We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny stay at the Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Just returned from 4 beautiful days in Malta. It was our first trip to the Westin, although we have stayed at the Juliani, Hilton, and Meridien St Julians on other trips to Malta. The Westin compared favourably, but the Hilton remains our favourite overall.
We were a group of 6 coming to celebrate my mother and brother in laws birthdays. On arrival we had a lovely greeting by front desk and check in was pretty efficient considering there were 6 of us. I felt that the lobby area had been well maintained and there was a lovely view from the terrace.
We had booked the executive rooms which were large and comfortable. My only slight disappointment was the room didnt get the sun, but my parents room on the opposite side did. I didnt ask to change the room but I'm sure they would have been accommodating had I asked. The view over the sea was stunning though.
The executive lounge was a relaxing space but it could have been improved by a bigger choice of soft drinks and maybe a member of staff to make fresh coffees rather than a machine. The 6pm to 8pm canapes and drinks were nice though.
They arranged some cocktails for us in the lounge for a birthday surprise which was lovely and my mother and brother in law received a bottle of wine and card which was a special touch.
The concierge were very helpful and friendly and quick in organising restaurant reservations and spas.
My main disappointment was the breakfast in the terrace restaurant. The variety looked great but things didnt taste that good. The omelette mix tasted very strange and bitter, the pastries were rather stale and didnt seem fresh. The pancakes werent very nice either. The fruits and bread were nice.
The gym was very well equipped but was very hot, could have done with cranking up the AC!
Aside from the b/fast we all had a wonderful stay here and would stay here again.


Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank hotbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear hotbid,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Your comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the management team for further improvement. It is thanks to this feedback that we can continue to improve on our service.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Should you be planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,997 - 2,003 of 3,515 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Just returned from a super 5 day stay at the exceptional Westin Dragonara. This hotel was recommended to us by someone who works in the UK for the Maltese Tourist Board and we were very grateful for that. The hotel answered emails prior to arrival most promptly and professionally, including the arrangements for a taxi pick-up (21 euro’s). We had booked a Tower Room and asked for the best possible view, with sun retained in the afternoon. Although the sun preference did not materialise, the 270 degree view from our 4th floor Tower Room was exceptionally stunning. Additionally the multitude of areas (and sun-beds) to enjoy what was perfect weather for this time of year made up for any lack of sun on the huge balcony. The area down the steps from the pool area with the water lapping against the rocks was total chill-out.

From arrival, the one thing that stood out was the genuine customer service. The welcoming smiles seemed natural to all employees and all of our requests for information were met with quality responses. A fantastic gesture on our first night was a signed letter and bottle of wine/goodies from the General Manager hoping all was well with the hotel – it certainly was! The room itself was so spacious, with 2 supremely comfortable beds. Nothing to complain about whatsoever from beginning to end.

There seemed to be a fair spread of nationalities booked at the Westin and a corporate event with a large number of guests was in evidence, but this did not affect us in any way. There were a few pretentious and unfriendly guests who seemed to think it was beneath themselves to return a friendly smile or good morning (the ‘’we stay in 5 star hotels all round the world’’ brigade), but this criticism certainly doesn’t extend to any hotel employee.

When staying on a room only basis we prefer where possible to explore the locality for restaurants and bars. There is no shortage within walking distance, with budgets to suit all pockets, all tastes and all ages. The two restaurants across the road from the main entrance (Aroma and Shivas) were very enjoyable. People we spoke to who had used the hotel restaurants had nothing but glowing reports to offer.

In summary, we would strongly pass on a recommendation to all concerned. This is a quality hotel, both in terms of the facilities and the exemplary service. We will definitely return here.

Room Tip: The Tower Rooms are excellent. North block facing towards the Casino are virtually by the sea front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clifftours_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanBorg, Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Clifftours_7,

Allow me to thank you for the time taken to share your experience with fellow travellers, for your recommendation and great comments.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the tower room and our famous heavenly beds.

Looking very forward to welcome you back to our resort in the future, should you be planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on jonathan.borg@westin.com

Be well
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have stayed with my husband for few days at the Westin and really enjoyed it. Our son is studing enlish in Malta so we came to visit him and to have a small break too. The room was spacious, very clean and full of light. Very good service and all staff is very friendly as well as all people in Malta. We made nice friends at the hotel too like Malkom and Olga, they were very helpful and also Olga spoke in russian to us so it felt like home even if we spoke some english it was easier to get recomendations and advice. Charles at breakfast was always helpful and smiling which was a good start of the day. John at the Lobby bar was very helpfull and always with a smile. We went once on the bus around Malta and it was very nice as we could see a lot of places in just few hours. Will recommend this hotel to our family and friends as its the best in the area that is full of restaurants, next to the sea and city. What else would you need?

Room Tip: We had room that was looking to Sliema but had very good seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IVRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear IVRus,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Allow me to thank you in particular for mentioning my colleagues and their helpfulness, it is always very motivating to read these comments.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the future

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Firstly i would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the hotel in making our stay memorable!! The following persons who went that extra mile for us were, Cedrik at the front reception. He gave us an exceptional welcome and he was very helpful in every way. Joseph the porter was brilliant, he seemed to have the answer for all our questions relating to our travel needs. Rowan and John at the piano bar area were very attentative to us, they were very helpful and very welcoming.I would also like to thank Stephanie for her help on a matter that she dealt with in a professional way. The breakfast selection certainly met our needs! I would recommend eating at the Quadro restaurant every meal was superb!! Martin(apologies if this is not his name) really looked after us!
The hotel itself was very clean. I would recommend if you want the best view to book a tower room! The Hotel Decor is amazing and had lovely rooms.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing chilled out break especially that i am 26 weeks pregnant!!

Room Tip: Tower Room 777 has the best view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahshiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanBorg, Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear sarahshiels,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay on the Islands.

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience and thank you so much for the motivating comments. Glad to read that you have found the hotel to be fabulous and that you had a memorable stay with us.

Looking very forward to welcome you back to the resort in the future

Be well
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Spent a week in Bay View Suite. Accommodation very good. Heavenly bed superb. Worth coming just for the sleep. Superlative service throughout. Food in loung, particularly recommeded. A few shortcomings on exterior condition, particularly in en suite garden area with dilapidated furniture and very poor condition lawn. Requested meet with Manager, Jonathan Borg, to express concerns. He was not only immediately available but extremely empathetic, assuring us that the items to which is attention had been drawn would be addressed immediately.

Room Tip: Go for the Bay View Suite - it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonandshul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear jonandshul,

Many thanks for your comments following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Gladly we read that you have enjoyed the accommodation. The heavenly beds are indeed superb.

Trust we will welcome you back to the resort in the future. Should you be planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a weekend break. The room was azaming. we used the bay view suite luxioury, it had to bedrooms living room and kitchen,very modern. view from all over the room was sea view. Amazing view from one of the bedrooms in the morning( see the sun rise) its like i was on top of the water it was soo close. Best room ever! the staff of the hotel were super helpful and kind.When i needed something i had it right away. We had breakfast in the room and it was delicious. food was still hot, the stay had everything prepared on the table, so i just got out of bed and ate :) I have stayed in a number of 5 star hotels in malta but none of them have the service & view as the westin dragonara. Would definetely visit again :) 10/10.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keithbalzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Keithbalzan,

Thank you so much for your great comments following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

The luxury BaySuites are indeed amazing, with a separate living room to the bedroom and kitchen facilities. These rooms are indeed a couple of metres away from the sea and thus have wonderful sea views.

We delightfully read that you had a great stay and that you would definitely stay again. Should you be planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Excellent hotel with first class facilities. Professional and helpful staff. In a good area with plenty of places to eat. Only issue which is typical of resort hotels is the number of loud groups drinking around the pool (in this case all Brits) disturbing your peace, but are otherwise generally harmless.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeandMary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear JoeandMary1,

Thank you for your comments following your stay.

We gladly read that you have found the hotel to be excellent with first class facilities.

Once again thank you for sharing your Westin Dragonara Resort experience and we look forward to welcome you back

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £106 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing