We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, would stay here again”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It probably helps that we ended up here after originally checking into another hotel in the area which was horrendous, but The Vivaldi was truly lovely. We had a massive room, I think it was bigger than our London flat, the bed was big enough for 4 people, and super comfy, the bathroom was nice and clean with plenty of towels, the air con worked and helped keep the room a nice temperature to sleep in. Despite the proximity to the bars of Paceville, we weren't disturbed on a night, and the curtains were so thick it made the room really dark, so a good nights sleep was guaranteed. The rooftop pool area was small, but suited us, though the pool is icy cold, so be prepared if you take a dip. We only ate breakfast in the hotel (we wanted to sample a variety of restaurants) but it was very tasty, well-cooked and lots of choice, there was even chocolate cake on offer! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback where we are pleased that you were satisfied with our rooms and the Hotel overall.

We are glad that after all you ended up joining us at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi.

Thank you for recommending our Hotel , and hope that you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    449
    282
    107
    86
See reviews for
160
465
73
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I don't know, maybe only my room have inside died bugs and really old furniture, but in my opinion, if the hotel have 4 stars, they should think about how it looks for the customers. If I switched on the air conditional, I felt the cigarets smoke in my room. Sorry, but it's Malta and people go there for filing the sea, not for the birthing cigarets, especially if they don't smoke. Bath in my room couldn't work in a normal way - I couldn't splash the water. As result, I'm just little bit a disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from a week at The Vivaldi and would like to say what a lovely hotel. We could not fault it in any way, it was very clean, room cleaned and towels changed every day, bed changed after 4 days, lovely spacious room. All the staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was really good, you could choose from anything you could think of for breakfast, being freshly cooked in front of you and go back for more. The pool and cafe on the roof were a great way to spend an afternoon sunbathing, lots of sunbeds and hotel pool towels. The location was brilliant on top of all the cafe, bars and restaurants, the noise at night was bearable as our room had 2 sets of double glazed doors. This was our first visit to Malta and we shall be going back next year to the same hotel. The weather is great, the people are so friendly it came as a shock after living in Britain and the food is really good, something for everyone including Burger King and KFC. Best meal was at a small traditional taverna 30 second walk from the hotel called Gozitan, real Maltese food beautifully cooked.

Room Tip: If you do not like the room allocated, ask to change, they are more than happy to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi, I would like to thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for complementing our staff who do their utmost to meet our guests needs and requests.

We do look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Really nice hotel with rather tasty food in the restaurant. Live music in the lobby. 5 minutes walk from the heart of Pachville, San Julians with all the dicso, restaurants, casino etc. Professional staff.

Room Tip: rooms with seaview are a lit bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DmitryAvidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed for a week at the Vivaldi. On the plus side, my room was spacious, clean and comfortable; it had excellent air conditioning and a large bathroom. Bus stops for Valletta and other parts of the island are close by. There is a good supermarket a couple of minutes walk away and the area has plenty of restaurants (of variable quality, it has to be said).

Unfortunately the hotel abuts the burgeoning bar and nightclub 'scene' too and it can be quite noisy during the night (with noise coming from the street and, occasionally, from guests within the hotel itself).

A second problem was the food at the hotel restaurant. Breakfast was fine but the cooked food at dinner was, frankly, rather poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twopeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you were satisfied with with the standard of our rooms.
However unfortunately we have no control of what happens in the streets. But you can rest assure that when the noise is coming from the Hotel we take action immediately .

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

PLUS POINTS
Most the staff were friendly

It's got a nice swimming pool on the roof that serves drinks, fairly quiet

Some of the hotel looks very nice, good reception
Varied breakfast

Big spacious bathroom

effective air-con

NEGATIVE
Our floor and room (4th) Stank of cigarettes and the decor was very out of date. Smaller details were in disrepair

One of the staff members I used the toilet after in the lobby had left loo paper covered in urine on the seat!

Did not cover Captin Morgan tours, which cover most the Island

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful holiday in Malta, highly recommend everyone to visit this unusual, very friendly, kind and interesting lsland. Especially La Valletta-gorgeous town! ♥♥♥

Stayed in Vivaldi hotel which is well located and connected to everything you need. Hotel was fine, even though it needs to be updated but most of the hotels in Malta are looking tired and not luxury nor comfy as you experience in Turkey or Egypt or Montenegro or Croatia. Malta has similar hotel standard like Sicily so dont expect much of a 4* hotel !!! We knew this and were supose to be acommodated in a 5* but all of them were booked in St.Julians as we decided too late to travel to Malta so we got Vivaldi as 4*+ hotel and we had a fine stay there.
Breakfast had lots of delicious food for everyone's taste so whatever you like in the morning you can have. We didn't like juices though, too artificial taste! Fruits were kind of bad surprise(only apples and oranges in Medditeranean country is poor choice!).
We had superior room with a nice sea view. Room was kept clean,towels changed everyday,thanks for that! l must bold one little thing, hotel windows( especially at the breakfast restaurant) were so dirty and blur, which we understand it comes from high air humidity and dust but hotel should clean those windows because it really gives a bad look and impression. If a 5* hotel can take care then 4* should too, it's a small thing that does great job.
Pool terrace at the 7th floor has wonderful view and tasty food, not expensive at all ! What we didn't understand is pool size, very small pool up there. Ok,we don't use pool because we prefer the sea but if someone likes to swim in the pool then forget it, it's ridicilous size!
Stuff are very kind and helpful, we thank them for their hospitality and everything they have done for our pleasant stay! Generally speaking, Maltese people are fantastic, polite, friendly and make visitors feel very comfortable and welcome. What we also felt is their honesty, they won't cheat or make u pay extra, no,no! They are not ruled by gaining as much money as possible, its not like in Arab countries or ltaly and it's not overpriced. They let you choose and let you have comfortable vacation.

We took lots of excursions around and were impressed by Grand Harbour, Valleta, sailing around the lsland and watching amazing cliffs and caves. Mdina is absolutely beautiful so it's a must see town. Gozo island is interesting to see aswell.

In St.Julian's you will have very pleasant stay,it's more exclusive than Sliema. We loved Portomaso marine and had delicious dinners with wine over there.
Paceville is next to the hotel and its full of young people cca.18,19,20,21,22 years old who are too loud in the weekends,too drunk and stupid behaving throwing garbage everywhere so you might get wrong impression that Maltese are dirty but actually its the tourist who don't take care of the enviroment! I think Malta should do something about it because it's a big problem having trash around the streets.
We'll visit Malta again for sure, not in the summer as its very humid but some other time of the year definitely yes!
One more thing,if you expect nice beaches like in Greece or Croatia then forget Malta! Malta is rocky island and has few sandy beaches which are nothing special but the beauty and history of the island is in many other things which must be seen and enjoyed!♥


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tashana6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed write up. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit to Malta and your stay at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi.

We are pleased to read your comments about our staff that we were able to give you such service.

However we have noted your comments and these have been shared with the management team.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing