom of methane which we think we coming from the bidet and on a couple of occasions the lights went out in the bathroom. Having said all of this if you get a better room, the hotel is very well located. The lobby bar and cafe offered excellent food and service. We also found the tour desk staff to be very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the road and make sure that the air con is fully functional.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. These comments are always highly appreciated for further improvement , and have been shared with the management team.

Thank you for complementing our Lobby Bar for offering excellent food and service.
We are also glad that you have found the hotel well located.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
There are newer reviews for Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

A nice place to spent an holiday in malta. comfort, but litle old fationed rooms. Don't take the back street rooms- there is little, but noisy street.On the front side, there ismarvelous sea view.
Good breakfast, and resturants. Very pleasant bar-men at the lobby.
Recomended.

Room Tip: Never take the back side rooms. The best are in the sea-side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had here with us.

Thank you for recommending our Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Located next to the Mediterranean Ocean and near the bustling Paceville clubbing area of St Julian's.

Myself and four friends stayed four nights. Myself and a friend stayed in room 1267 (twin).

Pros:
-A 20-30 minute (depending on traffic) taxi drive from the Airport.
-Small drop-off area in front of entrance.
-Steps and ramp access leading to a revolving door and hinged doors.
-Spacious marbled lobby.
-Friendly welcome from Receptionist. We were all allowed to check-in at 11:55 and use our rooms, even though check-in was 3pm.
-Four lifts serving all levels of the hotel.
-Breakfast (07:00-10:00), Lunch (12:30-14:30), Dinner (18:30-22:00) - all served in Antonio Restaurant (main restaurant at reception level). Breakfast: wide range of machine-operated drinks and buffet food. The omelette chef was particularly helpful.
-Rhapsody Bar/Cafe (the hotels lounge bar) is open daily 10:00 till late. Newspapers to read.
-Newtones Leisure Club (located on level -1, use the lift) contains a Gym with separate weights and cardio areas, indoor swimming pool with sun loungers. Turkish Bath (€6 per hour), sauna (€6 per hour). There is also a rooftop swimming pool with sun loungers and panoramic views of the surrounding buildings and Mediterranean Ocean.
-Room: Keycard entry. Writing desk drawer, mirror, wall lamps, chair. Floor lamp. Hotel information pack (with headed notepaper & envelopes). Wall-mounted multi-channel Philips TV (with hotel channel. English language channels include Eurosport, BBC Entertainment, VH1, Cartoon Network, Sky News, Discovery Channel). Two-door cabinet containing shelves and fridge. Two chairs & circular table. Twin beds each with a large wooden headboard, twin bedside tables, wall-mounted lamps. Telephone (with self-setup wake up call option and free room-to-room calls). Sliding door wardrobe with shelf and hangars. Curtains & net curtains. Large sliding door to outside (no balcony). Spacious en suite bathroom with shower-bath.
-Checkout time 12:00.

Cons:
-Concierge staff are polite and helpful, but be aware the desk is not staffed by the hotel, but by employees of 'malta sightseeing'. Therefore travel options are limited and commission-based. There's a tour bus pickup point opposite the hotel outside the Westin hotel stone-gate.
-Confusing hotel layout - I frequently got lost walking between my room and reception/breakfast.
-WiFi chargeable: 1 hour = €3, 1 day = €9, 3 days = €21, 7 days = €35. Turn left out of hotel, walk for 3 minutes and 'Huggins & Friends' pub offers free WiFi (no password required). There are also numerous other restaurants (eg Barcelona, Al Pomodoro, McDonalds) in Paceville offering free WiFi.
-No safe in room. Safety deposit box (€2.33 per day) available at Reception.
-No tea/coffee making facilities in room. I took a travel kettle, mugs and tea/coffee sachets.
-Housekeeping sometimes sloppy e.g. glasses left not emptied, rubbish not all removed.
-Occasional corridor noise from other guests, but good soundproofing between rooms.

Notes:
-Public bus - Arriva charges €2.60 for 1 day, €12 for 7 days. arriva.com.mt . Valletta (capital city) is 35-40 minutes from St Julian's.
-Cruise to the island of Gozo - the 'Gozo Channel' ferry (€4.65 return fare), 'Arriva' Gozo public bus (€2.60 all-day rover) coupled with the 'Arriva' Malta public bus (€2.60 all-day rover) are the cheapest options.
-Nightclubs - turn left out of hotel, walk for 5 minutes and the first place is 'Plush', followed by numerous other clubs/late bars.
-Restaurants - I recommend 'The Avenue' Italian restaurant in Paceville street. Turn left out of the hotel, then first left into Paceville street and the restaurant is 5 minutes walk on a right-hand side corner. There are numerous other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, once you've orientated yourself.
-Taxi - Turn left out of hotel, walk for 5 minutes. Taxi rank is at a crossroads opposite 'Plush'. Fares are a fixed price e.g. €10 to Sliema.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed write up about our hotel. We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed your holiday with us.

We do our best to offer great service to meet every expectation that our guests might need..

Thank you for choosing Golden Tulip Vivaldi.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Hotel was very clean and our room was on the fourth floor with a nice view. The food was excellent and we also used room service with very good prices.

The staff was very helpful and polite. The location of the Hotel is great close to all amneties.

Hope to come again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi during your visit to Malta.

We are very pleased to see that your overall experience was a positive one.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It's the best 4 stars Hotel in Malta! Fantastic services, rooms, pools etc. The seasight is wonderful! The staff is very kind and professional. I recommend it to all, to singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your holiday with us at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi. It Is a pleasure to read such comments.

We do our best to offer great service and to meet every expectation that our guests might need.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (Guest Relation Officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This Hotel does not live up to its 4 Stars it is very tired .The restaurant is for breakfast and Dinner only
there is a coffe shop and Lobby bar . The roof Bar/ Restaurant only opens in Summer.The Breakfast was fine but Dinner Buffet Style is hit & miss . The Location is the best thing about it everything is close by transport shops bars restaurants .Would not Stay again.

Room Tip: We Booked a standard room it was very disapointing and in need of a refurb,however we paid for an up...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Kindly accept our apologies , you can rest assure that we consider constant refurbishment of the property.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (Guest Relation Officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had the pleasure to stay at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi. The Hotel is right in the middle of Malta's night life.

Room was spacious and clean,maid service was excellent..

Full english breakfast everyday. Great reception and customer care service.We enjoyed using the indoor pool facilities very much.

We are sure we will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JS m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we were delighted to read of your enjoyable stay at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi.

Also thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback with us.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (Guest Relation Officer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,760 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#13 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £60 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing