We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive from outside, disappointing inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I though the hotel was lately refubished but it wasn't. Not a bathroom at least. My toilet was dirty, mixer tap rusty and towels with huge holes (pls see the photo). The same was my bed cover with stains from wax and chewing-gum.
Don't expect any fresh vegetables for a breakfast nor fried eggs. You have to pay extra for those.
However, the best is so advertised roof pool. It is out of order, full of dirt, not blue but green water, only frogs and fishes are missing there. The same is the jacuzzi.
The only positive is their masseur who really knows his job well. I had the best massage ever. Also the staff is friendly, didn't experience any bad attitude.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan8004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2010

We arrived and were put in a grotty, dingy, dirty room. My partner complained but the duty manager was totally unaccommodating and very patronising towards us. We stayed there that night with air-con up full blast so when the following night with the air-con turned down low we didn't get a wink of sleep because of the constant variety of noises to be heard from the street, which the tractor like air-con had masked the previous night, eventhough we had requested a quiet room when we booked. Our friends arrived the following day and we discovered that they had paid less then us but had a much higher quality room, with a sea view and balcony. We complained again, and this time spoke to a much more approachable duty manager. The previous one was down right obnoxious. We had given the room a chance for two nights so he moved us. The food at breakfast was worse than what we got in $20/25 a night hostels as I travelled through Australia. Had we been given a decent room from the start I probably wouldn't need to complain but it really ruined our experience of that hotel, but thankfully not of Malta. We loved Malta

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiiiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Hotel was siuated in central place and had sea views, but our bedroom overlooked the back onto lots of buildings. Told when asked that no sea view rooms available. Supposed to be a 4* hotel with INTERNATIONAL cuisine, but food was all mediteranean.
Breakfasts were ok as you cannot really alter that type of food, but evening meal was dreadful i.e. no vegetables,lukewarm soup and unapertising mail courses. The sweet courses were wonderful, but these were made by outside caterers as we saw them being delivered to the hotel. Thank goodness there was a bar on the roof where we could purchase food.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My wife and me spent a wonderful week in Malta. The hotel is situated in a popular area, close to Casino, bay, restaurants, bars and a bus stop from where you can get whenever you like. The service is very nice, the hotel workers, like every one in Malta, are very polite and try to help you. The breakfast is normal - nothing special, nothing bad - the same every day. Dinner is great! The rooms are really big; we got with a sea view, while ordering a double standard. I think that some notes about this hotel are really harsh and unjustified. This is a really nice 4 star hotel, on my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We returned from this fantastic hotel yesterday and could not fault it at all except the location, staff is very polite and courteous and the hotel is lovely and clean. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, we had a double superior room, this room has a bigger balcony than the standard rooms, and we had an amazing view of the sea, if you book the standard room the balcony is a lot smaller and the view is of the town. The rooftop swimming pool is lovely and should you require a drink or food whilst relaxing there is the opportunity to purchase this too, the food is excellent, reasonably priced and great portion sizes. Breakfast consists of a variety of different bread, toast, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, bacon, beans, sausages and scrambled eggs, the restaurant (Antonios) is extremely pleasant and also has amazing sea views and overlooks the casino. Additional facilities include a fantastic indoor pool, gym, sauna and Jacuzzi, internet facilities, there is also the Rhapsody cafe should you require a much deserved drink or treat yourself to an ice cream desert, there is also internet facilities above the Rhapsody cafe but this costs 3 euros for 1 hour.
This hotel also has a beach across the road, however I would not recommend using it, broken glass bottles everywhere and is extremely dirty and dangerous, especially if you are wearing flip flops, there is a lovely beach however 5 minutes walk up the road from the Westin Dragonara hotel, this is St Georges bay. All in all the hotel was well worth every penny however the only reason we will not be returning is due to the location.
Although we wanted nightlife in the immediate vicinity we did not expect to be surrounded by extremely rude teenagers that have no care for anyone but themselves, the music is aimed at the 16 - 19 year old category (similar to what you would experience in Ayia Napa) the music is the same in every bar, (R&B, trance and hip hop) being 38 and 40 we did not appreciate this especially as we had read that the music was a variety and also 80's, there was 1 bar that did 60’s to 90’s music (Flashback bar) and this is only open on a Friday and Saturday night. However we found a fantastic karaoke bar called Corks (Irish bar) which we went to every night after we had discovered it (3 days into the holiday!), is has just a great atmosphere and definitely worth a visit, this is located on the road to the right as you look at Burger King, follow this road down past the telephone boxes on the right and Estillo on the left Corks is on the left hand side a little further up. Zara and Don serve up the best food and drink and Neil is one of the best karaoke hosts, they are all extremely welcoming and get everyone in the bar involved with entertainment, by the end of the evening you feel as if you have known these people all your life and it is a real shame to have to say bye to them.
They will totally go out of their way to make your holiday a memorable one, by far the best bar in the whole of Paceville, hence why we spent so much time here, the food is also excellent and reasonably priced (unlike most places in Paceville!) on some evenings they have a live artist so always something for everyone here as well as a mix of age groups, there is also a pool table should you require it.
Do not take in to account any negative remarks about the Golden Tulip that you read on here, this made us a little uneasy and when we arrived thought we had been dropped off at the wrong hotel! I don't know how anyone can say this hotel is horrible; it is one of the best we have stayed in and well deserves its 4 star category if not more, it took me 3 months of research to find a decent hotel in Paceville at the best price (and i used to be a travel agent!), after seeing some of the other hotels I was looking to book I am so glad that we picked this one as it was by far the best in Paceville.
I would highly recommend it and I am very fussy!
I wish we could move this hotel to Paphos and we would definately be returning, however Malta is definately off our return list as we can seen all we needed to in the week we was there, however we could have spent a fortnight in Corks Irish Bar as they was like family.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PartyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Definately not worthy of four stars, more like two. Noisy/no air con. Dirty shower curtain and grey net curtain at window with holes in. Very expensive to buy water/wine etc with half board evening meal, everything timed by two on bill when checking out. Food cold and barely edible each night. Fresh fruit juice 2.5 euros extra, fried egg 2.5 euros extra at breakfast with soft stale cereal constantly topped up not replaced and tinned fruit salad constantly topped up. Waiters/waitresses very lazy, not clearing away dirty platesand very surly. Mold on ceiling of bathroom where panel had fallen down. Shower head holder broken and not adjustable, absolutely filthy tolet brush (black). No bulb in floor lamp.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janette186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Cold crew off the hotel Vivaldi, thay are doing everything like robots..Nothing kindly and frendly and worm.... Also we reserved room with the see wiew, we got the avarage rooms with look at the youth hostel walls:( Breakfast was during 14 days the same every day ... every day same salami, same cheese, even croisants were the same every day. Restaurant on the top off the hotel closed till noon, but the pool on the rooh near the restaurant was "working" yet in the morning - nonsense, you couldnt drink even a cup off coffe.... And so one, so one... Malta is amazing and we will go again , but in to hotel Vivaldi never again....

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,888 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3141, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#13 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £56 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel - International Standards, local flavours. An unmatched option for business and leisure travellers in the heart of Malta's popular district, St. Julian's. Situated very close to the sparkling sea, the hotel promises stunning views and a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere. It is also very close to a number of amenities including the casino, cinema, bowling alley, tennis courts, shops, restaurants and banks. The hotel has 263 elegant rooms - many with panoramic sea views. We offer three dining options within the hotel - Antonio's , our main restaurant, Rhapsody Cafe and Settimo Cielo - our rooftop a la carte eatery which is open during the summer. Thanks to the magical atmosphere of our roof deck and our excellent in house facilities, we are proud to be a top choice for business meetings, functions & Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Saint Julians
Saint Julians Golden Tulip
Vivaldi Hotel Malta
Golden Tulip Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing