We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent choise”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed there for 4 days, excellent location, big swimming pools, fine restaurants. Since the wheather was extremely hot and the humidity really impossible we spent most of our time in the hotel. If the accomodation wasn;t so great we would not have appreciate our stay in Malta so much.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tidanari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Resort St. Julian's for your stay in Malta. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. Since you found the temperatures in August to be rather high, may I suggest you choose October, November or March, April for milder weather on your next visit. These would be the best months for exploring the Maltese Islands. May we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    890
    308
    89
    35
See reviews for
563
1,191
75
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We found this resort better then our expectations!
Quality/price rate excellent.The readiness and quality of the Guest Relations Staff is excellent. Room service very prompt and efficient.
We had a beautiful and relaxing stay and suggest to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that we succeeded in exceeding your expectations. May we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I've often read reviews on the site and they are generally polarised between those who had a great experience and those with the worst and are wanting to vent their frustration. I've thought long and hard before posting this but feel compelled to write and warn those used to "proper" 5 star hotel accommodation and service that this really does masquerade as one.

The standard you expect from such an establishment is missing. Externally the pool areas are dirty and shabby, sunbeds not cleaned and paint coming off everywhere.
Add to this, people constantly trying to sell you themed dinners or spar treatments it doesn't make for a great experience.

I've read one review to suggest the floor I'm staying on is refurbished, well the carpet is so stained in the corridor I worry about the areas that are waiting for the upgrade.

Breakfast is well below the standard expected also, limited choice and of poor quality. This morning we were just left to find our own table which we then had to set ourselves. Yesterday my wife was given a chair with a "bug" on which was subsequently replaced with one covered in ketchup.

The gym equipment was positively filthy - I wiped my machine down after using it and the tissue was black with dirt.

The rooms are very basic although comfortable although towels etc are frayed at edges. The robe in my daughter's room had a hole in it. We have two rooms and they are both as bad.

One can only assume the stars are awarded on the basis it has it's own spa.

If you are looking for a four star stay then this would be an acceptable choice but for luxury, head elsewhere. I'm seriously considering checking out early and taking the family elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go sea view as pool views are visible at night from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our resort. It seems you are still currently in the hotel therefore may I kindly invite you to contact me directly through the reception desk. I will be more than happy to meet you in order to receive further feedback on your comments.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have just spent 2 weeks at the Radisson attending a Wedding. We stopped on the 7th floor which seems to be one of the floors that needs to be refurbished, saying that the room that we stayed in was lovely, check in was easy, a few of our party had to wait for rooms but it does stipulate that check in is 15.00pm and all the party were in their rooms before lunch, every day housekeeping came and made a wonderful job of cleaning the room, towels are to a high standard and the beds are the comfiest i have ever slept in.If you are thinking of getting married think about booking this hotel, the wedding was one of the best I have ever attended, the food, location and staff are outstanding. One of the down sides to the hotel is the drinks are expensive and the time share sharks try and apprehend you every day on your way back from the pool.The staff in the hotel are lovely and the taxi driver Ray is wonderful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with future travellers. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the wedding and all our team members succeeded in comfortably accomodating your wedding party. May we look forward to your next vist.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Radisson for a week on 26thJuly- 2nd Aug. we loved it. Most of our time was spent by the pool, though we visited some great restaurants in the evenings such as Zeris and Gululus. The staff were incredibly helpful; especially when my wifi kept disconnecting. Our pool and sea view was beautiful, think I would have been disappointed not to have had this though.
My only gripe would be the behaviour of one of the two wedding parties that turned up halfway through our week, one party was great (They had an I'm a celebrity, theme) the others were rude and badly behaved around the pool and I think management might have nipped their behaviour as it was awful!!! Especially water guns in the pool!!!!!
Aside from this, we are currently looking for a last minute deal to go back in the next week or so as we enjoyed our stay so much! The staff are brilliant.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are pool and beach view, we did not pay extra for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break. May we look forward to welcoming you back on your next vist.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Just got back from staying here and have to say I really enjoyed being here. Apart from cressida who didnt give us a warm welcome The rest of the staff were fantastic, from the lovely concierge / bar staff to the cleaners. The hotel itself is a bit tatty around the edges but overall very good. The breakfast was excellent!! The beds were so comfy and the room was great!! We didn't eat in the restaurant as we thought they were expensive. The pools are great but too small and my main gripe was that the sun beds get taken really early with people putting their towels on beds first thing in the morning so I never got a sunbed near the bar pool which was really frustrating!! Even though there are signs that towels will be removed if people are not using the beds however this never happened!! There is a bus stop just up the hill which was €2.60 for a day ticket and we used this to get to sliema and Valletta which was great. The best bit about the hotel is the location- it is away from the hell hole paceville which is packed with drunken teenagers!! As is George's bay. If you are over 20 you feel old!! It is horrendous- lots of gentlemen clubs loud bars and young and I mean young girls dressed to look older. I was quite concerned about this!! However once you get past this there are some nice restaurants in Spinola and balluta bay. Was relieved to get back to hotel at end of night where it was peaceful, classy musical acts every night and sitting drinking cocktails on the bridge/ balcony.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qwwrty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our resort. Despite your very positive comments it seems that you proceeded to score the hotel with the lowest possible score. Please feel free to contact me directly on aaron.vella@radissonblu.com should there be any other comments you wish to share. May we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

I stopped here for one week, August 2013.

The hotel is one of the best in Malta, with all the locals telling us how fantastic it was. Many reviews on here say it is not truly 5*; in my opinion it is a continental 5*, it certainly isn't 5* according to British/American standards.

The hotel is on the edge of St Julian's Bay and offers a free shuttle service into St Julian's, though this must be booked a day in advance. Other, paid, shuttle services exist for Silema and Valleta. The Concierge staff are extremely friendly and helpful; a special shout out to Timmy for the friendly and prompt way he organised all of our transport for us.

He hotel has three restaurants: Le Bistro is the main one, offering pasta, grill food & Maltese dishes; there are a couple of vegetarian options, which get boring after 7 nights, but the staff are more than willing to cook something on request (massive thanks to Krystyna, our server, who was very professional and engaging.) Le Bistro offers indoor and outdoor dining, though it's advisable to book in advance, particularly at the weekend, if you want to dine outside, enjoying the sea view. The second restaurant is Kon Tiki, which is a buffet. I'm not a fan of oriental food, so we never went there for dinner. Breakfast is served in this restaurant every morning (again, indoor or outdoor, by the pool). The Edge is an outdoor restaurant offering exquisite dishes; it's clearly their best restaurant, though is only open a couple of nights per week due to functions.

The rooms are fairly basic, but comfortable and cool, thanks to air conditioning. Rooms are cleaned daily, though not thoroughly. I echo the sentiments of others who say that housekeeping rush through each floor (dust & sand remained on the floor and balcony all week; glasses were never changed in the bathroom etc) ...good enough for somewhere to sleep, but an example of 'continental 5*' rather than the British or American standard.

Free wifi is available indoors, though the connection drops several times a day.

My only real complaint is the Time Share company who are ever present immediately outside Kon Tiki. They lure you in with some vouchers but grab them then run!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcarbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron_vella, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our team members succeeded in exceeding your expectations. May we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit,

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,487 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#6 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's

Property: Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Address: St George's Bay | St. Julian's, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3391, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian`s Hotel Saint Julian`s
Radisson Saint Julians
Radisson Malta
Sas Radisson Malta
Saint Julians Radisson
Radisson Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Radisson
Radisson Bay Point Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing