We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Nearby Hotels
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Meridien St. Julians(Saint Julian's)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The George Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Valentina(Saint Julian's)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Juliani(Saint Julian's)
US$220
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,628)
Filter reviews
3,628 results
Traveller rating
2,290
935
244
102
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,290
935
244
102
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower roomquadro restaurantterrace restaurantlobby barrobert vellakids clubsea viewexecutive clubspecial thanksindoor poollarge balconyfantastic hotelfive star hotelprivate beachsun loungersst juliansplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
1,525 - 1,530 of 3,628 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Everything is perfect for me. The room is big, the quality of bed and linen is good also. the lobby is quite good. Unfortunately I came on winter....., I can not use the outdoor pool.
You have to buy water at the gym.., the don't provide water dispenser.
There is one restaurant at their area (outside the hotel), I really enjoyed it, except the portion is too big for Asian people,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Martha C,

We are very happy to note in your comments that you have enjoyed your visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

The rooms at the resort are indeed very spacious, with the Deluxe Rooms measuring around 40sqm. Our guest rooms are also all equipped with the famous Heavenly Bed.

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience at the resort with fellow travellers. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Really nice hotel, food was great, staff very friendly and helpful and in a good location. Only downside was the private beach was being renovated so we couldn't use it and wifi only free in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 681rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear 681rob,

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

As you have rightly mentioned in your comments, the resort indeed has a great location, close to the centre of St. Julian’s whilst situated on a peninsula enjoying great sea views.

We gladly note that you have enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family and myself stayed overnight at the Westin Dragonara Resort between the 31st of December 2013 and the 1st of January 2014 for the New Year Celebrations. I had been to the hotel a number of times and have always been really pleased with the service. It seems however that standards keep rising and everything was absolutely top notch. From the service to the catering to the ambiance, things were spot on.

It is definitely my favorite 5 star resort/hotel in the area and wouldn't hesitate to go again.

Room Tip: If you can get yourself a room with a sea view, it is absolutely beautiful there. Then again, the pool area is pretty idyllic also and the rooms overlooking this area are not missing out.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 95EricW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear 95EricW,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the resort.

Happily we note in your comments that you have enjoyed your visit for the New Year’s Celebrations.

We thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort and look forward to welcome you back.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed six nights over Christmas and had a relaxing, peaceful time. Christmas is a magical time to visit Malta - there were nativity scenes all over the island and even in people's windows, which thoroughly delighted the kids. It wasn't the warmest Christmas (17C on Christmas day, but wind and rain many of the other days), but it was perhaps less crowded with tourists as a result.

We stayed in a junior suite with two queen size beds, and a little sitting area around the corner with sofa and extra TV, which was well worth it. The beds were comfortable and we had the added bonus of two balconies with views over the sea and the bay opposite.

The bathroom was a good size and clean, but could have done with a spot of renovation. There were a few watermarks here and there and the toilet flush had a small leak each time the toilet was flushed. When the maintenance man came to repair it, we were informed that he had to look for a replacement unit. The flush was never repaired but after it became clear that the whole bathroom would not be flooded - this proved to be only a minor irritation. The only other slight irritation was that they switch the hotel's air conditioning from cool to heat in November until around May, which meant that the room did get quite warm in the evenings (this is personal taste and may have suited some residents). Apart from these two small issues, everything else was great!

We were staying on a room only basis, this meant that we had the luxury of ordering breakfast in the room on a few occasions which we proceeded to have on our balcony. An experience that the whole family enjoyed! We visited most of the restaurants in the hotel and they were very good. We had a particularly enjoyable Christmas buffet in the hotel, which we did not pre-book. However, the staff went out of the way to accommodate us at the buffet (which was fully booked) as we were hotel residents.

I think this sums up the essence of what makes this a great hotel - the staff went out of the way to help you. Right from the friendly and efficient check-in (where Anna should get a special mention), thorugh to the concierge trying to find us alternative restuarants at Christmas, through to the staff in the lobby bar who arranged breakfast for us there, even though it was not being served. All the staff went out of the way to help us. As an indication of how much the whole family enjoyed themselves, our eldest daughter refused to leave the hotel when we had to check out!

I would definitely recommend the hotel to others visiting Malta!

Room Tip: The junior suites are great with families, and provide two balconies and a little sitting area which can be used whilst the kids are asleep.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tired_travelling_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Tired_travelling_dad,

Allow us to thank you for your time to share with us your comments following your visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are happy to notice that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at the resort and in Malta.

The rooms at the resort all enjoy a balcony, and indeed, the Junior Suite enjoys the luxury of two balconies, where we gladly read you have enjoyed breakfast on a couple of days. Your feedback regarding the bathroom has been well noted, and we invite you to contact us directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com, with further details. This will certainly help us to look more deeply into the notes you have highlighted.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort. We look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful stay at the Westin Dragonara. It's located right on the water, and since we had the sea view room, our view was phenomenal! The balcony was huge, with comfortable furniture and endless views of the Mediterranean Sea. The room was spacious as well, especially by European standards. It was clean, modern and very comfortable. I did a lot of research before going, I wasn't sure if Malta would be "fun" enough for us (we're both 29 and love going out)...but worry not my friends! St Julian has a crazy bar/club scene, almost as good as South Beach/Vegas etc. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to everything, and yet far enough so you don't get any noise from the street.
We also ate at the lobby bar and Palio restaurant. The food was delicious, and the seafood was divine!
Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the Westin. We've stayed at many luxury resorts in the Caribbean and Mexico, and this was at par with them, in my opinion. I would have given the resort 5 stars, if they offered free wifi. I didn't really need to use wifi anyway, I don't like using my phone while on vacation :) BUT, in this day and age, charging for wifi is just criminal! But other than that, it really is a perfect place to stay in Malta. Beautiful country with the nicest people! Thank you for a wonderful stay! We'll be back for sure :)

PS--upgrade to the seaview room with the balcony, worth every penny!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear roshan84,

Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

As you have rightly mentioned, the resort enjoys a great location. The Westin Dragonara Resort is set on a peninsula, thus enjoying the great sea views, whilst being located only minutes away from the centre of St. Julian’s.

We are glad to read in your review that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and on the Maltese Islands and look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews