We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just never came up to expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
carrickfergus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just never came up to expectation”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights on business. Needed room with walk in shower - absolutely no problem to give me one but it looked out onto grim walls and apparently derelict buildings. Phones didn't work so if you needed to make a call you had to go to reception. I have mobility problems (hence disabled room/walk in shower) but walk from room to reception was v long - up a floor, along a long corridor, down a floor etc and I had to do it 6 times first night between entrance key cards not working and so on. Breakfast was average - cooked stuff was pretty cold but there was plenty of everything. Buffet evening meal was not good night I went but cafe meal was fabulous. Perfectly cooked fresh fish and 2 scoops of ice cream to die for! Staff were lovely - very helpful but ineffectual. They just couldn't seem to do anything to sort out problems.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldladytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Golden Tulip Vivaldi on your business trip. We are glad that you found our staff lovely and helpful with your room request.
We always try to satisfy our guests needs but without any previous information we couldn't book you a room really close to the Reception area with your special requests.
That’s the reason we had to assign you to a room a bit far from the lobby area.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused regarding our telephone system. However we have no control when a fault like this occurs but the installation of a new system has already started.

Your comments about the food have been shared with the Chef and the rest of our Management team: thanks for your precious feedback.

We do look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back soon in either business or leisure.

Kind Regards
Alison Galea (Guest Relations Officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    447
    282
    107
    85
See reviews for
159
465
71
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights, as a 4 star choice from our travel agent. Big but outdated building with nice sea views from the terrace , the resto and the east facing rooms which were renovated on the 4rh floor during our stay. Our room 434 was spacious and confortable and clean enough , but with view to an opposite building(same side as the entrance). Staff is friendly and the restaurant is enormous with big glass-walls facing the sea. During the breakfast the air is full of smoke and smells as the omelettes are prepared in the middle of the room with inadequate air circulation (better bath after breakfast!). Wifi is (over)charged when one can get 1G/7days for €10 from GO or Vodafone with prepaid sims. Many bus-stops,restos, bars, malls are in walking distance. Big problem during our stay was the lack of heating air-conditioning in the room as the noise of the adjacent renovation.

Room Tip: Insist on east facing rooms on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi, I would like to thank you for the review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your room. We thank you for complementing our staff who do their utmost to meet our guests needs and requests.
The points you have highlighted regarding our restaurant during breakfast was well noted and we intend to re do the ventilation system.
We are sorry that you don't agree with our WIFI policy. At the moment we have a promotion offered from the Rhapsody Lounge . One hour free WIFI with any beverage purchased.
We hope you will return to the Golden Tulip Vivaldi in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed on business. Room excellent when I found it (lift to 1st floor, walk through badly signed corridors to another area to get another lift to 5th floor etc)
Lunch good (Caesar salad) - then confusion over payment - couldn't charge it to the room despite leaving cc imprint on arrival). Dinner poor - all apart from the cafe closed on a Thursday night; steak arrived without some of the accompaniments, then 'sweet crepe with strawberries' finally arrived 30 minutes after ordering - not only cold but actually still frozen! With 5 diners it took more than 90 minutes from ordering the meal to the crepe abomination arrived. Chaotic and badly organised!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time on reviewing our hotel. Your evaluation and feedback are precious for us.

I am delighted that you really liked our rooms and enjoyed your lunch in our restaurant.
We are all surprised that your dinner experience wasn’t nice as we always endeavor to provide excellent and professional services. Our restaurants are renowned for their service and outstanding food quality. Our Duty Manager Giacomo already shared and addressed every single point you had raised with the rest of the Management. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I really hope to have the possibility of welcoming you back and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relations officer )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The location was excellent. I stayed for a conference which was being held in the nearby Hilton. The Vivaldi staff were great and the bartenders were very friendly and polite. Breakfast was brilliant with a great variety of foods. Coffee wasn't so great though.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relations officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi during your business trip in Malta. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the services offered by our staff.

We do look forward to welcome you back on business or pleasure.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea,
(guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for a week as my cousin was getting married in The westin Dragonara across the way. On arrival this hotel seemed lovely, although it led out to a main road. Rooms were great cannot fault them. But the swimming pool was not deep nor big. It was the length of my kitchen which is very small. As the pool was on the roof it was incrediably hard to get some beds. I had spent majority of my time in the downstairs underground pool. Which isnt normally like me i prefer to lounge about in the sun. After spending a few days in the underground pool i needed a doctor there as i had developed a skin problem as the water had not been filtered nor changed. When i returned home I had to attend my GP every couple of weeks to make sure the skin disorader did not come back. It was like pimples x1000 size on all of my legs and it travelled up my body. The hotel was Very Very expensive and the town was so dirty.
Id never return to Malta again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganSmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback where we are pleased that you were more than satisfied with the approach of the hotel and our rooms.
We are naturally disappointed to hear that your stay in Malta wasn't pleasant as you wished and obviously we are surprised regarding your comments about our roof.
The swimming pool along with the restaurant bar has always been appreciated by our guests that found space to lounge in the sun and to enjoy the outstanding view.
We trust that in September certain hours are busier than others and it may be difficult to find a sun bed due to the high request of our top floor.
Your comments regarding the indoor pool water and filters left us astonished as the health of our guest is of the utmost importance to us. We daily test the water of our pools and their filters, we also regularly use external laboratory services, in fact we have never experienced this kind of problems you described.
During your stay did you kindly report this matter to any of my colleagues?
If you need any further clarifications kindly do not hesitate to contact the Duty Manager on gmagi@goldentulipvivaldi.com

Thank you,

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (Guest Relation Officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

although its an annual appointment for us to visit vivaldi on new years eve we always are impressed with the hospitality.. staff are extremely kind and helpful (except for the arrogant and rude security guard night shift of new years eve).. definitely one of the best hotels in malta.. Thanks and see you again soon !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi we would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We do look forward in welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Location is excellent very central to paceville. Very nice reception area. Large restaurant with a buffet, food was quite nice. They do charge for wifi use and also for safes as they are behind reception. Both of these things could add up over a period of two weeks. There is a roof top pool which was being refurbished when I was there but there is also an indoor pool. The rooms are starting to look dated and the hotel are refurbishing the bedrooms. An average hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing