We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early wake up!!!!!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Early wake up!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I come to malta for the 1st time and its a nice place..all though you must walk down to the harbour to find the nice bars..all the bars near hotel (5min)walk away.. are discusting.. streets scruffy and lots of prostitutes I was shocked as im not used to seeing this its like a 1star ibiza. the hotel is ok.. we stay in new room which was nice.. apart from being woken up at 8am to hammering and DRILLING in the next room... this is not fair we paid nearly 800. Euros to stay for a week... they fail to tell you this when you check in... im not fussy at all.. but this is beyond a joke... they should not allow work men to do this until at least 11am.... it actually woke me up and made me jump...this is so annoying esp when we have been working in malta...the quality of the breakfast is poor not nice produce.. even down to the tea and coffee I don think ive had worse coffee in my whole life very bitter..and tea has no taste... the bacon is just like strips of fat... overall the hotel is nice the indoor pool and jacuzzi is really nice and the rooftop pool was ok a little on the small side bit nice to cool off... 1 last thing when u book through booking.com u get free wifi all week bit again they fail to tell you this on reception I had to ask for log in details they should confirm everything on arrival ....

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Robert W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi hotel.

We are glad you appreciated our hotel and especially the new rooms and our Spa with its indoor pool and Jacuzzi. Indeed the roof top is the perfect place where you can relax and enjoying the superb view of St. Julian’s and its bay.

The area you went to is famous for its attractions and the wide variety of shops, bars, pubs, clubs, etc.
Usually it is really appreciated by many tourists coming to Malta but we respect you personal perception. We only would like to assure you that even though that zone may be very busy during the night, no prostitutes are present at all since it’s not legal in Malta. As you wrote that area is not really close to the hotel and we benefits of a truly convenient location close and well linked to all the main attractions that the island can offer.

We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay because of the works in the hotel. We would like to inform you that the refurbishment on the floors where you heard the noise it will be soon finished. We are doing everything is possible for us to not disturb our guests and your comments have been already passed to the Project Manager and actions will be taken.

Your feedbacks about the breakfast and Wi-Fi have been shared with all the Management Team and we thank you very much for it.

Kindly do not hesitate to contact me at gmagi@goldentulipvivaldi.com for any further clarification or assistance you may need. Also I would like to invite you to come back to the Golden Tulip Vivaldi on any return trips to Malta and experience us at our best.


Regards,
Giacomo Magi (Duty Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    427
    267
    104
    82
See reviews for
153
451
70
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is about 25 years old and is undergoing refurbishment. It needs to. Some of the old rooms are shabby, with broken items. Those rooms already upgraded are fine. However, ladies with long dresses should take care that their hanging space is deep enough for a full length dress: some rooms only had the depth for jackets.
We had a problem with our room and had to ask to change rooms; the staff were very helpful. (Thanks Leane and Giacomo) Often, in a case like this, staff become very defensive and unhelpful. Not so here. Very helpful, friendly and accommodating: nothing was ever too much trouble. (Their jobs will be so much easier when the refurbishment finishes and the hotel should then be outstanding.)
The dining is a buffet and I'm not a great fan of buffets, but this was exceptional. A wide variety of foods with a tendency towards fish; always at least one roast and usually another meat dish. Also plenty on offer for vegans in the extensive salad area. Evening meals took us nearly 2 hours as we had, by our choice, to sample slowly at least a morsel from most of the fare on offer. Our typical meal was 5 or 6 small courses of soup, olives, salad, pasta, fish, or roast, with potatoes and veg, followed by a big choice of cold desserts. The food never ran out and hot food was always hot, but the roast could be a bit dry. Pasta always being cooked fresh in the dining area.
Staff in the dining area were attentive: used plates were usually whisked away between courses unseen by guests. Thanks to Steve and his team and for his help in guiding us to good choices of Maltese wine which were both delicious and cheap (8 to 12 Euros per bottle)
Bar area was relatively small, but we always found seats during our stay in June.
They charge for wi-fi, but you get 1 hour free if you buy a drink in the bar and take your receipt to the front desk.
The hotel is about 200 yards from a bus stop which gives access to all the towns along the coast to Valletta. We only managed to walk as far as Sliema, but fitter and younger people could probably walk all the way to the ferry from Sliema to Valletta.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with care during refurbishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Golden Tulip Vivaldi during your visit to Malta and for sharing your experience online.

We are glad that the problem you had was solved by our staff in a professional and prompt way.
Thank you for complementing our buffet dinner which is our specialty within our guests.I would like just to correct your comment about the Hotel: it is 15 years old and not 25 as you wrote.

As you mentioned the Golden Tulip Vivaldi is undergoing a major refurbishment so soon it will be an outstanding building with a 5 star service as you already noticed it.

We look forward to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hospitality. Wonderful presentation of food. Great selection. Very good value for money in a Happy atmosphere.
Thank you to Mr. James Fenech food and beverage manager and all his staff. He was involved from the booking stage and looked after us during lunch. Everyone wanted to make sure that all was up to our expectation. Well done to all we will be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kinkingking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments. We are glad that all was up to your expectations for your nephew's Holy Communion lunch.
Our managers as well as our staff always try to anticipate guest needs and make sure that our guests would experience us at our best.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend just returned from excellent vacation in this hotel . The service was kind from the staff, the room was clean, the food was ok ,more variety would have increased the rating of the hotel's, the location is excellent, close to the nightlife area paceville, the sea and the casino, it is also close to public transport stations that goes all over Malta. In summary, its recommended, giving excellent value for money .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the staff of The Golden Tulip Vivaldi I would like to thank you for the positive comments you wrote. We always provide an attentive service ready to be adapted to all guests’ needs. Your feedback is indeed the best reward for us.

We are glad you found our Hotel in a convenient location with all its attractions and services.

Thank you for recommending the Golden Tulip Vivaldi and we hope to host you once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel and it still ticks the boxes. The staff are efficient and friendly as always. The rooms are always well presented and clean tidy.The only issue that I had with this visit, was that there appeared to substantial renovation work being undertaken, but we found that out rather than being told up front. We usually spend at least two days on the roof at the swimming pool which is usually an oasis of peace, but that was spoiled with the workmen walking back and forwards removing debris. The fact that the upstairs bar was closed and that there wasn't even a vending machine for cold drinks as a temporary measure was a shame.
We still enjoyed our time however and we will be back. The 60 plus items for the buffet breakfast is too good to resist.

Room Tip: There is not much between the rooms, but one thing to check out before you unpack is the performance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments following your third visit to The Golden Tulip Vivaldi.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused regarding the Hotel being undergoing the refurbishment. Just for other guests and for yourself the roof bar is now open full time.

Thank you for complementing our staff.
We do hope that you will return and we will be glad to host you once again.

Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avgorou, Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was our second visit to this Hotel. We were treated at all times like family and any problems were solved quickly. The hotel itself was clean and the rooms well maintained with efficent daily maid service. Reservations by phone or email were swiftly dealt with.and transfers to the airport were no problem.Generally a lovely hotel ideally placed for all attractions.

Room Tip: sea view are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Golden Tulip Vivaldi. We are delighted to read your comments following your second visit: I will pass your feedback to all the staff.

It is a real satisfaction for us to see that we have met all your expectations.

We do look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My stay here resulted from my wife being taken ill during our World Cruise.
The staff could not have been more helpful--particularly the staff on reception and one of the restaurant ladies who advised me on the buses to Mater Dei.
The staff at the bar were also very concerned and always lent a friendly ear.
She is doing well back here in UK
I am sure you all will remember me
Many thanks to everyone--would strongly recommend your hotel

Robert Howard
UK

I

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipVivaldi, guest relation officer at Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Golden Tulip Vivaldi staff, I would like to thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad to read that your wife is doing well back at home.

We genuinely love to look after all of our guests and your satisfaction is our best reward.

I thank you also for recommending the Golden Tulip Vivaldi and we hope to welcome you back on any return trips to Malta.


Kind Regards,

Alison Galea (guest relation officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing