We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Denise L

Summer holiday

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jul 2019via mobile
The ladies in the club lounge,especially Pam, looked after us so well. Sunset happy hour is a perfect time.
Only down points, our air con packed in one night (was fixed quickly) and the toilet flush didn't always work !
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£162
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hyatt.com
0.2 miles from The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Free Wifi
Pool
£195
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    £195
0.2 miles from The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Free Wifi
Pool
be.KINI Pool & Lounge
£153
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Free Wifi
Pool
£188
  • Tripadvisor
    £188
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Free Wifi
Pool
£145
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Free Wifi
Free parking
£185
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Free Wifi
Pool
£181
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Free Wifi
Pool
£186
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
    £186
0.3 miles from The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £131
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £128
  • Expedia.com
    £144
0.2 miles from The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviews (4,808)
Filter reviews
4,808 results
Traveller rating
3,135
1,133
315
123
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,135
1,133
315
123
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower room quadro restaurant terrace restaurant lobby bar kids club sea view the executive lounge concierge desk indoor pool large balcony fantastic hotel private beach sun loungers st julians plenty of sunbeds restaurants and bars spinola bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 4,808 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed at the Westin Dragonara for a business trip last week and I was very impressed. The property has a large pool, lots of lounge chairs, and private access to the Mediterranean Sea with additional chairs. Lots of umbrellas and huts for shade. The resort has several restaurants on property. The main restaurant in the lobby bar area has an outdoor patio overlooking the Med. Ate dinner there 3 nights as the food was very good. Try the Mussels appetizer. Ate at italian restaurant on site and it was good. Sat next to the Med outside on a patio with a nice view. Food was just okay. Breakfast buffet was very good but way overpriced. The only issue I had during my stay was with the A/C in the room. I stayed in a club level king suite on the 8th floor. The air conditioning broke 3 times during my 5 night stay. On the 2nd night, it did not cool properly and only blew out hot humid air. I called numerous times and no maintenance workers were on site at this time of the night. Slept for 2hrs as it was so hot and humid in the room. The 4th day, the A/C started blowing hot air again. Called maintenance and they fixed it by the time I finished dinner. On the last night of my stay, I came up from the pool to get ready for dinner and the A/C unit by the sofa and tv was dripping water and the room was soaked with a large puddle on and near the lamp that was plugged in. Called down and they sent maintenance up. They said the water pipe was not installed on an angle to drain the water. Instead it was horizontal which allowed the water to ponder up and leak out of the ceiling. They drained the remaining water out and turned off that A/C unit for my last night. They were going to drill a hole and fix the water pipe after I checked out in the morning. If i didn’t have the A/C issues, i would have gave a 5 star rating. The employees are very friendly and helpful and the property is beautiful. I would stay there again if I traveled back to Malta.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Traveler45obly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

Hotel is a mix between busines/holiday. Good breakfast, but half-board/all-in quite expensive. Clean, but housekeeping times sliding between 10am-5pm! Good staff. Good pools, plenty of chairs/shades, own piece of rocky seashore. This hotel goes for suits and swimsuites :)

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank hilees
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2019

Stayed here for 6 nights with my wife in late June and there is a lot to like about the Westin Dragonara and a lot to dislike.
What we liked. First , second and third is the staff. Absolutely wonderful people and would do anything to make you happy and give anyone staying here reason to return. From the front office staff, especially Jelena, to the executive club staff and especially Dani, professional, hard working and always a smile. The executive club itself is excellent with canapés in the evening and excellent light snacks through out the day. One of the better clubs in Europe. Wifi is excellent, the fitness centre first rate too, the rooms are comfortable and most have excellent views, and so many great places to swim in the Mediterranean right at the front of the hotel. Turn down service is excellent too, always ensuring plenty of water in the room. For those sun seekers, there are plenty of towels, sun lounges and areas to enjoy the resort.
But there is so much that irked us too. From the moment we arrived, as a titanium Marriott member, hardly any recognition. Received a tired dated room and that just got things off to the wrong start. Eventually management worked some magic and upgraded to a renovated room, great views still but it could have started with better recognition and that would have left a better taste.
Rooms are large but what 5 star hotel still has showers where you have to climb into a bath to have a shower. Even the renovated rooms didn’t have walk in showers. Bring your muscles to operate the flush on the toilets as they aren’t user friendly especially for elderly folk. Room make up sometimes occurred as late at 5.00pm. Never sure if they were going to turn up or not. Location isn’t great. St Julian is a lovely area but doesn’t have the class or gravitas of Valletta. To enjoy that, it’s a long 1 hour bus ride into the centre or a taxi ride but nothing moves fast in Malta or on time. As much as we enjoyed the executive club, the acceptance of smoking on the terrace ensured we couldn’t enjoy the same privilege as the smokers to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air. Such a shame that a non smoking resort turns a blind eye And in fact provides ash trays for smokers given these modern times.
There are a lot of choices for accomodation in the area but I would still recommend the Westin above the others purely based on the quality and friendliness of the staff. Just outstanding people.

Room tip: Try and get an east facing room away from the main pool, better views and quieter.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Theo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2019

Hi. I normally don't criticize hotels. But this experience had to be put up.
Average Property but extremely poor rooms and Airconditioning. Stayed here for 3 Nights in June 2019 Firstly they don't offer free WiFi unless you enroll in BonVoy Membership. Rooms are very tired and Bathrooms .. OMG dated to a previous century and probably the worst ever I have seen.- Dirty Shower Curtain, Leaking Flush, terrible shower area - everything was HORRIBLE.
AC in the rooms don't work even at 10 C it's probably just the fan circulating the air, making the room more humid and muggy, it's terrible and in that heat, you can not sleep. Had to switch rooms at midnight which the staff seemed unhappy about. Next day at the Pool bar we ordered some food and water - they refused to accept my signature on the bill (some 20 Euro) and was asked to pay by cash or card on the spot. .. as apparently I did not have credit ( that was a first in my travel life ) - Very embarrassing.
The reception staff did try to salvage the situation by providing a bottle of wine, some candies for the kid and was offered a drop to the airport- which I accepted.
But on the day of Check out as I was about to leave for the airport, I was asked to pay for the cab fare to the driver directly. This is the worst and the most embarrassing situation I have been in.
Imagine spending top money in one of the most beautiful places and you end up in with experience like this. Worst Hotel experience of my life by far.
Choose Wisely.

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank ankur k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JonathanBorg, Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2019

Dear ankur k,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. Here at the Westin we pride ourselves in providing the highest level of service and product to all our guests and we understand that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Your feedback regarding your room has been shared with the appropriate departments to investigate and take actions where necessary.

As part of the Marriott Group, the Wifi is complimentary in our resort to all Marriott Bonvoy members and the guests can enroll free of charge at the Front Office.


Once again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Upholding our commitments to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to host you in a near future whatever reason brings you back to the Islands of Malta.

We hope you will call upon us if there is anything else that can be done to make your future stay with us completely enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2019 via mobile

The hotel is shabby and tired looking. Air conditioning did not work in our room and there were no more suites. We were given another regular room for the first night. As our room was prepaid, we received no compensation for the first night. When we finally got to use our suite, it was nice. However, the balcony doors (at the time) locked from the inside. My child and I got stuck on the balcony for over an hour because there was no way to reach anyone to let us back in the room. Finally, we called out to a guest walking by and asked them to call the front desk and explain we were stuck in the balcony. One night we came back to the hotel after dinner to find the doors locked!!! We had to bang and bang on the glass doors until about 15 minutes later when a security guard opened it. We were told it is customary to the lock the lobby doors at night.

We had issue after issue at this hotel. We were promised 10k Westin points to compensate us somewhat for the $6k we had wasted. It never came and my calls were never returned. It is not worth the aggravation. Stay at the Hilton, which is spectacular.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank AnjanieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
augustinassukys, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2019

Dear AnjanieN,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. It is paramount to us to always provide the highest level of service and product to all our guests and we understand we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

We would kindly ask if you could please provide us with more details regarding your stay like the room number and the dates of the stay so we could look into that went wrong and inform our teams to take actions where necessary. You could email me directly on augustinas.sukys@westin.com

Once again, we are sorry your stay was was negatively inconvenienced and we do hope we will be able to welcome you again to our hotel soon for a different experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit to Malta.

Sincerely,
Augustinas Sukys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews