We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding at the Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding at the Westin”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A special thank you to Wedding Specialist Mr. Robert Vella, Banqueting Manager Mr. Pierre Scicluna and all the team at Westin which helped make our special night an unforgettable one. Everything was professionally prepared and all that was promised was delivered. Truly a first class service.

Room Tip: Take the Tower Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _Zefi_malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear _Zefi_malta,

Many congratulations on your wedding!

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for this special occasion and for your comments following your wedding. We are very happy to have Robert and Pierre part of our team. Indeed, together with the rest of the team, they make sure to look into every detail to deliver an unforgettable experience.

Once again, we thank you for your comments

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,070
    849
    226
    93
    50
See reviews for
1,031
1,178
87
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genf, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at Westin and we liked eveything. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is excellent, and the grill terace we liked very much. We were wellcomed by the manager and nothing was to much trouble. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venezia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Venezia L,

Allow us to thank you for your time to share your experience with fellow travellers.

Gladly we read in your comments that you have enjoyed this visit as well as the breakfast and Terrace Grill.

The Terrace Grill indeed offers a wonderful selection of items during the evening buffet, different theme every day.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

If there was a three and a half I would rate it as such as I feel it wasn't the full 4 out of five but doesn't deserve an average either.

We stayed in another 5 star hotel in Gozo before we came here and the standards were very different.

For example, at the price of our room here in a 5 star hotel you would expect that wifi would be complimentary, as is in the other hotels around Malta. It is only free in the lobby and you need to log in every time, the connection also isn't very fast but you can pay for 'premium' speed. It's a small touch that should be rectified.

The other facilities were very good and we enjoyed our stay, the beach area by the sea is especially good and the views were spectacular.

It was more the small details that didn't live up to our expectations. The concierge desk was less than helpful and at one stage when asking for directions it seemed that we were an inconvenience to the man at the desk and he just wanted to get rid of us so he could do something else. It made us not want to go back after we had the experience a second time.

We arrived and checked in on our honeymoon to find they had put us in a room with 2 single beds! When we asked to change they obliged us and we were given another room with a 'sea view'. Technically, if the balcony is part of the room then we did have a sea view.

The breakfast was very good except that the coffee was a really poor quality, the cappuccino or latte are made with a machine that you just press the buttons and the americanos are just average, again it was the small things that let us down.

The hotel advertises a huge consideration for the environment and their 'green' approach. We were delighted to see this and even see that the room had separate bins for plastic, paper and glass. However, when we arrived back to our room after breakfast one day we watched as the maid emptied the contents of each bag into the same bin, making it all a waste of time and good publicity on the part of the hotel. I hope this was a singular event.

On the up side, the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful, we overall enjoyed our experience here but I think if some small changes were made it would fully deserve it's 5 stars.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear kyle P,

Allow us to thank you for your comments following your stay at the Resort.

The items you highlighted have been well noted and shared with our management team for their actions. We regret to read that we did not manage to fully meet your expectations and for this we apologise. We appreciate the time you have taken to share with us these comments, as it is through such feedback that we can continue to improve on our service.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future and should this be the case please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com for any accommodation arrangements.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stay at The Westin Dragonara frequently and am extremely well looked after, on my summer visit I celebrated my 63rd birthday with a party for friends held in the Westin Executive Club lounge, which was quite exceptional.

I left the arrangements entirely to the Chefs and staff and everything was totally to my satisfaction.

An open bar which was hosted by one of the senior waiters and the food was so plentiful and of superb quality, with a senior Chef at hand to serve.

With over 50 guests and without exception everyone was so impressed.

The senior Management Team have an eye for perfection and this event was no exception I am very grateful

Room Tip: The hotel is rightly very busy all year round so book well in advance, Maltese people are very frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKHKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear RKHKent,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for this very special event!

Gladly we note that you and your guests have enjoyed the party held at the Westin Executive Lounge.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Resort and for your wonderful comments following this experience.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We had a really enjoyable 11 night stay at the westin dragonara. The staff in particular were very accommodating and were very helpful with any requests we had. In particular Stephanie, the guest services manager, was very keen to welcome us and ensure everything was to our liking.
The rooms are nice, but not amazing in size or finish, in comparison to other SPG holiday resorts. The bathrooms are compact but have everything you need.
Our room had a great view but at the weekends there is a party venue across the resort which goes on until 3am.
The breakfast is very nice and there is a wide range to choose from- typical for SPG hotels.
The hotel lobby is fabulous and gives you a great welcome to the resort.
The pool in the main area is not very big for the size of the resort and can be quite full most of the day. There is,to be fair, another pool on the other side of the resort but it feels a bit remote over there so we didn't use it. We spent our days down at the resort sea front which was absolutely fabulous. The water is amazing and the lounge area is lovely and very well maintained.
The main problem we had over the whole stay was the attitude of the uniformed security guard who manges the access door to the pool area. To be fair a very friendly guard worked there in the morning but the guy on the afternoon shift each day was extremely unfriendly and barked at you each time to ask for you to produce your room key or tell him your room number. This happened on many occasions even on the same day. When you are spending a large amount of money in a resort you don't expect to be treated like some one trying to sneak into a hotel pool. We have stayed at numerous hotels of this type and we have never come across anything like it!!! The reasons are obvious as to why he is there but the system needs to be improve as most of the people we spoke to at the pool had the same opinion and frustrations! At one point I saw him block a guy in his 60s who was only trying to get his passport from his daughter before he left from the airport.
That said it wouldn't prevent is from going back there and hope to do so in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Gary Q,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

Happily we note in your comments that you have enjoyed your visit and the time spent by the sea areas. Your feedback pertaining to the access to the pool areas has been well noted and shared with our team, and we regret any inconvenience.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Dragonara Resort in the near future, and should this be the case please do not hesitate to contact me directly prior to your next visit.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

thanks to the Westin Dragonara for a fantastic holiday in June 2014. we stayed at the bridal suite which was absolutely stunning!!!!!! the balcony and the view was beautiful!
the only reason we didnt rate this a 5 is because the outdoor spa in our room had very random temperature settings....it was hot when we didn't want it hot and it was cold when we wanted it hot (and it was the primary reason we selected this more expensive room)
the resort itself was great however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Ana C,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your honeymoon and for sharing your feedback following your visit.

We are glad to know that you have liked the Dragonara Suite, which indeed enjoys a wonderful terrace overlooking great sea views. Your feedback pertaining to the temperature of the Jacuzzi has been well noted and shared with our team to look into the matter; we regret any inconvenience caused.

Once again, we thank you for staying at the Westin Dragonara Resort and look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

At 200Euro + per night you expect 5 star service from the Dragonara and they do deliver. Nearly.
I will associate the colour pink with the hotel as it's been this way for more years than I can remember but this gives the hotel it's character.
Pleasant check in. We were allocated a room on the 4th floor, facing Quadro restaurant with a pleasant view of the Med. I have no substance to this theory but as a Starwoods member, and depending on your points balance, the better the room you get. My points balance was written on the key card and I can only assume this was the reason why.
The room itself housed everything you would expect from a hotel of this stature. No issues there.
The facilities within the resort are excellent. Super functional gym. Excellent pools with a quiet area for adults. Access to the hotels private beach. Staff always cleaning the pool area and been available for food/drink orders.
We ate in the hotel once. Wednesday themed buffet night. Italian. It was excellent. But at 30E without drinks it needed to be!!!!
The highlight of my stay was a welcome from the staff and manager at Quadro, where for an hour you can sample Maltese nibbles and a glass or two of vino. Really appreciated the trouble Michael Kamsky, the GM, took to make himself available and all the staff were very hospitable. Nice touch. A bottle of complimentary wine is also sent to your room at any point during the stay. Again very welcomed.
OK. Why not 5 stars? Wi - Fi. You get what you pay for? Not in this case. For the price paid I expect this service to be complimentary throughout the hotel. Only in the lobby and the restaurants is this service available.
I did contact Michael Kamsky and to be fair he explained this was Starwoods policy. I believe Starwoods must change this. All the other 5 star hotels in Malta offer this.
Please remember you will also pay 5 star prices in a 5 star hotel. 20E breakfast. 6E for a beer. Perhaps the hotel might want to consider a happy hour daily? Just a thought.
Overall a splendid hotel but don't forget your wallet and make sure it is full to the brim.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HutchinsonI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear HutchinsonI,

Greetings from the Westin Dragonara Resort and the Maltese Islands!

Thank you for choosing the Resort for your stay in Malta and for sharing your experience with fellow travellers.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed the room and the facilities of the Resort.

Happily we note that you have joined us for our wine party and we thank you once again for accepting our invitation.

We look very forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort and should this be the case, please do not hesitate to contact us directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Property: The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Starwood EMEA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing