We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break at a marvelous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great break away from it all. The setting of this hotel is beautiful and relaxed but its greatest gem is the simply marvelous staff members that are always willing to help. An atmosphere that immediately puts one at ease and in the right spirit for a holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms enjoy a sea-view, but the best views are from the south wing even on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Franco S,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your holiday.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed a great break and certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 3,566 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for a week in room 377 which is a tower room and has two balconies! One of which is the biggest I’ve ever had with a two seater couch, table and chairs plus two sun loungers. The shade afforded was really welcome and it was great just to use the balcony to chill out. A little tip, take some binoculars as there’s quite a lot of shipping passing by.

The air con was really efficient and didn't turn off when you took the room card out so the room was nice and cool on returning from an afternoon sightseeing. I have also to mention the curtains, or more precisely the blackout curtains as the room was kept so dark when they were closed that it was really easy to have a good night’s sleep. The room, despite looking over the pool area on one side was very quiet, especially at night.

We were looked after very well indeed by all staff and couldn't really want for more. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The staff all wear badges letting you know their name and also their passion. A nice touch that.

The location of the Westin is superb. It’s close enough to the nightlife but far enough away not to be bothered by it if that’s not your thing. It’s around 30 minutes from the airport and you can buy a fixed price fare for €20. The return trip, using the hotels “partner” taxi firm is a little more at €25. Our trip from the airport was in a Renault which was pretty dirty and had definitely seen better days. Our return trip was in a C class Mercedes. Probably worth the extra €5 I would have thought.

There’s a bus stop outside the hotel although the most popular route to Sliema and Valletta is around a 5 minute walk away. €1.50 a day to use them as much as you need to which is so much better value than the open top sightseeing bus, the vendors of which are omnipresent. There’s no commentary though of course.

We ate in all the restaurants and I’ll review those separately.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rondotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Rondotcom,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Resort and especially the Tower Rooms. These rooms are indeed very spacious with a terrace measuring around 20sqm, where one can relax and enjoy the wonderful views of the Mediterranean Sea.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort should you re visit the Maltese Islands, and invite you to contact us directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com should you plan a return visit.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four nights. When we got to our room It was a disappointment since it was on 2:nd floor with the balcony facing a big palmtree and some bushes and we were supposed to have seaview. We went back to check-in and when we asked for a new room the staff was really polite and helpful and we got a new room with great seaview on the 6th floor.

The hotel has a great fully equipped gym and the pool area as well as the "beach" is also great. Overall a great hotel which would have been rated as "very good" If it werent for the fact that the service surrounding the restaurant at the pool as well as the Buffé restaurant was really slow. The rooms are aslo "damp" and have a slight "mould" smell due to the AC and humidity outside which might be solved with dehumidifiers.

On the top end there is a top notch restaurant within the hotel area "Quadro" and it has a stunning view and the food and service is exquisite!

Enjoy!

Mrs K

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear AnnaK3,

Allow us to thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We regret to read that we did not manage to meet your expectations in all areas and for this we sincerely apologise. Your comments have been shared with our team as it is through feedback from our most valued guests that we can continue to improve on our service. Should you wish to provide us with further specific details on your stay please do not hesitate to contact us on stephanie.micallef@westin.com.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort. We hope that in the future we will have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just came back from a 14 day stay at this magnificent hotel. After a smooth and quick check-in, we decided to ask for a room on a higher floor. Our request was met in the kindest way with a choice among several different possibilities. We decided on top floor double room 809 (spectacular views) and were offered this upgrade,- with access to the "Executive Club" lounge (all day access, all day free coffee, tea,etc..., fantastic terraces, flatscreen TV's, free internet (also in the room), free drinks and tapas from 6pm till 8pm-,breakfast service,...) for a really discount price.
We were not partcularly fond of the evening buffet, mentioned it to food and beverage manager,- mr. Jason-, and were offered the possibility to dine in either one of three other restaurants belonging to the resort. Again, everything was dealt with in a most professional and friendly way.
The Westin Dragonara is a 5 star hotel in every aspect, but what makes this beauty so very special is the outspoken and natural friendliness of ALL the staf, starting with the maids (splendid job everyday again).
A wholehearted "thank you" to mr. Jason, mrs. Wendy (customer services), mr. Michael (head waiter at the "Terrace" restaurant), mrs. Pam (incredibly fantastic captain of the "Executive Club Lounge" room) and her assistant mss. Maria, and so many others I should have written down their names.
Congratulations also to the management team for a job so very well done!

Herman and Annicq Codron.

PS: Coming back in september.

Room Tip: Allmost all rooms have spectacular sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freeland_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear freeland_9,

Greetings from the Westin Dragonara Resort and the Maltese Islands!

Thank you for your review following your experience at the Resort. Gladly we note in your comments that you have enjoyed an unforgettable experience.

As you have well mentioned the Westin Executive Club lounge offers breakfast as well as pre-dinner drinks in a relaxing atmosphere, overlooking wonderful views of the Mediterranean Sea. We are glad that you have enjoyed this facility as well as the views from your room.

Once again, we thank you for your comments, and look forward to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I wanted to write this review because of the fabulous service we received while day members at the reef club. We were staying at a different hotel but availed of the facilities here due to the fabulous views and the sea breeze--much needed during our stay. The service we received from Kenneth and Helena---2 students working there--was exemplary. They were polite and attentive with excellent knowledge of the island--they were like mini trip consultants. If their service is an indication of the experience at the Westin, then I would have no hesitation recommending it as a place to stay in Malta.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear gillian483,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your visit to the Reef Club.

Gladly we read that you have chosen this facility of the Westin Dragonara Resort and enjoyed the service and the wonderful views this area offers.

Once again we thank you for your review, and hope to welcome you to the Westin Dragonara Resort in the near future.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We decided on a 3 night break and booked via British Airways. We arrived about 2.30pm and check was 3pm. They gave us a Bay Suite which was fab with 2 bathrooms and a kitchen area. Also we could walk out of the room and straight into the pool area.

All staff were fantastic and even asked how to pronounce our name- most get it wrong. I appreciated this bit of professionalism! Could not fault any part of the hotel apart from corridors being a little hot but Malta is hot.

So much to see and do if you like history.

Special thanks to Cedric, Ramon at the bar and all who looked after us. MAGIC!

Room Tip: send them an email requesting a high up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear magicnic,

Allow us to thank you for your comments following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your visit to the Resort and the Bay Suite. These rooms are indeed very spacious and are situated only metres away from the Mediterranean Sea.

Whilst thanking you once again for your review, we hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future.

Be well
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Westin Dragonara is ideal for organizing any business meetings due to the availability of various conference rooms. All the staff are very helpful and professional!
Dining expereince at the Westin is always great with Quadro restaurant being my favourite.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Magro86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Magro86,

Thank you for your review following your visits to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

The Resort indeed offers various meeting rooms which are all situated on one floor. We are happy to read that it is an ideal venue for your business meetings.

We look forward to welcome you back shortly.

Kind regards
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,425 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#6 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £114 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing