We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th stay at the Westin, great place, excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have visited Malta 12 times during the past six years, and the last 10 times we have stayed at the Westin Dragonara, and we will surely come back! The location is amazing. You have nice sea views from every room, but each time our choice has been a Tower room which provide really mind-blowing views and a private balcony perfect for sun bathing. The rooms are spacious and equipped with all amenities you would expect in a five-star hotel, and the beds are very comfortable (no wonder they call them Heavenly Beds). Since our last visits in 2012, the bay area facing the Casino had been nicely renovated (new surfacing, new palm trees and other plants etc.). It is now much more comfortable for sun bathing, and looks really good, too.

But it was again the staff whose expertise and friendliness surpassed all our expectations (which were already high based on our previous experience). We received great service starting from the booking and throughout our whole stay. Guys on the congierce desk always warmly greeted us and made us really feel welcome. Staff at the Terrace restaurant were extremely nice and ensured we were well looked after. And the food was superb! Room attendants were helpful and kept our room really clean. Staff at the lobby bar (Orvm) were outstanding. They are truly dedicated to their work, and extremely nice persons. Mainly because of them we visited the Orvm almost every night. They always had time to talk to us and other customers, even when the bar was crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelsinkiSmileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear HelsinkiSmileys,

Thank you for your comments and for your loyalty in choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort when visiting the Maltese Islands.

We are very happy to read in your review that you have enjoyed your 10th stay at the resort and that you enjoy the resort’s facilities. Thank you for your comments regarding our associates, it is very motivating to read such feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Westin Dragonara Resort

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 3,483 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Westin. It was a wonderfully relaxing break. Our room (a Deluxe Seaview room 642) was perfect with the best view you could ask for over the pool and the sea. The room was very big for a European hotel and the bed so comfortable. We spent most of our time at the hotel. The area behind the pool at the sea's edge is lovely and quiet as the children tend to be in the main pool area. Stepping directly into the sea was great. The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and friendly. We were given fresh bottles of water in our room every day, and a welcome bottle of wine on our first night. The hotel is ideally situated on a quite peninsula but only a two minute walk to the many restaurants around. Spinola Bay is well worth the short walk for the lovely setting for dinner. We enjoyed the Casino on a couple of nights. We would definitely visit again in the future.

Room Tip: It seems that all rooms would have a lovely view - ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsed2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear mrsed2009,

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed a relaxing break at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

As you have well mentioned in your review, the rooms at the resort are indeed very spacious, with our Deluxe Room measuring around 40sqm. The resort has in all the guest rooms, the Heavenly Beds, which we are glad to know that you have found comfortable.

Thank you for your comments and for sharing with us your experience at the resort. We look forward to welcome you back to our resort in the future. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for over a week and enjoyed our stay. The location is beautiful, the staff very nice (the concierge even checked in for our returnfilight) and the food in the hotel is very good and price/quality is excellent. The Reef club and pool was closed when we were there but the pool and the sea (where it is nice to snorkel) are sufficient, with kids. When it is a bit cold you can always use the indoorpool as well. I would definitely rank this as five stars, but there are some points to improve. Tiles in the pool are not all fixed, the bathrooms at the pool could be cleaner and in the gym they should have disinfectant for the machine, but for the rest very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank versteje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear versteje,

Allow us to thank you for your feedback following your visit.

Gladly we note that you have enjoyed your stay and the location of the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Your notes have been well noted and shared with our team. I invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com, should you wish to provide us with more details on your experience at the resort.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A really good hotel just by the seaside! Rooms are lovely, food good, location is seriously mind blowing. The two restaurants are lovely, their food scrumptious and service brilliant! I went swimming in both the nice warm indoor pool with relaxing jacuzzi, then swimming in the lovely reef and finding shells by the beach, watching the calm waves gently roll up on the beach... Unmissable experience! I recommend this hotel however the hotel rooms' bathrooms are a little run down, their toilets are kinda hard to flush and in my room, the tap was a little broken. But you do have to go to the lobby or the Executive lounge (only for guests on floor 7 and 8) for wifi. Guess they want you to be up and about, not slouched on your bed, eyes glued to a iPad screen. Overall a very good hotel, really nice people and location. Thanks!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Jason W,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the resort.

As you have very well mentioned the Westin Dragonara Resort enjoys a great location. The resort is situated on a peninsula, enjoying great sea views and direct access to the Mediterranean Sea. Nevertheless, the resort is very close to the centre of St. Julian’s.

Gladly we read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the resort’s facilities. Your feedback regarding the bathrooms has been well noted and we invite you to contact us directly with further information so that we can further look into the comments you have highlighted.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Be well
Stephanie
stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Excellent Westin hotel and very friendly, helpful staff. In-room internet is too expensive but at least it's fast. When we arrived via nearby "two streets of hell", we thought big mistake. But turn left out of Dragonara and walk down to St Julien's harbour and all is transformed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Brian W,

Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcome you back to the resort

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel whilst on a Business trip and thought it was excellent.
Staff were very helpful to any needs I had and the food in the restaurant was amazing. Rooms are a very good size and have all things you would need. I had a stunning sea view too!

Malta as a whole is a beautiful, very British location (same plugs as uk, Arriva buses and drive on same side as us). The only difference was the weather that was very not British! 27°c in October and humid!

My only negative is by the hotel there are no beaches, I understand near the north there may be one but otherwise it's sheer edges into the sea (you use swimming pool steps to go into the sea!) So not very child friendly I felt.

That said, the hotel itself had a gorgeous swimming pool and was only a 10 min walk to a local shops, resaurants and bars.

Valetta is definitely worth a visit too. The harbour there was amazing, sadly we didn't have time to see it all.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank FlippinMental30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear FlippinMental30,

Thank you for your time to share with fellow travellers your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We gladly read that you had an excellent experience at the resort and that you have enjoyed the Maltese Islands.

The rooms at the resort are indeed very spacious, with the Deluxe Rooms measuring around 40sqm.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort. We look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a great hotel and the room was spectacular. It is a Weston and so the level of quality is there but you will also pay a la carte for many services like wifi and breakfast. The area of San Julian is a 20 minute bus ride to Valetta and the bus is a great value. There are many clubs and restaurants in San Julian but we found the best food to be at the Weston Dragonara. The Tower Rooms have a 270° view of the ocean and the terraces are as big as the room (which are very large). This is a very comfortable hotel and the concierge service is the best we've ever experienced anywhere. These guys really know what's going on and they will not steer you wrong.
The Hotel is large and consequently the bar and the restaurants can fill up fast but overall we had a great time here.
The spa, by the way is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear romenet,

We are glad to read in your review that you had a great time at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

As you have rightly mentioned the resort enjoys a great location being close to the centre of St. Julian’s whilst sitting on a peninsula enjoying great sea views. These views can be well admired from the Tower Rooms which enjoy a very spacious terrace.

Thank you for sharing your experience at the resort with fellow travellers and for mentioning our concierge team for their professionalism.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,821 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £114 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing