We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“engagement (sunday lunch)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
1 review
“engagement (sunday lunch)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Thanks to the staff my one time event for my engagement was truly served excellent by the staff and it was done as me and my girlfriend dreamt it to be. all our guests were happy and satisfied by the service they were give, the ample of choice they had for the several mouth watering dishes were endless. clearing up the tables as soon as we were ready eating was immediate! and best of all while we were still planning how and what to do during our event, Charlot (the terrace manager) helped us with true dedication and loyalty. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josef c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear josef c,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for this special occasion and for your comments following this visit.

We are very happy to know that the event was as you have dreamt it and that all your guests were happy with the service and the selection of dishes available.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,045
    845
    224
    92
    49
See reviews for
1,022
1,164
87
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel and restaurants were great! The morning breakfast was quite good, The concierge was very very helpful, assisted us with taxis, drivers, turning in our rental car (it was a manual transmission, gearshift on left side, everything opposite of what I was used to, I'm amazed I drove it without hitting anything, being not used to driving like the English, only with narrow roads, unsure of if I was driving the wrong way). Staff was very friendly! My only complaint was that the free wifi in the lobby kept having me re-login every hour, but it's a minor complaint, more a very minor annoyance. I would stay here again, and I hope to in another year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marct22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear marct22,

We are happy to read in your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and plan to return to the Westin Dragonara Resort when visiting Malta.

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers and for choosing the resort for your stay on the Island.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

As a result of an important conference held in Malta we stayed in this resort owned by the Westing chain.

The property is conveniently located in the St. Julian area, close to many trendy restaurants, bars and shopping venues.

The people at the reception as well as the whole personnel were always very efficient, polite, informative and helpful. They indeed contributed to a great stay.

The room on the 4th floor off the South wing has sea views, a lovely balcony and two comfortable double beds, minibar and a flat TV with good channels. The bathroom was standard size and has a serious problem getting damp/flooded every time you took a shower.

The Hotel has 3 restaurants, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, along with a gym, hair saloon, shops, business center and bars. The shops are worth visiting if you would like to buy Maltese handcrafts or clothing. The two boutiques located on the side of the Hotel offer clothes for all occasions and you can find great sale items.

The food in the Quadro Restaurant, was great in spite of the slow service that night (see separate review)

The only comment we had was with the WIFI internet connection. It was free in the lobby but by a fee in the rooms. We bought a fast Premium connection for 24 hrs for 19 euros, a little bit steep if you compare the same kind of product with other hotels. The connection was easy and very reliable.

However, the free connection in the lobby was poor and kept logging you out after some minutes of inactivity, requesting you to introduce again every validation code. It was really annoying, especially if you are trying to check-in or submit any forms.

Breakfast was fresh and offered a wide range of yummy options. However my husband was of the opinion that there was nothing special about it, it was almost average. He asked me if there is something that I will remember about it, and in true honesty, the answer is no.

We really loved our stay in Malta. It is such a beautiful country to enjoy and the Westin Dragonara has a great location. However, we are wondering if we would be back there or just try one of the other great options around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaquitalekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Vaquitalekker,

Allow us to thank you for your feedback following your stay with us.

The Westin Dragonara Resort indeed enjoys a great location close to the centre of St. Julian’s and few minutes away from the public bus stop.

Gladly we note that you have enjoyed your visit at the resort and look very forward to welcome you back should you return to the Islands. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com for any accommodation arrangements.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had standard double room with a sea view and breakfast included. The hotel profess to think responsibly; room bins are designed for recycling. For those who forgo housekeeping 5 euros per day can be donated to UNICEF (or claimed against expenses or as loyalty points). We chose the "Green option" every other day and had plenty of clean towels, tea and coffee it was no hardship,
On our 30th Wedding Anniversary, we returned to our room to find a fantastic chocolate cake compliments of the Management which was a wonderful surprise.
The restaurants at the hotel cater for most tastes, we tried each restaurant, the food was of excellent quality but opening hours were limited at some of them at the time of our stay. The breakfasts were enough to keep us going all day. There is also a good choice of local restaurants, some more expensive than others, we found a lovely little Maltese restaurant hidden away by the water, there were locals eating there, the food was good and reasonably priced.
The weather was poor during our stay and it was out of season, so it was quiet.
There is not much culture or history in St Julian's but the hotel is located a few minutes walk from the public bus stop. Bus tickets for 1.50 euros per day or 6.50 euros per week will give you as many bus journeys as you like all around the Island. The bus service is good although crowded at peak times. If you prefer there are plenty of tours, tourist buses or car hire.
Our experience was that the staff were all friendly, professional and helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the South side, on level 4. If it had been high season I would have liked a room higher u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexPeregrinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear EssexPeregrinus,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

At the resort, indeed, we offer our guests to ‘Make a Green Choice’ and forgo housekeeping services for the day. This, together with other initiatives, is a contribution to conserve the environment, and we are happy that you have chosen to participate in this initiative.

We thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort for your visit on the Maltese Islands, and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Overall quite good. What you would expect from Westin. Large room, large bed. Everything is good condition and working order. The hotel is by the sea and has nice views. Good location in Saint Julian. About 15 min drive from Valletta and maybe 20 minutes from the airport. Large hotel / resort. Not a huge amount of charm, but high standard and quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSur707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear BigSur707,

Thank you for your time to share your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

We are glad that you had a good stay at the resort and appreciated the great sea views and location which the hotel enjoys.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort and invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com should you be planning a return visit to the Islands.

Best Regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a great room with sea views. The location was perfect, very quiet considering it is in the heart of the Paceville district, set back from the street does help! ( however given that this was March , it might be noisier at other times of the year) The fitness room is very extensive although some of the equipment is a little old and faded. The swimming pool was lovely.
The customer service was excellent- very responsive. Pam in the breakfast room was pleasant and very accommodating . I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakchick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Kayakchick2014,

We are very happy to read in your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and that should you return to the Island, you would return to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

As you have mentioned, the resort enjoys a wonderful location, close to the centre of St. Julian’s and overlooking great sea views.

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay on the Maltese Islands and for your time to share your comments.

We look forward to welcome you back!

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington (uk)
Level Contributor
173 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at the Westin Dragonara for New Year and had a mixed experience. Firstly I must point out that whilst the view is nice (if you get a sea view room) the area of St Julian’s or Paceville to be more specific is not a pleasant area to be in. This is the drirty, tacky, night club, Brits abroad drunken chavfest area of town. Don’t get me wrong the hotel is not like that at all it is the surrounding area that's not great.

Once inside the hotel is really smart, the rooms were spacious and the leisure facilities pretty good, although the changing rooms could do with a bit of smartening up. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice and eggs cooked to order which is always welcome.

During the stay we had a news dinner at the Palios restaurant and this is where the problems started. The food was very good for the adults but four our daughter we were offered fish fingers or chicken nuggets. The issue is when we booked well in advance we were lead to believe that the children had the same menu as adults only half portions at half the price. That's one of the reasons we chose to have dinner in the hotel so that we could all have a nice meal not to have the kids eating junk food which so many restaurants patronise them with! (And we wonder why kids grow up with unhealthy eating habits?). We raised this concern with the restraunt manager and eventually he said he would let us have what was promised and waive the charges for my daughter as an apology. This was fine for us and indeed a nice gesture we had a good night and then signed cheque at the end and thought no more. It was on checkout when the problem occurred.

At checkout we found that the full price was on the bill, despite signing for the reduced amount offered. We raised this with the lady on the desk who contacted the restaurant to discuss or query and then informed us that Palios restaurant never agreed to anything of the sort. We challenged this and then were told to wait while the restaurant manager headed over to see us. We had to wait 30 minutes for him to turn up. Straight away without us saying a word he went into a rant about how we misunderstood him on the night etc., I asked how come the slip we signed had a different amount to what was on the bill and he could not answer but would not back down. At this point a lady was walking past reception when the lady on reception said to the restraint manager be quiet "she's over there". The next thing the lady came over seems she was one of the hotel senior managers. Within minutes she resolved the problem for us and overrode the restaurant manager. The point is we had 40-50 minutes of nonsense to have a simple problem resolved. The point is how can someone say one thing and even remove something from the bill and then point blank deny several days later.

During our stay we used the spa facilities which were really good and I stayed on for conference which was generally well organised. My only complaint here was about how the staff in the business centre closely monitor the coffee machines to make sure you only have coffee at designated times.

During the conference stay we did use one of the other restaurants (next to Palios) I cannot remember the name and that was first class for food and service.

So overall this is a nice hotel but some staff are lacking in basic customer service skills and clearly need training to improve standards!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graemeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear graemeboro,

Allow us to thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Your comments have been shared with our team and we appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your experience. We regret to read that we did not manage to meet your expectations during this visit and we sincerely apologise for the areas where we fell short. The items you have highlighted have been shared with our team, as it is though these comments that we can continue to improve on the service we offer.

Gladly we read that you have enjoyed your dinner at the Quadro Restaurant and the hotel’s facilities.

We do hope that in the future we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort where you can experience the great service we are generally known for. Should you be planning a return visit I invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com, we will be happy to assist you with any accommodation arrangements.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Property: The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Starwood EMEA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing