We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding 4th October 2007” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Ingleby Barwick, Teesside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding 4th October 2007”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

We chose the Radisson SAS Bay Point for our wedding expecting a 5* Hotel in terms of facilities, service and organisation. WE GOT EVERYTHING WE EXPECTED AND MORE!!!

The staff were friendly, helpful and could not do enough for us including changing our room on the first night for a better view, sorting out a fantastic reception meal in 'Le Bistro' and including extra touches such as fruit, wine and champagne in the room.

The Bay Point is a wonderful hotel, ideal for a special occasion or simply a great holiday.

Full marks to Marika and the staff at the Bay Point.

  • Liked — Quality Facilities, Service, Food
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Toto_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    862
    302
    87
    33
See reviews for
553
1,146
73
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

We arrived on fri 19th oct approx 1pm there time.. wow what an entrance! from the minute we arrive they couldnt do enough for us they catered for every single need and want! nothing was ever too much trouble.. i read a comment about the mini bar being very expensive! well i too have to agree with that. our room was cleaned & changed daily by a lovely chamber maid "antionette" was her name i think. i would dissagree with the comment about the three sea pools being so far away though, as we found out if you walk 50 yards around the back of the hotel there ituated there a two minute walk? the whole hotel and complex was imaculate at all times, heated indoor pool is recomended very nice. food as presented well and tasted wonderful, fortunatly the timeshare lot left us alone but i would say that was the only downside to staying there.

  • Liked — eligance
  • Disliked — timeshare
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nescafe61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

..whether they're a holiday hotel or a conference centre.

Don't get me wrong. The rooms are nice. Not big. Not welcoming particularly. But nice.

The hotel is nice. Smart. Clean. Efficient is a good word. But not particularly friendly.

But, if you've ever been to a Radisson, chances are it was on business. Or for a night or two in a city. At least not on a family holiday for a week.

Breakfast was your usual buffet experience. Help yourself to whatever fruit/bread product/dairy product/cooked meat you like. have a pot of tea (actually very good tea)/coffee.

Lunch/dinner - there was a choice of the lobby cafe (good for lunchtime snacks although a very limited menu), Le Bistro (actually very good and not too expensive) or the main restaurant (very expensive for what actually turned out to be a pretty poor imitation of a wedding buffet).

The rooms had few practical amenities for the family holiday. For example, you were told by signs on the minibar that you could have no drinks in your room but those in the minibar. However, my two year old didn't fancy beer, wine or spirits so we kept some flavoured
water for him in our suitcase. (To be fair, the one night we left a bottle of local wine on our dressing table, the cleaner didn't remove
it as the sign threatened.) But we did have "free wireless broadband!" if he had any emails to check...

We asked for a low floor (having a two year old, the less floor available for plummeting from the balcony, the better) but were put on the top floor. You're not telling me there wasn't a single available room on one of the lower floors?? It could have been worse:
DO NOT get one of the larger suites if you have kids - the barriers are about knee-high and wouldn't stop a sparrow falling over the edge, let alone an exuberent child.

Have to give a compliment regarding the toddler pool though - it has a barrier to prevent the children jumping out and into the big pool, which I've not seen elsewhere.

The staff were very nice (apart from the gym staff who just sat around on the equipment with their mates, seeng how awkward they could make you feel) and really genuinely love children.

But every now and the parts of the hotel were suddenly closed off for access to inmates whilst some conference or other took over the place (we had some biotechnology people and the Hyundai dealers of Malta). One night it'd be the bar, another the terrace between the pool and the lido area.

Regarding Malta - nice. Small but pretty. Lovely people, but lots of them. Don't go if you like solitude or sandy beaches (obvious, but worth saying again).

Local area - wander over the hill (out of the hotel, up the hill, turn left, down the hill) to the bay. Nice beach - although the sand is a bit abrasive. Shopping centre (not particularly special, but with an M&S food), bars (didn't really get to these, due to the 2 year old), cinemas.

The hotel bus to St Julians, Sliema (for boat tours round the island)
and Valetta is good, but book ahead.

Overall - not really worth the money.

  • Liked — We had a young gecko that came to live with us towards the end of the week. My son liked that.
  • Disliked — The big brother-type rules on having your own food/drinks, the rubbish telly reception, the fact it felt like a business trip rather than a holiday. It was no better than any other hotel room I've ever been in, but more expensive.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mandster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2007

We stayed at the Bay Point in late August 2005 and absolutely loved the hotel. We returned 9th October 2007 for our honeymoon. Admittedly we did debate whether to stay at the Golden Sands but thought the better the devil you know, how wrong were we.

On arrival everything was how we remembered, friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

On entering the room it looked tired, but worse was to come. On entering the bathroom there was severe mould on the ceiling and around the bath. The taps, bath, shower screen and toilet were stained.

We asked to be moved but were told that there was nothing that they could do, until morning.

After breakfast we spoke with reception, who advised we could have a room after 2pm which was a show room. On inspection, the room seemed clean, but the veiw of the car park was off putting (considering we paid extra for a sea veiw). After speaking with Management we were offered another room which was ok but definately not great (paint was peeling off the bathroom ceiling and the toilet was leaking), we were advised that this was all they had on offer and that all bathrooms are going to be the same as they were in need of refurbishment.

We were very disappointed in the cleanliness of the toilets situated by one of the restuarants. There were stained taps, toilet seats and brushes. One evening the ladies toilets had run out of paper towels which was reported to a member of staff. Returning 30 minutes later there was still no paper.

All other aspects of the hotel were still to the standard of our previous visit.

This time around we had decided to go b&b as we wanted to sample the local restuarants, but ended up dinning in the restuarants at the hotel. The food and service was excellent.

We were very disappointed in our visit and felt that the some aspects of the hotel require some tlc, otherwise it will lose the current 5 star rating.

  • Liked — The food was great
  • Disliked — The room was not to a good standard let a lone to a 5 star.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millwall_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for 10 days in September 07. The hotel staff were very helpful and arranged all our trips for us. The rooms were nice, clean but nothing spectacular. The view was amazing though and it was lovely sitting out on our balcony while the sun set.

The restaurants weren't that great- although we only tried the Edge (burger wasn't cooked throughout!) and the breakfast bar restaurant.

The hotel is only a short walk from St Julians/Paceville and there are buses that can take you all over the island- very cheap and probably the best way to get around.

Our only problem with the hotel was the air conditioning. The first room we were in was fine until about our third night there and we were woken at 5am by what sounded like gushing water coming through the vent. We called reception to send someone up to fix it. No one turned up but it stopped so we went back to sleep. Woke up about two hours later to the same sound- called reception again and they said there was a problem with it but someone was looking into it. This happened the next night as well so we complained to reception again (in person this time) and we moved rooms. The next night (in our new room) the same thing happened again. They did manage to fix it after we spoke to the manager and they gave us vouchers for dinner in the buffet restaurant.

Overall I'd say that it's a great place to stay and would recommend it but it's not a 5* hotel.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The air conditioning!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Munchkin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

Stayed recently at the Radisson in Malta, found the Hotel provided excellent food, accomodation and service, it was a delight to stay there unlike some previous stays in other hotels in Malta.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Revenge04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2007

After reading a few reviews on this website I contacted the hotel directly to request a sea view room, and was emailed back within 12 hours confirming they would indeed place us in one. It was a sign of things to come.

The staff in the hotel, on the whole, cannot do enough for you. They are a mine of knowledge on the local sites to see, restaurants and buses!!! I have never been as impressed with the level of service as I was here.

The hotel has a grand entrance with numerous restaurants and bars dotted around the site. We ate at all 3 restaurants and were thoroughly impressed with the quality of the food, don't overlook Le Bistro, it really serves up superb food.

The room itself was well appointed, and had all you would expect. If I was being hyper critical I would say that the bathroom was of a lower quality than I would expect, but how long do you spend in the bathroom on holiday (HOPEFULLY!).

The Bay Point is an ideal base to explore the island from, and bus services run from outside the main entrance which is very convienient. I would undoubtedly return.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,334 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's

Property: Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Address: St George's Bay | St. Julian's, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3391, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Rezidor, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian`s Hotel Saint Julian`s
Radisson Saint Julians
Radisson Malta
Sas Radisson Malta
Saint Julians Radisson
Radisson Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Radisson
Radisson Bay Point Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing