We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel, but some downfalls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant hotel, but some downfalls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went in a large group. The hotel was beautiful with a lot to do. The room was huge and very clean which is really all I want in a hotel. The front desk can help you with anything imaginable, with information on a range of activities such as jet skiing which we took full advantage of. The staff leave us to it, no pestering like some hotel staff, but are there if we needed them. However, if you are wanting to have a few drinks, I would recommend going down to the local bars rather than the hotel bar as it is quite pricey for a regular drink like vodka and a mixer. We also had a room above the hotels garbage disposal areas which woke us up most mornings especially when we had to sleep with the balcony doors open. However, its bearable as we were getting up early anyway. Overall, these downfalls didn't overshadow this great experience. P.s Wouldn't get your hopes up about the casino next to the hotel. It looks great but it looks like your local, dingy bookies inside.

Room Tip: Choice room with pool view, otherwise you may get a room looking onto roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swilson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Swilson65,

Allow us to thank you for your time to share your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

Happily we read that you had a good experience at the resort and we sincerely apologise for the areas where we fell short of your expectations.

We hope that in the future we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Maltese Islands and the Westin Dragonara Resort. Should you plan a return visit, do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,024
    837
    221
    92
    49
See reviews for
1,005
1,157
86
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here as a family of three adults for one week, in an executive club level room with breakfast included-definitely worth paying extra for the club room! Our room was situated in the South Wing, opposite Quadro's, on the 7th floor. It had two queen beds, an adequate bathroom-a bath with an overhead shower-and a good sized balcony which got the sun from early morning, to around 16.30 hrs. The only problem we found was, as a previous reviewer has stated, the toilet, although thoroughly cleaned daily, did smell of drain sewerage-very unpleasant and we were woken at 08.30 hrs on a Sunday by housekeeping knocking on the door-when I asked if she could please come back in a couple of hours, she actually tutted at me! The beds, however, were extremely comfortable and housekeeping kept the room spotless. We did encounter problems with our meals twice in the ORVM lounge and bar-so much so that one meal had to be sent back three times, as it was simply not hot! The hotel manager did apologise profusely and eventually everything was resolved satisfactorily. Also, we found the fact that a large amount of children were allowed to run riot,(screaming, running between tables and hitting balloons to each other,) whilst we and a lot of other people were trying to enjoy a meal-it was clear that they were bothering other guests, but staff either ignored them or were oblivious to the fact-you do not expect this to be allowed in a 5 star hotel. We did eat in Quadro's and Palio's where the food was excellent and would recommend these eateries. Management also sent a Birthday cake and a bottle of sparkling wine to our room, which was extremely kind and thoughtful. Whilst we did enjoy our stay at this hotel and it did seem to be of the best on the island, we did not feel it is a true 5 star hotel, due to the reasons stated above. It's just the small things like these, that, if they were improved upon, would take this hotel from good to great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Alice3,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta and for your feedback following your visit.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your Executive Club Room and the lounge. The rooms are indeed very spacious and enjoy a lovely balcony with great views. Your comments pertaining to our housekeeping services have been well noted and shared with our Executive Housekeeper, we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Gladly we note that you have tried our restaurants during your visit and enjoyed the meals at the Quadro Restaurant and Palio’s Restaurant. Once again we apologise for falling short of your expectations during your dining experience at our ORVM Lounge and Piano Bar, which comments have been shared with the team.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future, and should this be the case please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com for any assistance with booking arrangements.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent couple of days in the hotel in April. The check-in at the front desk went quick and very professional. The staff is very nice and give you every information. The rooms are pretty big, we had a great view overlooking the pool and the sea. The colours are beautiful in the morning. Our room was really nice, but the bedding had some dirty spots. But if you call the housekeeping, they will take care of it immediatly. The bathroom is ok, you have just enough space. But on a second day the toilet started to smell bad. It looked clean and they obviously cleaned it but the smell was there. Maybe they are experiencing some water sewage problems, I don't know. Also the windows started to make noise when it's windy, and it cannot be repaired. So the sleep quality was not the best.
The staff is overall great and friendly, with an exeption of the breakfast staff. There is an obvious intolerance of the guest who come 10 minutes before closing time.

We had a great time and this is a good hotel, but I think that it's just not a 5* hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalaSirena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear MalaSirena,

Allow us to thank you for your time to share your feedback following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We regret to read that we did not manage to meet your expectations in all areas during your stay, and we apologise for the areas where we fell short. On the other hand, we are glad to know that you had a great time at the resort and certainly hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Should you plan a return visit to the Maltese Islands and the Westin Dragonara Resort, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We very much enjoyed our week in Malta. The Dragonara has everything one could want in a 5-Star hotel. There are two pools, but no beach to speak of. I believe there is a third pool in the hotel spa. The fitness center was very well equipped.

Make certain to purchase a breakfast plan because it is well worth it. There is a wide variety of hot and cold food as well as coffee, tea and juices.

The rooms were very large and modern. The service was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaDBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear SeaDBoat,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Resort.

Gladly we read in your comments that you have enjoyed your week in Malta and at the Resort. The Westin Dragonara Resort indeed offers two outdoor pool areas (open seasonally), and an indoor pool. As the Resort is situated on a peninsula, direct access to the sea is possible from our Bay View beach and Reef Club peninsulas, while a sandy cove is available at the Reef Club area. We happily note that you have enjoyed these seasonal facilities as well as our Westin Workout.

We thank you once again for staying at the resort and for sharing your experience with fellow travellers. Should you plan a return visit to the Resort, I invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com, for any accommodation arrangements.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

we stayed in your hotel for 10 days and we fully enjoyed. when arriving we were not happy with the room and returned immediately to the reception around 11 pm .. no problem at all to change room for a sea view and cecilia made us happy from the start... the westin is worth as a 5 stars hotel... the choice of food at breakfast was very large and we could take a brunch every day...even when we asked for extra tea bags for the room the staff never made a problem... everybody and especially cecilia were so kind and friendly and polite and we will remember the good services of this hotel ... iif we go back to malta we will not hesitate to go back to westin

Room Tip: our room number was 646 on te sixth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannevanbiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear suzannevanbiesen,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your 10 day stay at the Resort.

We are very happy to read that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us and that the initial challenge you had was solved very quickly.

As you have very well mentioned, the buffet breakfast indeed offers a wonderful selection of items, including a SuperFoods corner for healthy eating whilst travelling.

Once again, we thank you for your time to share these comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort. We look very forward to welcome you back should you return to the Islands.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagrange, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got engaged in Malta last fall. This resort was stunning! It lacked the super plush beading we're used to at luxury resorts in the USA but it wasn't missed. The spacious room, terrace opening to the Mediterranean, gorgeous lounge areas of natural rock next to the ocean, the large and clean pool and delicious food all complimented our stay. Staff was very friendly and the location was perfect!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Amie O,

Allow us to thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort!

Happily we note in your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and the spacious rooms. Indeed, the sea view deluxe rooms measure around 40sqm and all enjoy a lovely balcony.

We thank you once again, for your comments and look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Perfect located, splendid service a real high standard hotel a fantastic place to stay as for business and leisure and for sport activities.
Splendid bar with lots of choice....
Good choice in restaurants...
Rooms in perfect shape....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonV808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear RonV808,

Thank you for staying at the Westin Dragonara Resort and for your wonderful comments following your experience.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and the Resort’s facilities.

Should you plan a return visit to the Islands and the Westin, please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any assistance. We certainly look forward to welcome you back

Kind regards
Stephanie
stephanie.micallef@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Property: The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing