We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“****Never again*****” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“****Never again*****”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2007

Never again, this is not by far a 4* hotel, everything was horrible, i will not go back - i complained our Rep and i wrote a letter of complaint to holiday company and hotel. Rep said i was overtired. I think not. Holiday company basically said everything i wrote was untrue and never heard from hotel!! Obvisously didnt appriciate our custom.

due to the great stay i had to have a week off work upon returning home due to the stress

stay clear

  • Liked — Nothing it was of a very poor standard!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Saz8210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    427
    267
    104
    82
See reviews for
153
451
70
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2007

Nice hotel but if you book a room in the back street you will be annoyed from the noise. Especialy in the night hours where the pubs are open the place is like a jungle. 15-16 year old drunk kids yelling and screaming till late midnight.. Although the room service was quite good and the breakfast buffet really tasty! Malta was a very nice place to visit especially if you get a car so you can explore it really well.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank vouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2007

I stayed here for 3 weeks while on business in Malta with several colleagues. The air con was non existant for the first week, despite asking twice every day if it had been fixed. Excuses ran from "it is working fine" to "the cooler is waiting for a part" . I eventually got the real answer and as I expected it is "management policy" not to switch on until a certain date. I asked to speak with this manager but nobody at the hotel could get hold of them. Eventually the air started to work for a couple of hours a day, but was switched off at 10pm until 8 am no matter what the temperature outside.

I moved rooms 3 times as 2 bathrooms were so mouldy and smelt of drains / sewage. The shower head fixing in my last room was broken and I ended up suspending it with a shoe lace as the maintenance crew could not seem to fix it.

Maids ignored the Do not Disturb signs consistantly, the iron brought to the room was covered in melted plastic from somebody elses clothes. The floor was only vacuumed once a week and the noise from building works starting at 6 am was a wonderful alarm clock.

The rooftop pool water was always murky despite numerous complaints. Breakfast "Cumberland" sausages had been nowhere near Cumbria and looked more like tinned chipolatas.

Breakfast was a struggle to find a cleared table, reception staff were disinterested in anything. Laundry was extortionate (even for a hotel) and paying 6 euro per day extra to use the hotels carpark was a suprise.

Avoid at all costs, we will not be going back.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jmwalker31uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nottinghamshire,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2007

This hotel completely ruined a two week holiday in Malta. It started off well, when after breaking my suitcase key, they promptly sent a handyman in to break the lock. It went downhill from there.

Our room was dirty with hairs on the carpet and old soap left in the bathroom. The room was opposite a nightclub and the soundproofing doors didn't work too well.

The staff on reception were always unhelpful, looking at you as though you were a hindrance if you had an enquiry. At breakfast, the tables were never cleared and you had to ask for tea and coffee, it was never offered and the staff tried to avoid eye contact.

The upstairs poolside bar fared little better. It's opening times were irregular and once, when we got a bottle of wine, the server said she would be over to open the bottle, but she never did. Thank goodness for taking a bottle opener on holiday.
We never ate a meal at the restaurant, as we wanted away from the hotel as much as possible.

One redeeming feature, the ice machines were emptied without warning towards the end of our stay.

We could not wait to leave this hotel. I would not recommend it to anybody.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Poor service; noisy nightclub opposite.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Zimbo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2007

I have just spent 18 nights at this hotel, paid for by the company I work for. I have to say that I do not recommend this hotel, unless staying on a room only basis.

My room was probably the nicest out of all the rooms as it was on the top floor and on a corner which had the benefit of two patio doors and THE biggest balcony I have ever seen (room 636 for those interested). Some of my colleagues experienced damp smelling rooms and cockroaches, but I have to say I was lucky and didn't.

My worst gripe has to be the food. The breakfast was exactly the same each day consisting of the usual continental type breakfast of cold hams and cheese etc, but the cooked breakfast was usually cold. I avoided the fried eggs each day as these were always undercooked with the white still clear and didn't want to risk getting ill. The dinner was also repetative with chicken still pink inside (another health risk) and usually fairly cold again.

Staff were indifferent and one colleague's ceiling collapsed on him during the day! He was moved room, but no apology or concern given.

If the food hadn't been paid for by my Employer, I would certainly have eaten out, but chose to eat in the hotel due to the expense.

Another problem was that the cleaners ignored the 'do not disturb' signs on your door and would try and get into your room, even knocking sometimes as early as 7 or 8am. Luckily, I would lock my room from the inside and therefore access could not be gained, but they were quite persistant and would also chase you up on your last day to vacate early, even though you have until 12 to check out.

On the whole, the hotel was disappointing and would not chose to stay there again. Also, beware that the nearby clubs are noisy and you can find yourself lying in bed until 3am listening to the 'boom, boom' racket!

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Food!!!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Larcombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing