We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Agreable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Almeria, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Agreable Hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I have just come back after spending a week in the hotel. The hotel is very well situated. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was perfect. Everything was very clean and well looked after. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Everybody, Aaron, Anna, and the others were of great help. The buffet breakfast was good and plentiful. The food in general very good. We really enjoyed our stay in Malta and were very happy to have chosen this magnificent hotel. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabelinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Isabelinca,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay on the Maltese Islands.

Happily we note that you have enjoyed your visit on the Island and the resort. Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers and for mentioning Aaron and Anna for their friendliness and helpfulness.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Should you plan a return visit, I invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com for any accommodation arrangements.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    879
    228
    94
    50
See reviews for
1,077
1,210
89
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel (again) for 4 nights in a Bay Suite which is a really nice flat with a fantastic sea view! Only drawback may be the lack of sun on the large balcony since it's heading north. However we didn't think it was a problem since we spent quite some time in the nice pool-area which wasn't crowded, maybe because it was early season (week after easter). Anyway, what we believe is the biggest asset at this hotel is the friendly and supportive staff and we would espacially like to mention Isabelle (lounge & lobby bar) and Manola (Hr!) for their great service and effort to get hold of the traditional Figolla. Looking forward for next time already, maybe enjoying a different beer brand ;-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Kemar61,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with fellow travellers.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and enjoyed spending time by the pool area. Thank you in particular for mentioning my colleagues for their great service. It is always wonderful to read such experiences from our guests.

We look very forward in welcoming you back to the Westin Dragonara Resort in the near future.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I think I would have loved this property if I visited in summer. I was here for a conference in April so it was very windy and too cold to sit by the nice pool. The view from the room was beautiful. I liked the gym - it has everything I could need. The service was amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingworkingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear travelingworkingmom,

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed the resort’s facilities and the view the Westin Dragonara Resort enjoys.

Thank you for sharing your review following your stay at the resort. We hope to welcome you back in warmer weather where you will be able to enjoy the outdoor pool areas.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Westin for 5 nights in April (Easter week) and had a very comfortable stay.

We had a deluxe room with 2 queen beds (for myself, my husband and our 2 young children) – the room was perfect for us: spacious, comfortable, nice bathroom and lovely but safe balcony. The room was meant to have sea view, but because we were staying in the North Wing, we were really overlooking the tennis and basketball courts and the Corinthia hotel and only had a partial sea view. That wasn’t a must for us, but I guess rooms that overlook the hotel swimming pool have a much better sea view – if that’s important for you, make sure you ask for one of those room.

The best asset for us was no doubt the indoor swimming pool (part of the fitness centre), which we didn’t even know the hotel had! We were worried that the outdoor swimming pool water would have been too cold to swim in, so this was perfect for us. It was always quite busy with families and children (so probably not great for those who just want a nice, undisturbed swim), but the area and facilities (including the Jacuzzi) are really good.

Customer service at reception and concierge was always very good, and we got some good tips and information (including maps) on the trips and locations that we were interested in. We were allowed to keep our luggage at the hotel for a few hours after checking out on the last day, and a taxi was booked for us to go to the airport.

Breakfast wasn’t included in our booking, but we were able to add it on at 16 euros per adult (children were free – our children are 2 and 5, but I’m not sure until what age breakfast is free for children?). The quality and variety of the food was very good – good value for money. The only thing is that it can get quite busy, and often tables are not made ‘fully’ up (with mugs, cutlery or serviettes missing), but it’s easy enough to ask and get the missing items. We found that everyone was also quite accommodating with the fact that we had young children walking around a lot or making a little bit of extra noise – in fact, staff were always on hand to offer the children sweets to try and distract them!

Food throughout the day is served in a very nice lounge on the ground floor – it’s almost like an evening lounge with coffee tables and armchairs / sofas to sit on, instead of tables and chairs. Although that’s very nice in the evening (with live piano being played), it can get quite busy, so it can be hard to find a space and to get prompt service. With young children, that wasn’t ideal for us as we had to wait a long time for orders to be taken and then for the drinks / food to be delivered. That’s why we preferred room service, which seemed to always have a 20-40 minute waiting time (which is ok if you’re in your room), and to be fair, they were always faster than what they quoted us, so that’s an added bonus. Personally, having to go vegetarian, we weren’t amazed by the quality of the food, but we had a very limited choice of food, so it’s not really fair for us to comment on the quality of the menu. Although we can say that the choice of vegetarian is quite limited, there was a good variety of food in general, and portions are quite generous and certainly well presented. It’s good to have the option to eat at the hotel (in room or in the lounge), but outside restaurants / bars are also available with a wide range of food available at only a short walk distance.

With regards to hidden charges, we found out at check out that there is a charge for in room service (which is understandable, at 4 euros per in-room request), but we weren’t informed of this, and it wasn’t on the hotel literature – not sure it was on the invoices we had to sign as I didn’t sign them myself.

The other even more surprising charge was for the Kidsclub, which we used one morning for 1 and a half hour as it was raining outside. If your child is over 3 years old you can leave them in the care of the Kidsclub staff, but because I also have a 2 year old, I was in the room with my children the whole time. My 5 year old actually left the room with his dad for a good hour in that time, and they didn’t seem to check him out or back in again. Throughout the whole time I was there, I didn’t see the Kidsclub staff interacting much with the children at all (whether their parents were there or not), and certainly they didn’t do anything for us. I was therefore very surprised to see a charge on our bill for 7.50 euros for 1 child for one and a half hour at Kidsclub – I’m not sure which child they attempted to charge us for.. The one who was with me the whole time or the one who was with me AND his dad for about half an hour of that time and out of the room otherwise?? When I questioned the charge on the basis that we didn’t know that the Kidsclub was a chargeable service (again, that’s not advertised anywhere), I was shown an invoice, which we had not signed or had even ever seen before. For that reason, that charge was waivered from our bill, but I did make a point of the fact that they should be really explicit as to the facts that 1) Kidsclub is a chargeable service and 2) how the charges are worked out.

Overall, we had a very good stay at the Westin and would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends and family. The surrounding area is also very good, so it makes the Westin a very good choice hotel, definitely for families with young children.

Room Tip: If you want 'good' sea view, ask for a room at the front, which overlooks the hotel swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear WaraLondon,

Allow us to thank you for your time to share with fellow travellers your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are very happy to note in your comments that you have enjoyed this visit and the resort’s facilities, especially the indoor pool area. The ORVM Lounge and Piano Bar is indeed a very popular venue for dining in a wonderful atmosphere. The comments pertaining to our food and beverage service have been shared with our Food and Beverage Director and the team.

The notes concerning the charges have been well noted and read with concern and surprise. Indeed the Kids Club is at an hourly charge, which is noted on our website. Please accept our sincere apologies should these charges not have been explained to you whilst checking in at the Kids Club and for not being clear in the way charges were worked. Your feedback has been shared with the Kids Club manager for their actions.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments; these have been shared with our team as it is from feedback from our guests that we can continue to improve on the service we offer.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future, and should you plan a return visit I invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Rented a certain room type based on the large balcony in the picture. Even called the Westin line to confirm that the rooms were as advertised, they confirmed. Arrived to a room that looked nothing like the pictures on the website. Went to the desk asking for a different room type and were given attitude, then finally checked into a slightly nicer room of the "same classification" - at this point the staff had made it clear that we had inconvenienced everyone . This room however was still very disappointing, much below the normal Westin quality. Would have much preferred to rent a house which would have cost the same amount. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Krystal V,

Allow us to primarily thank you for your feedback following your stay.

We regret to read that we did not manage to meet your expectations during your visit to the resort. Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we fell short of your expectations.

Your comments have been shared with our Front Office team and we invite you to contact us directly should you wish to provide us with further details. Your feedback is much appreciated, as it is through comments from our most valued guests that we can continue to improve on our service.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback, and certainly hope to have another chance to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Best regards
Stephanie
stephanie.micallef@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The room we got was big. We got early check in and late check-out without any additional payment.
The breakfast is very good, with much choice, including vegetarian choises and "superfood" selections.
The fitness room is well equipped, and is open from 8:00 till 22:00.
There are multiple dining choises on the premises.
The consierge (George) was very helpful, in many way, including in helping us getting tickets to Hipogeum.
Possibly one thing that may be improved: The lobby food service is a bit slow...
In short - very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the waterfront directly (not on the side of the room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haimkupershmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear haimkupershmidt,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Gladly we note in your comments that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities of the resort. As you have well mentioned in your comments, the buffet breakfast indeed offers a wonderful selection of items and we are happy to read that you have noted our Superfoods selection.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

we stayed for our third time at the Westin in Malta and had a really super trip. Our daughter has serious food allergies and the staff were incredibly attentive and went well out of their way to provide her with safe and tasty food though out her stay. We ate at the Quadro on one evening and had a delicious meal which was very good value for money. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We also hired gym gear for 5 euro during our stay which is a really great bonus. Look forward to visiting again. George the concierge is incredibly helpful when booking trips or restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandymountdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear sandymountdublin,

We are very happy to read that you have chosen once again the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta, and that you have enjoyed another great visit.

Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers following your experience at the resort. George is indeed very helpful and professional, we are very happy that he is part of our team.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,687 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Property: The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing