We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay and great service at the front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Mellieha, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay and great service at the front desk”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

it was my first stay at the westin last Tuesday... was greeted by a very friendly and super-helpful Aaron Axisa who was at the front desk...the room as lovely and the room service and and everything else was great. Enjoyed every second of our stay. Definitely 5 star, highly recommended and il be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear John M,

Thank you for your review following your first stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort and for mentioning Aaron for his friendliness and helpfulness, we are indeed very happy that he is part of our team.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and look very forward to seeing you again at the resort

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    879
    228
    94
    50
See reviews for
1,077
1,210
89
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The service and friendliness of the hotel staff was superb. It made all the difference to our short stay. We had an executive suite for 2, first night on 7th floor.. Then moved to 8th floor as the room next-door unfortunately stunk our room up with smoke! The hotel staff were very understanding and did their best to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Facilities at the hotel are fantastic. Not sure what's it's like at peak time, but when we were there, it didn't feel overcrowded even with a few large tour groups hanging around. We had the help of a great concierge who helped us book excursions and transfer buses. It's just what you would expect from a 5* resort - polite staff, spectacular views of the ocean, clean and comfortable rooms, great restaurants on site and very close to pubs/bars/nightlife in town. Would not hesitate to stay again if we have another opportunity.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annyml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear annyml,

Thank you for your time to share with us your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Gladly we read that you have enjoyed the resort’s facilities and restaurants. Indeed, the resort offers great dining options.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I am writing a new review, as the previous one was sensored by TripAdvisor as a not first hand experience. I would like to comment the Front Desk Service in Westin hotel and not the actual stay, as I didnt manage due to bad service from their Front Desk.
Went recently to get a quotation for a business meeting with a room booking food drinks etc and I had to wait more than 20min to get serviced as there was a group checking out. Then I was reffered to an supervisor responsible for the Business Meetings. I described what I needed (a meeting room for 20 people, foods and drinks, plus a suite room for 2 night) I gave all my details, business card etc but they didnt even bother to reply with a quotation.Just because a hotel is big doesnt mean that the service is good

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_kamsky, General Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Paako,

Thank you for your time to share with us your feedback following your quotation request at the resort.

We regret that this quotation did not reach you and we ask you to contact me directly with more details to allow me to look into the matter further.

At the Resort we value and appreciate all business and as such your comments come at a surprise.

We hope to hear from you very soon.

Michael C Kamsky
General Manager
Michael.kamsky@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We organized our sons second birthday party at the kids club at the Westin. The location is great if the weather is good there is even an outdoor area that the children can play in. Two animators made sure the children always had something to do and have fun. Food is great and sandwiches to go with the teas and coffees for the parents were delish. Very professionally and well served thank you :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Juanita A,

We are very happy to know that you had a great experience for your son’s second birthday party at the Kids Club.

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for this occasion and for your comments following your party.

We look forward to welcome you back

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Thanks to the staff my one time event for my engagement was truly served excellent by the staff and it was done as me and my girlfriend dreamt it to be. all our guests were happy and satisfied by the service they were give, the ample of choice they had for the several mouth watering dishes were endless. clearing up the tables as soon as we were ready eating was immediate! and best of all while we were still planning how and what to do during our event, Charlot (the terrace manager) helped us with true dedication and loyalty. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josef c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear josef c,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for this special occasion and for your comments following this visit.

We are very happy to know that the event was as you have dreamt it and that all your guests were happy with the service and the selection of dishes available.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel and restaurants were great! The morning breakfast was quite good, The concierge was very very helpful, assisted us with taxis, drivers, turning in our rental car (it was a manual transmission, gearshift on left side, everything opposite of what I was used to, I'm amazed I drove it without hitting anything, being not used to driving like the English, only with narrow roads, unsure of if I was driving the wrong way). Staff was very friendly! My only complaint was that the free wifi in the lobby kept having me re-login every hour, but it's a minor complaint, more a very minor annoyance. I would stay here again, and I hope to in another year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marct22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear marct22,

We are happy to read in your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and plan to return to the Westin Dragonara Resort when visiting Malta.

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers and for choosing the resort for your stay on the Island.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

As a result of an important conference held in Malta we stayed in this resort owned by the Westing chain.

The property is conveniently located in the St. Julian area, close to many trendy restaurants, bars and shopping venues.

The people at the reception as well as the whole personnel were always very efficient, polite, informative and helpful. They indeed contributed to a great stay.

The room on the 4th floor off the South wing has sea views, a lovely balcony and two comfortable double beds, minibar and a flat TV with good channels. The bathroom was standard size and has a serious problem getting damp/flooded every time you took a shower.

The Hotel has 3 restaurants, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, along with a gym, hair saloon, shops, business center and bars. The shops are worth visiting if you would like to buy Maltese handcrafts or clothing. The two boutiques located on the side of the Hotel offer clothes for all occasions and you can find great sale items.

The food in the Quadro Restaurant, was great in spite of the slow service that night (see separate review)

The only comment we had was with the WIFI internet connection. It was free in the lobby but by a fee in the rooms. We bought a fast Premium connection for 24 hrs for 19 euros, a little bit steep if you compare the same kind of product with other hotels. The connection was easy and very reliable.

However, the free connection in the lobby was poor and kept logging you out after some minutes of inactivity, requesting you to introduce again every validation code. It was really annoying, especially if you are trying to check-in or submit any forms.

Breakfast was fresh and offered a wide range of yummy options. However my husband was of the opinion that there was nothing special about it, it was almost average. He asked me if there is something that I will remember about it, and in true honesty, the answer is no.

We really loved our stay in Malta. It is such a beautiful country to enjoy and the Westin Dragonara has a great location. However, we are wondering if we would be back there or just try one of the other great options around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaquitalekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Vaquitalekker,

Allow us to thank you for your feedback following your stay with us.

The Westin Dragonara Resort indeed enjoys a great location close to the centre of St. Julian’s and few minutes away from the public bus stop.

Gladly we note that you have enjoyed your visit at the resort and look very forward to welcome you back should you return to the Islands. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com for any accommodation arrangements.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,687 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Property: The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing