We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I have stayed here twice now on my family holiday and can highly recommend the hotel.
The staff were exceptionally nice and were most helpful.
The bars and restaurants were excellent. The breakfast was a real delight every day with everything you could want on offer. I loved the salt water pool area and the hotel offers amazing views of the Med. The bathrooms, although very clean could do with a makeover but that is the only negative point. I can't wait to go back again next year.

Room Tip: Corner suits are large and sunny and really recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penstonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. It is indeed a pleasure to learn that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,743 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

Wifes birthday on arrival so I arranged a bouquet of flowers, left on drawers, three requests later I obtained a vase. This was our fourth visit to the Radisson. Day two The Edge restaurant waited an hour for our food, they removed the cost from the bill. Pool umbrellas, placed up for protecetion to be told by the pool boy that i would have to take it down as they were expecting high winds, I explained that once the winds arrived I would take it down,I must look very stupid.
Staff in general very pleasant, though I found that several had hearing problems, food good.
My main gripe was water from the room bar 5 Euros for a small bottle!!!!! From the pool bar 2.50 Euros for a much larger one. Every day I had a letter requesting that I pay my bill, I was on holiday when I queried this I was told it was company policy.
We wont be going there again I can assure you. Needs a big kick up the .................

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking your time to review our resort. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not entirely positive. Your comments have been shared with the people concerned to ensure that every little detail is looked into. On the other hand it is great to learn that you found our staff to be pleasant and our food good.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 for 3 nights. I thought it was a great hotel for the price. Yes, it is a bit dated, however our room was spacious and clean with a lovely view from our balcony. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who helped us rent a car at the last minute and showed us on the map where we should drive and how to get to Gozo. We enjoyed the breakfast, the spread was quite extensive. I agree that it is not a 5 star on an international standard, but I'm not sure how it compares to other hotels in Malta. I really liked the location because it was in a quiter part of St. Julian's. We ordered from the restaurant a couple times, while lounging by the pool and really enjoyed the food! I think this hotel is a great value, not a five star, but a clean and comfortable stay. I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Nomad_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward to repeating the same high level of service next time round.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our first impression was that the hotel  is in a classical style, like you see in those old movies. I do agree that the staff is trying to keep their guests happy. Our room was in perfect condition and very welcoming, but not the bathrooms. The room was cleaned every day and the minibar was always fully stocked. Nevertheless when ever we had special requirements the staff was always there to assist us especially the always smiling girls at reception! The hotel does need an upgrade to become a proper 5 star hotel again.

Thank you to all the staff we were in contact with and hoping in seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: nice location, nice views and nice staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and wish to return. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I have recently returned from a two week holiday at the above hotel. As my title suggests I was not impressed. I was only offered a welcome drink on arrival when I requested one! As other reviews suggest this is no longer a 5 star hotel. The rooms are badly in need of refurbishment and I cannot remember the last time I saw a television like the ones they have in the rooms. During my two week stay I did not see any managers going around the hotel checking that everything was in order. Unlike when Ernest Barry was manager you constantly saw him in the hotel and in the area around The Edge and the swimming pools. With regard to the Edge Restaurant, this cannot be classified as a restaurant in this hotel as it is only open for lunch and twice a week, Wednesday and Sunday for a barbeque, that is of course unless they get a better offer and hold a function. Of course when holding these functions no regard is giving to residents who have a rental car. Frequently we arrived back at the hotel and could not find a parking space. So actually there are only two restaurants. One of those being a buffet restaurant. Also regarding the rule for reserving sunbeds this 'rule' does not exist as frequently the 'prime' sunbeds were reserved with towels folded and I never saw anyone remove those towels. There is only one toilet for each gender. The ladies toilet is frequently used by locals as a changing room, and were not cleaned often enough. Also you do not expect to find cheap white dirty plastic tables in a five star resort. This furniture is also used on the balconies of the bedrooms and I doubt very much if they have ever been cleaned.

The staff have my full praise as I think they are fighting a loosing battle trying to keep visitors happy against all the odds.

This hotel is in a wonderful spot with great views, it is a pity that everything else is letting it down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank comino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us once again and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not succeed in reaching your expectations this time. I would like to invite you to contact me directly on aaron.vella@radissonblu.com to be able to discuss your experience in greater detail.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit,

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have just arrived today and I am heartily wishing we had booked elsewhere. Good point:
On arrival we were greeted by two lovely ladies at reception.
Our checking in was as expected. It goes downhill from now on.
Normally I would expect the offer of a cold drink at an establishment that is ranked 5 star. However, we were happy enough to go to our room. The carpet outside our room was spotted and stained , bur fair enough I could see maintenance signs and yes it looked tired, the door was scuffed, but as long as the room was fresh and clean, I would be happy. Not so. One side of the bed looked unmade. I pulled the cover back to find a large blood stain. We rang the concierge who asked if we wanted housekeeping. Well no actually....feeling a bit sick... I wanted another room. While we waited and waited and waited we could see what looked like a large splatter of blood across the bottom of the curtain. In the interminable wait for someone to come....I started to wonder what those stains on the carpet outside the room were.....
Ugh.
A representative eventually came checked the bed, ...no comment to us and then said that the stain on the curtain was probably something else.......(such as???) She spoke to the housekeeper in Maltese and told her the sheets were blood stained. She then took us to a new room as tired looking as the first but with clean sheets....and with a fabulous view of the car park.

Upgrade? No. Bottle of wine perhaps? No. Apology.?
No.
Other than saying the room should not look like this and asking us if it was our first time in
Malta....and there's lots to see......why don't you check with the desk staff.....

I noticed on the counter a slogan of some sorts that says 100 percent satisfaction.........
What with?
Terrible error by housekeeping compounded by disinterest (presumably by some kind of manager- ) she did not introduce herself. Pretty poor Raddison Blu. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Don't come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our resort. We are sorry to learn that your experience was not so positive on your first day. We understand that this matter was discussed and resolved during your stay. We sincerely hope that this experience will not deter you from returning and I would like to invite you to contact me directly on aaron.vella@radissonblu.com should your travels ever bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The communal facilities at this hotel are good and the staff on the whole were helpful and friendly. The concierge service was excellent.
the guest rooms in the hotel let it down. Our room was in desperate need of refurbishing (mouldy grout in bathroom, old tv, dirty plastic balcony furniture). We were not offered a welcome drink and we only received one bottle of complimentary water during our stay. We had to request flannels on a couple of occasions as these were never replaced.
The breakfast was very expensive and there was a limited range of food. There was a long queue for eggs as only one chef was available to cook both omelettes and fried eggs.
The hotel does not deserve a 5 star rating.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vonn1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you found our team to be pleasant and our concierge to be excellent. On the other hand we are sorry to hear that the room did not reach your expectations and would like to invite you to write back to me directly on aaron.vella@radissonblu.com with more information regarding your stay. We look forward to hearing from you,

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,377 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,747 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's

Address: St George's Bay | St. Julian's, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3391, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £55 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Rezidor, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian`s Hotel Saint Julian`s
Radisson Saint Julians
Radisson Malta
Sas Radisson Malta
Saint Julians Radisson
Radisson Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Radisson
Radisson Bay Point Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing