We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable holiday with Riviera Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Wakefield, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday with Riviera Travel”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a week's stay at The Golden Tulip with Riviera Travel and enjoyed our Malta holiday. The hotel was not perfect but had it's good points. The evening dinner was good with a good salad choice, good soups and always a choice of a roast or Italian fare as well as other choices. The breakfasts were disappointing particularly the very watery fruit juice. Sitting areas were limited (no nice lounge) but there is a superb roof bar (ideal in the heat) but one was never sure when it was open in the evening - sometimes it was and it said so in the lift poster but other times it wasn't. I left a valuable item behind and the staff were very helpful in returning it too me. The location was not ideal but great views from the roof bar! The Riviera tour and guides were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi on trip advisor.

We have noted your comments and have been shared with the management team.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea ( guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    449
    282
    107
    86
See reviews for
160
465
73
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Upon arrival at the Hotel at 10pm we were quickly checked in and went to our room. We had to use two separate lifts, the first from reception takes you to floor 3 then you walk along a corrider for the next lift to the higher floors and vice versa on the way down, it was a bit confusing for a while. We had booked a superior double sea view and this is what we got. The room was spacious and clean, but does lack the facilities of tea/coffee making machine. The bathroom again ok but the shower is attached to the taps and the hose is an off yellow colour. The hotels' location is not too noisey but our room was on the quieter street although the roads are so busy with traffic and they bang their horns in annoyance so its not that peaceful. Their are a lot of noisey bars etc a street or so away but we did not hear too much from that once inside our room. Like someone else has said Malta is very busy, there's not much space and you just get the feeling there are too many people and cars in such a small area. We did use the rooftop pool which was very nice and although not a big area there were always sunbeds no matter what time of day you turned up. We ate lunch at the rooftop terrace which was very nice, and reasonably priced. Their is also no safe in your room, you can hire one from reception and it is located behind a locked door at reception, you keep one key and you need a receptionist to open your box with you, so not that convenient and they charge 2 - 3 euros a day for this. Again there is no free Wifi in any areas and you pay on an hourly basis. The only other thing we weren't impressed with is that check out is 11am, they say you can pay to keep the room longer if you have a late check out ( at a charge of course) but when I asked as the Hotel was full that day we could not keep our room and as our flight was not until 9.30pm it was a long day without a room, and there was no courtesy room available and we ended up showering and changing at the rooftop pool showers (which are mixed showers)On the whole we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel but would not return to Malta. If you do stay at this Hotel I would suggest you upgrade and pay for a superior sea view as these as by far the best the others did not have good views, you pay what you get for though.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior sea view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ang12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a nice weeks stay at this hotel.
Nice room, nice staff and good value for what we paid.
We stayed in a superior sea view room which was great.
Nice clean room with lots of space and a wonderful view.
In my opinion it needs tea and coffee facilities and a safe in the room and not downstairs.
Normally when you pay for a better hotel you get free wifi in a designated spot but unfortunately you have to pay here :(
Overall really nice stay.. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pricey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback where we are pleased that your overall experience was a positive one.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea(guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Although the hotel is not too bad, the location is noisy, crowded, claustrophobic and unpleasant. We did not care for Malta generally, but this location was the most unpleasant.
Avoid the 'hop-on, hop-off' and the general service buses. Our experience of these could only be described as an ordeal!
The hotel room was a good size, but cleanliness left a little to be desired. Food was disappointing, the evening buffet main course being particularly poor.
The cost of Wi-Fi was a rip-off.
There was an annoying fault with the lift control button for the complete duration of our stay, despite this being reported on our arrival..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjhazelbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you are looking for a cheap no frills hotel with mediocre buffet breakfast and watery juice from a drinks machine, are not too bothered about attention to cleanliness, and staff that are impersonal then go ahead and book this.

Decor is tired and outdated, very grubby around the edges. Definitely needs a face lift.
In the dining room I noticed lack of care in overall cleanliness and decor and furnishings had seen better days.

Bedroom was adequate with large double bed but awful plastic mattress protector. There are much better ones on the market without plastic. These ones just made you hot and sweaty and did not fit properly. On first arriving in the room my husband noticed toenails left on the carpet.

Bathroom still had hairs on the floor and in the bath after the cleaner had been in and shower curtain all yellowed at the bottom edge.
The shower is just one attached to the taps in the bath and the water more or less just trickled out.

I don't mind a bargain hotel, I am all for basic accommodation if the price is right, but as long as I know that is what they are advertising. For a four star hotel I would expect at the very least better attention to detail in the cleanliness department and more friendly helpful and welcoming staff who are prepared to make an effort to make your stay a pleasant one.

Overall the accommodation was more like 2 to 3 star, the price reasonable and the room average. Not a 4 star hotel by any ones standard. The location of the hotel is in a busy street with a night club and bars just up the road so can be a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We have noted your comments and these have been shared with our management team.
However you can rest assure that we consider constant refurbishment of the property.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea(guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at the vivaldi as we were sent there after being overbooked at the Cavaleiri, I have to stay the management and staff were lovely very caring helpful and polite , however we had not booked this hotel , the room we were given was very tired, sheets pillows and towels pretty dire , breakfast was ok , howver we realised there was something very wrong as they have a lovely day restaraunt which was always empty ... ..answer was Lybian refugees apparently waiting for hospital treatment in Malta !!!!!!!! sitting outside front of hotel every day drinking smoking on mobiles, quite intimidating and off putting, the current General manager Phillipe is swiss and very nice the previous manager was Lybian and even less people had a drink in the hotel bar as it was overwhelmed with Lybians, Phillpe did ask me not to put back review on trip advisor , but I need to be honest .... with some money spent and more focus on guests this hotel could be fab, ...

Room Tip: Be aware of very noisy hotel opposite, .... higher floor half decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbimac19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In-Naxxar, null, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

It has been an occasion to go out with other friend families and spend a lunch a night and a breakfast for a small amout of money. You get what you pay. Lesson learned... no entertainment... no choice of food... no recreations. Poor experience. Fortunately we had good company.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing