We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it could be” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not as good as it could be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed on business. Room excellent when I found it (lift to 1st floor, walk through badly signed corridors to another area to get another lift to 5th floor etc)
Lunch good (Caesar salad) - then confusion over payment - couldn't charge it to the room despite leaving cc imprint on arrival). Dinner poor - all apart from the cafe closed on a Thursday night; steak arrived without some of the accompaniments, then 'sweet crepe with strawberries' finally arrived 30 minutes after ordering - not only cold but actually still frozen! With 5 diners it took more than 90 minutes from ordering the meal to the crepe abomination arrived. Chaotic and badly organised!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time on reviewing our hotel. Your evaluation and feedback are precious for us.

I am delighted that you really liked our rooms and enjoyed your lunch in our restaurant.
We are all surprised that your dinner experience wasn’t nice as we always endeavor to provide excellent and professional services. Our restaurants are renowned for their service and outstanding food quality. Our Duty Manager Giacomo already shared and addressed every single point you had raised with the rest of the Management. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I really hope to have the possibility of welcoming you back and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relations officer )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    427
    266
    104
    82
See reviews for
153
451
70
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The location was excellent. I stayed for a conference which was being held in the nearby Hilton. The Vivaldi staff were great and the bartenders were very friendly and polite. Breakfast was brilliant with a great variety of foods. Coffee wasn't so great though.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi during your business trip in Malta. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the services offered by our staff.

We do look forward to welcome you back on business or pleasure.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea,
(guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for a week as my cousin was getting married in The westin Dragonara across the way. On arrival this hotel seemed lovely, although it led out to a main road. Rooms were great cannot fault them. But the swimming pool was not deep nor big. It was the length of my kitchen which is very small. As the pool was on the roof it was incrediably hard to get some beds. I had spent majority of my time in the downstairs underground pool. Which isnt normally like me i prefer to lounge about in the sun. After spending a few days in the underground pool i needed a doctor there as i had developed a skin problem as the water had not been filtered nor changed. When i returned home I had to attend my GP every couple of weeks to make sure the skin disorader did not come back. It was like pimples x1000 size on all of my legs and it travelled up my body. The hotel was Very Very expensive and the town was so dirty.
Id never return to Malta again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganSmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback where we are pleased that you were more than satisfied with the approach of the hotel and our rooms.
We are naturally disappointed to hear that your stay in Malta wasn't pleasant as you wished and obviously we are surprised regarding your comments about our roof.
The swimming pool along with the restaurant bar has always been appreciated by our guests that found space to lounge in the sun and to enjoy the outstanding view.
We trust that in September certain hours are busier than others and it may be difficult to find a sun bed due to the high request of our top floor.
Your comments regarding the indoor pool water and filters left us astonished as the health of our guest is of the utmost importance to us. We daily test the water of our pools and their filters, we also regularly use external laboratory services, in fact we have never experienced this kind of problems you described.
During your stay did you kindly report this matter to any of my colleagues?
If you need any further clarifications kindly do not hesitate to contact the Duty Manager on gmagi@goldentulipvivaldi.com

Thank you,

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (Guest Relation Officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

although its an annual appointment for us to visit vivaldi on new years eve we always are impressed with the hospitality.. staff are extremely kind and helpful (except for the arrogant and rude security guard night shift of new years eve).. definitely one of the best hotels in malta.. Thanks and see you again soon !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi we would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We do look forward in welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Location is excellent very central to paceville. Very nice reception area. Large restaurant with a buffet, food was quite nice. They do charge for wifi use and also for safes as they are behind reception. Both of these things could add up over a period of two weeks. There is a roof top pool which was being refurbished when I was there but there is also an indoor pool. The rooms are starting to look dated and the hotel are refurbishing the bedrooms. An average hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at Golden Tulip Vivaldi for 3 nights in the last weekend.
The hospitality was great and the room was amazing with sea view from one side and street view from the other side of the room.
We did had problem with hot water once but it was fixed very fast after talking to the reception manager.
The hotel is in a very good location.
Nearby there are 2 shopping malls, bars, dance bars etc.
The transportation to any place in malta is very easy due to a nearby bus station from which a bus can be taken to any location in malta.

I will definitely come back to another vacation at this hotel and the next time will be with our kids.
:)

Tip for Malta:
Shopping is suggested in Valleta (Republic St.) or Sliema which are the places where the locals also do their shopping which is great.

Room Tip: Sea view is suggested and there are rooms with have both sea view and street view which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Golden Tulip Vivaldi I would like to thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future this time with your kids.

Kind Regards,
Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

tip: avoid rooms overlooking the main streets as they become too noisy.
not bright breakfast but honest and the rooms are clean enough.
stayed in Vivaldi 2 times, totalling 5 nights
a bit far from historical center - well, not far but it takes too much time to make those 8kms by taxi..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao_Lisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing