We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel was lovely, very luxurious!
Breakfast was fantastic every morning. We only ate in the hotel one evening as you were only able to eat in the bar area. The food was lovely but we were a bit disappointed that the other restaurants weren't open, it would have been nice to have been informed of that when we checked in. Luckily there were plenty of restaurants close by that we could try.
Our room was very spacious, bed's comfy, complementary bath robes and a lovely view.
There was more than one outdoor pool but only one was open. That was okay because the hotel wasn't busy, hopefully playing with our son didn't disturb the older guests. We were looking forward to swimming in the sea but it was a bit choppy.
It was nice not to have to compete with people reserving sunbeds at 7 in the morning, very relaxing and peaceful.
Had a lovely stay and have already recommended it to my parents.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tink2848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Tink2848,

Thank you for your review!

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed a lovely time at the hotel and we thank you for sharing your comments.

We have read your feedback pertaining to the restaurants and would like to apologise should we have missed out on providing the information that the Quadro Restaurant is open all year round.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back, maybe in the warmer season, where you can experience the other restaurants and Reef Club area as well.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,442)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 3,442 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We attended a conference at this hotel and found it disappointing compared to other Westin properties we have stayed in over the years. 14 euros a day (close to US$20!) for slow-speed wifi access is a rip-off. The hotel proclaims that it is eco-friendly, which must explain the substandard air conditioning system. When we complained about the heat and humidity in our room we were told that the A/C does not function except when we are in the room (which we seldom were, except to sleep), and then only when the motion detector starts it! Restaurant is not open for lunch -- only option is eating at the bar. Breakfast buffet was nice, with freshly made omelets a highlight. Concierge was helpful and recommended a great restaurant nearby (Sale e Pepe). Hotel has a deal with a car service that prevents you taking a taxi. Driver couldn't find our destination and we were late for an appointment! All in all, disappointing hotel experience but Malta was worth the trip.

Room Tip: We understand from talking to other guests that the A/C problems are less acute on the upper floors.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerWoodlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear TravelerWoodlands,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We regret to read that we did not meet your expectations during your visit at the Resort and for this we sincerely apologise. Your comments have been shared with our team, as it is through such feedback that we can continue to improve on our service. Should you wish to provide us with further specific details, I invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

We hope that in the future we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort.

Best regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent hotel and excellent location .Close to shopping ,very good for long walks along the sea. Fine training facilities and good fitness centre. Beauty center with several kinds of treatments . Have stayed in the hotel before and the rooms are big with wonderful beds and pillows. Staff are very friendly and service was very good . Several pools and excellent for swimming in the sea.
This ais a hoyel we definetely will come back to as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Executive room with sea view is a very good alternative
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Kirsten0604,

Thank you for choosing once again the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta, we certainly look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the Islands.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your comments and are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your visit to the Resort and the Resort’s facilities. As you have well mentioned, the Westin Workout indeed offers a variety of cardio and strength equipment, and we are glad to know that you have used this facility.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is definitely a 5 star. I cant believe anyone could write anything negative about this hotel. The rooms were lovely with comfy beds and great TV. Food outstanding every night!!!! The hotel grounds, pools, staff all excellent. Will rerurn again very soon. Need to save up as its expensive to stay here but worth every penny.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Krystyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Krystyna B,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your experience at the Resort.

We are very happy to read in your review that you have enjoyed your visit and the Resort’s facilities. As you have well mentioned, the rooms at the Resort indeed enjoy very comfortable beds; the Heavenly Beds for a wonderful sleep experience.

We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcome you back to the Resort.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the end of April as part of my company's President's Club trip. The hotel is very nice and what you would expect from a Westin. My impression is that this is one of the best hotels in Malta and certainly in St. Julian's. The service really made this property special. That said, I do not think it would be considered "5 Star" in most other locations around the world. In my opinion, this is a 4 Star hotel. Some of the property seems tired and could use with a little updating.

The Rooms:
All of the rooms come with a wonderful view which was my favorite part. They are also quite spacious. They could improve the rooms with a proper hair dryer. This is my test for a truly quality hotel and this hairdryer was the worst- you literally had to hold the button the entire time you used it. Also, our room did not have any bathrobes as promised on the website. There was a note that we could order them up to our room, but we never got around to it. I wish they would have just been there when we arrived instead of having to ask. I realize these are small touches but they are ones one expects from a 5 Start hotel.

The Food:
The food was truly excellent and a pleasant surprise. We had several dinners with our group and all were wonderful. I especially enjoyed the passed hors d'oeuvres. Seriously, the food was impressive for such large events. Breakfast was included each morning as well. They have a very lovely buffet. We enjoyed sitting outside under the sun each morning during breakfast. We also tried one of their restaurants for dinner. This meal was nice but not as impressive-perhaps we just had too high of expectations. There was nothing wrong with the meal, it just wasn't special. I will write a separate review for the restaurant.

The Facilities:
The lobby and lobby bar were elegant and the service was excellent. The pool setting is lovely and I loved the area down by the sea even though it was only open for a few days (we were there in early season). Service at the pool bar was a bit slow. We also enjoyed lunch by the pool one day. The lunch was tasty though service was also slow here. We did not take advantage of the pool, spa or gym. We checked them out and they all seemed nice.

Location:
The location is really excellent. You are walking distance to several restaurants, bars, and shops. I don't think you could do better for location.

All in all, it was a wonderful stay and I would recommend this hotel. While there are a few areas for improvement, the service truly was excellent which made for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear DLK26,

Thank you for staying at the Westin Dragonara Resort and for your time to review your stay.

It is great to know that you have enjoyed an excellent stay and we thank you for your feedback. Your comments pertaining to the room set up as well as the pool service have been shared with our management team, as it is through such feedback that we can continue to improve on the services we offer.

As you have rightly mentioned, the Westin Dragonara Resort, enjoys a wonderful location. Set on a peninsula, the Resort enjoys great views of the Mediterranean Sea, and offers direct access to the sea.

Whilst thanking you again for your comments, we look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel over the last weekend prior to my husband's company hosting a conference this week.

There are massive positives about this hotel but also a few negatives, which is why the review is 4 rather than 5 stars.

Starting with the positives, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. After being in Malta for 4 days, I suspect that the friendliness of the people is part of being Maltese. That said, the staff were knowledgeable and helpful in addition, which is what you need during the first visit to a new place.

We arrived in Malta late on a Friday night and our suitcase didn't make it to Malta with us, so we spent a good 45 minutes waiting at the airport. I called the hotel concierge from the airport and he was incredibly helpful, saying that he would arrange for our transfer to come back to pick us up (he had left) and to push our restaurant reservation back accordingly. Upon arrival, the staff were very helpful and provided us with all of the toiletries that they had available (toothbrush, toothpaste etc) as the gift shop was closed. For two very tired and frustrated travellers, this was appreciated.

The first room that we stayed in for our 4 night stay was lovely; however, the bed was not pocket sprung and I was unable to sleep and the aircon didn't work. The next morning we were moved to our second room on the side of the hotel overlooking the wedding facility. This room was lovely. However, our second night was very noisy due to the high winds whistling through the room. Also, the aircon didn't work. The third night was fine as the wind had died down. However, on the fourth night, we had to move to a third room as a wedding party was happening below us. The wedding DJ was still playing very loudly at midnight. I made three complaints and finally was allowed to sleep in a third room. This room had perfect aircon which was lovely.

The next day, I made an appointment to speak to the manager of the hotel about the problem and it was swiftly resolved. The manger was professional and helpful and I thank him for his kind attention to the matter. He assured me that something would be done in future to ensure that wedding DJs stopped playing at 11pm.

I expect that we may stay at this hotel again for our next trip to Malta.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear LegallyB,

Allow us to thank you for your time to share with us your feedback.

We are happy to read that you found that our associates were very helpful, particularly in assisting you on your arrival. Please accept our apologies for any shortcomings during your visit, which we gladly read were resolved.

We hope that in the future we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort and should you be planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com for any accommodation arrangements.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in a Tower Room for the four nights of the conference. It was up to the standard of a five star hotel with a good bar area and a good level of service. The conference facilities were of a good standard. Our room was spacious and did have good storage space.
My only complaint is that for the price Wi-Fi should be thrown in. It does annoy me that in hotels of this level it is not standard

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikes293734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mikes293734,

Allow us to thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

It is great to know that you have enjoyed your stay in the Tower Room, which enjoys wonderful views from the 20sqm terrace.

Your feedback pertaining to the internet has been well noted and shared with our management team. On the other hand, we are glad that the conference facilities were of a good standard. Indeed the Resort enjoys a newly refurbished conference centre with several meeting rooms all on the same floor.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments. We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £117 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing