We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,825)
Filter reviews
3,825 results
Traveller rating
2,411
988
259
107
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,411
988
259
107
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower room quadro restaurant reef club terrace restaurant lobby bar robert vella kids club sea view executive club special thanks indoor pool large balcony fantastic hotel five star hotel private beach st julians sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
1,710 - 1,715 of 3,825 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very disappointed with the Westin Dragonara. I have just got back from a 3 day visit in which I have never slept so badly.

I think the management are saving money on maintenance. The air conditioning in our Junior suite was awful, despite maintenance trying to fix it. (I suspect they turn it off halfway through the night to save money). The daily excuse was "maybe you didn't shut the balcony doors properly"?, which we did. When we arrived late at night, there was nothing in the mini-bar. The pillows were cheap- low quality. Dud batteries in the remote control for the tv, the bathroom smelt- all small things, but together they point to a poorly maintained, "grab the profit" hotel.

We found the food very expensive for what it was- very average, mostly reheated, and the general feeling was the hotel trying to fleece you out of every single penny once you were there- so WIFI in the rooms cost €7 per hour (compared to €5 for 5 hours in the hotel opposite The Corinthia- we could pick up the Corinthia WIFI signal but unfortunately couldn't buy tokens to log in online). The room was still being cleaned at 5.30 in the afternoon.

There was a conference on, and they shut off one of the pools and all of the lido areas for the entire duration of our stay (would be nice if they informed you in advance), plus the restaurant downstairs was closed for the conference except for breakfast- so it was lobby bar or room service if you wanted to eat in.

There's not much for kids to do, despite them marketing themselves as a family hotel. The one bit by the sea that was open and not taken up by the fashion show was covered in broken glass. I could go on and on- a complete disaster of a holiday in Malta.

The staff are very good- that I will say. But when you haven't had any sleep for 3 nights in a stuffy room with a wind blower belching out humid air all night at volume 10, it doesn't register that much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank barcetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_kamsky, General Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear barcetrip,

Primarily, allow me to thank you for your feedback following your experience of the Westin Dragonara Resort.

With our deepest regrets we read that you did not enjoy a great experience at the resort. On behalf of my team, please accept our sincere apologies.

I read your comments with concern and have shared the points you have highlighted with key management. If it is not too much trouble, I kindly ask you to contact me directly with further details, like the specific room, so that we can look into your feedback with more details in hand.

May I take this opportunity to assure you, that guest satisfaction is one of our top priorities at the resort, and together with my team we work to continuously improve on our service and the product we offer to our guests. Once again, I thank you for your feedback and look forward to another possibility to welcome you back to the resort

Kind regards
Michael
General Manager
Michael.Kamsky@Westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had an amazing stay in this hotel, room is huge & clean, the breakfast is excellent and the beds are truly comfortable and relaxing. Nice hotel and good value of money. i like the area which is close to the center of st julians and contains lovley seaview.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Rodianne G,

Thank you for your review and comments.

The rooms at the Westin Dragonara Resort are indeed very spacious with the Deluxe Room measuring around 40sqm. The rooms at the resort are also equipped with the Heavenly Beds, which we are glad you have found comfortable and relaxing.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort. Should you be planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly, we look very forward in welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Stephanie
stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a very pleasant stay, staff was very helpful and cordial, from the reservation managers who did our check in and check outs to the chamber maids you see in the corridors. We stayed in one of the bay suits , room was amazing with some breathtaking views, all at a very reasonable price. We did not have the time to dine at one of the hotel restaurants but the breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Kevin P,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

Gladly we read that you had a pleasant stay at the resort and found our associates to be very helpful. Your motivating comments have been shared with the team.

Whilst thanking you again for your comments, we hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was our first trip to Malta and had been recommended by a friend to come here, we certainly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the deluxe double fantastic sea and pool view, large balcony could easily seat 4 comfortably. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful( especially Mario on the front desk who sorted an issue we had with the Hop on hop off bus). The breakfasts were plentiful with everything you could want even a glass of fizz with your breakfast , omelets made to order and fried eggs cooked to order.

Room Tip: Ask for sea and pool view as some of the sea views could be limited
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Sandra L,

We are glad to read in your review that you have enjoyed your first visit to the Island and stay at the resort.

As you have mentioned in your review, the buffet breakfast served at the Terrace Restaurant enjoys a wonderful selection of dishes, including the made to order omelettes as well as a Superfoods corner for healthy eating.

We thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers and look forward to welcome you back

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I was there for a conference and everybody from managers to housekeeping are outstanding professionals responding to every request or question in a blink of an ye ,very good breakfast outstanding rooms,nice restaurants good food at reasonable prices.Also very good for a holliday

Room Tip: In the south wing have a room at the poolside because off noise at the roadside if you sleep with open windows .
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhunPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear KhunPhilip,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are glad that you had a good stay during your visit for the conference. The resort offers various options for such conferences with a newly refurbished conference centre and different venues to hold food and beverage events.

Allow us to once again thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you back for another visit

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews