We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the little things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

For supposedly luxury hotel for which you pay >140euros per night for I would hope the wifi would be free throughout rather than charging it for use in your room. Our supposed sea view room was facing inland with a slither of sea visible when you arched you neck from the balcony. The room also faced paceville where noisy music was heard until very late. They charged us twice at the end. That said the resort is very lavish with very good facilities, we enjoyed using both indoor and outdoor swimming pools and tennis courts for which they lent us balls and racquets. Shame about the little things...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Nick V,

Allow us to thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Your comments have been well noted and shared with our team, as it is through such feedback that we can continue to improve on our service. We apologise for the areas where we fell short of your expectations and hope that in the future we will have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Should you be planning a return visit or wish to provide us with further details, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,283 - 1,289 of 3,488 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you are looking for a venue to celebrate your Special Day, look no further as the Westin have it all. A week ago we had our wedding at the Reef Club which was a dream come true. Everything was first class, the set-up was breath taking, the food was mouth watering,the waiters and Bar attendants were all friendly and served us with a smile. We are all very satisfied with such silver service. All the Management at Westin did their utmost to please us in any way we wished. The Staff were smartly dressed and the place was impeccable. It couldn't have been better including the weather which was to our favour. If any one is still doubting where to celebrate their Wedding Reception, I highly recommend The Westin Dragonara Resort and I can guarantee you won't be dissapointed

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Justine V,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for this very special occasion.

We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed this day and everything was as you have dreamt.

Thank you for sharing this experience on Tripadvisor.

Many congratulations

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We went to the Lobby Bar for 'light bites' and a drink. Great seating area with very comfortable chairs and quite extensive menu, for a bar. The Staff are friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make even a short stay a great experience. We had Tapas and BBQ chicken wings to share - both fresh and tasty. I was not happy with my cocktail and sent it back twice; the Barman came to ask what was wrong and proceeded to make it a third time. I still wasn't entirely happy, but kept the drink and was most surprised when the bill came not to be charged for it! This is the type of service that brings guests back.
On Thursday night there was a great pianist, playing great tunes. He was very patient with 2 beautifully-dressed little girls (from a wedding reception, perhaps?) - and managed to continue playing without pause, while they chatted to him and made requests for 'My Favourite Things' and other 'Sounds of Music' songs. They enjoyed singing along to the piano and entertained us with their dancing. Unfortunately the pianist wasn't there on Sunday, when we made a return visit. Would definitely recommend and would go back, if holidaying in Malta again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaryDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear WaryDubai,

Thank you for your comments following your visit to the ORVM lounge and piano bar at the Resort.

Gladly we read that you have enjoyed your evening and the entertaining notes from our pianist.

The ORVM lounge and piano bar indeed offers a wonderful selection of food items and drinks, and a wonderful setting overlooking the Mediterranean Sea.

We thank you once again for your comments, and look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We attended a wedding here on the 4th June 2014, the food was amazing, the staff friendly and extremely helpful. We had 2 small children with us and they were very accommodation in relation to food and drinks for them. The setting was just amazing and happy to say that we all had an amazing day. Would love to have stayed as it just looked and felt so amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelic83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Angelic83,

Thank you for your comments following your visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed the wedding organised at the Resort and hope that in the future we will see you at the Resort for your vacations; to experience the Westin Dragonara Resort’s accommodation and facilities.

Once again, thank you for sharing this experience with fellow travellers

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We tried not to let lost luggage sour our first Malta experience, and the Dragonara was indeed a welcoming sight upon our late night arrival. Rooms are spacious and mattresses comfortable. Our air conditioner appeared to quit after midnight, and other guests had same complaint. Not sure if they're trying to save energy, or if repair is needed. Ample buffet breakfast each morning. I do wish to single out two wonderful & helpful men at the Concierge desk, Emmanuel and George. They went the extra mile in helping with our missing bags, which was deeply appreciated. The Dragonara can be very proud of both of them!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gyrfalcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Gyrfalcn,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta.

Gladly we note in your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at the Resort and we thank you in particular for mentioning Emmanuel and George for their assistance. We are indeed very happy that they are part of our team!

Your comments pertaining to the air-conditioning have been well noted and shared with the team and should you wish to provide us with further details, we invite you to contact us directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Maltese Islands and the Westin Dragonara Resort in the near future.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you are after Location, location and location .. this is the hotel with the beautiful views to the ocean and nicely placed in the Saint Julian's area. Michael and the amazing ground floor bar staff had all the right information on the very best places to visit, the most valuable directions and the right tourist information.

The pool area is extensive with a good bar area for a drink before sunset while the staff in the breakfast restaurant provided the best smiles and service on the island. The concierge was able to suggest, direct and arrange all services and taxi services to and from the airport and ferry. The reception staff were wonderful with there helpful arrangements and baggage storage.

Room Tip: Level 8 rooms with a view across the ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferJennJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear JenniferJennJenn,

Thank you for your review!

We are very happy to read in your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at the Resort and the level of service from our associates. The Westin Dragonara Resort indeed enjoys a beautiful location. Set on a peninsula the Resort enjoys wonderful views of the Mediterranean Sea, whilst still very close to the centre of St. Julian’s.

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta and for your comments following your visit. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was my second visit to the hotel, having visited a year ago and its genuinely a nice hotel, the pool area is very welcoming and pleasant, and the staff are very helpful, Rooms are big, very pleasant and hard to fault . However some small issues tarnished my visit.

Outdoor pool was freezing - they needs to consider getting the outdoor swimming heated, even in late may it wasnt particularly welcoming, and when i spoke to whom i believed was!!! " yep cheers really useful when you actually want to sit out in pleasant weather and certainly not what I would expect from a senior manager. . Also service at breakfast was hit and miss, kids didnt get a welcome pack, no effort made to give me an upgrade despite having SPG Gold.

Wiring/plugs and overall finishing in the baysuites very poor and certainly not to EU standards (gaping plug holes behind the side cabinets) . small things, but small things make that difference.

I would visit this property again but the spg gold is very much devalued here.. thinking of tearing it up!!

Room Tip: definitely upgrade to a bay suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JONMCINERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear JONMCINERN,

Allow us to thank you for your time to share your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Regretfully we read that you have experienced some small issues during your visit, and for this we apologise. Your notes have been shared with our team, as it is through such comments that we can continue to improve on our service. Should you wish to provide us with further details, I invite you to contact us directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com.

We hope that we will welcome you back to the Westin Dragonara Resort for your third visit and should this be the case please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any accommodation arrangements.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £115 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing