We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel is located on the edge of St. Julian‘s. Location is good, quite place, but buzzing nightlife district Paceville is 5 walking minutes away. Bus stop is 100 metres from the hotel. Bus goes every 12 minutes, and you can reach any place on the island. Weekly ticket costs only 6.5 euro. But despite short distances bus rides take longer than expected. Malta is clogged by the cars, cannot understand why Maltese don’t ride scooters.
OK, back to the hotel. There is sweetwater pool in the yard of hotel, and couple of seawater pools next to the hotel, including one for kids. Indoor pool is not worth swimming in. Sauna is worn but hot, good in the chilly mornings before jumping to refresh into outdoor pool. Didn’t noticed any place suitable for bathing in the sea near the hotel. Small beach in the Paceville didn’t seem attractive.
Rooms are spacious, clean, bit worn, but no problem with that. Double room bed is two singles put together with no overall mattress on top. Very uncomfortable. New TV set, complimentary tea and synthetic coffee. Water from the tap is declared suitable to drink, but has chlorine taste. All of the rooms have full or partial sea view. In the left side wing of the building rooms you feel almost like in the cruise ship – only endless sea outside the window. Staff is friendly and efficient.
Breakfast is OK, but nothing special. Pancakes, some fish and better juice would improve it significantly. Selection was every time the same during our 7 nights stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SauliusAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron V, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. We will certainly be sharing your comments with the entire team in order to improve on the points you kindly highlighted. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 2,743 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

On the whole it is quite a good experience. The big pool is pleasant but in the wind .The smaller pools are not in good condition.The back gardens are not well-tended. The surroundings are ugly . there is nowhere to go for a walk safely along the sea. but the service and the food are excellent. Well, excellent hotel for business but not for families....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Roland/Dominiqu... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron V, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and service. On the other hand we are sorry to hear about the excessive wind and disappointment with the pool areas. May we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We got into this hotel for two days because of travel agent made a mess of our bookings.
Staff: nothing special about them, they are just average staff.
Hotel: rooms were average, not the five star standard. our room had a side sea view but since the hotel is in remote area the sea didnt look that vibrant
Location:
The hotel is around a kilometer away from the city. it can be done in 10 minutes walk, however the walk back to hotel has a road to climb. it's almost climbing a hill. so walking back is not a good option. nothing you can buy near the hotel.
we booked rest of our trip in Intercontinental which is worth every penny spent.
you have to call to get an iron and iron board, the iron board cover was burnt. also the tea kettle was also burnt like hell. we had to ask for a replacement kettle so that we could at least drink the tea we make in it..
i will not recommend this hotel. this should be a 3 star hotel. actually many three stars are better than this one.
only their food was nice, everything else was just average or below average
I would prefer staying in Intercontinental Malta rather than in Radisson.

Room Tip: Most of their rooms are sea view rooms, so that shouldn't be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ajay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron V, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food. On the other hand we are sorry to hear the news of your disappointment with all other areas of hotel. Should you find some time to contact me directly on aaron.vella@radissonblu.com I would certainly like to hear more about your experience.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

From the friendly helpful staff to the spacious rooms this hotel can not be faulted. As always prices for items in fridge were extortionate and food and drink on the pricey side but that I suppose is to be expected at this level of hotel (why I'm not sure). If you are planning on staying here you will not be disappointed. I can not praise the staff enough.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron V, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay. We are delighted to learn your stay was enjoyable and you found the service to be excellent. May we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is well run and the service is fine, the staff eager to please. The central bar is comfortable, attractive and open plan but somehow cosy. The pool area is good receiving the morning sun and remains sunny till about 3 pm. It can get windy though.

However you are deterred from getting as far as the sea shore because there is no path to the sea and no jetty or pontoon to access the water. The rocky coast consists of needle sharp rock, so if you wore stout sneakers and climbed down to the sea, dived in and swam about you would be in big trouble climbing out again in the swell. This is NOT for sea swimmers. You aren't encouraged to go beyond the confines of the resort area waterside at any rate. There is no path to walk along beyond the fence which surrounds this side of the resort. So NOT for coastal walkers. This is for pool side holidaymakers who like a VIEW of the sea. The hotel is right on the sea so the view is unimpeded.

There is a shuttle service you can book 24 hours in advance to take you to other places like Valetta, and if you forget to do that you can take a cheap bus. The traffic to Valetta is heavy and slow with many bottlenecks along the winding inlets and marinas. I thought how easy it would be to get to Valetta which is three bays along, in a motor boat. It would take 10 minutes and be a real asset to the resort, instead of being stuck in a traffic jam in a bus for forty minutes. Somebody should build a jetty, pontoon or breakwater. Then this hotel would be up to Cote D'Azur standards.

Finally when you order a meal on the terrace make absolutely sure the waiter has understood your order. An order for a small portion of mussels with linguini became a large portion of lobster with linguini when it arrived! I didn't bother arguing as it looked and tasted good and it only cost 15 euros. Food is generally OK at this hotel. Good cocktails. I also asked for ice cream which wasn't on the bar menu and got it without demur. They do English afternoon teas too. As I said cosy as long as you don't want to escape to the sea or the sea shore.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron V, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. We are glad to hear it was a positive one and you had the opportunity of sampling our Food and Drink which you seem to have enjoyed. On the other hand we are sorry to hear about your dissappointment with the lack of sea access. Indeed we do have a small jetty and ladder to access the sea at the end of the resort. Perhaps we will be able to indicate its location on a future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back,

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Although it locates near St Julian, its surroundings are very quiet. You can take bus to Valletta - it comes every 12 minutes. Its restaurant is also marvellous. You should try their sugo nero risotto.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Tatsuo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron V, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our resort. We are glad to hear your stay was enjoyable and you liked the food and service. We will certainly be sharing your feedback with our chefs. May we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great hotel, check in was not supposed to be until 3pm, we arrived just after 12 and the room was ready no quibble, deserves the 5* as very relaxing, clean, staff helpful, certainly would consider again if it fell within price bracket and its wasn't bad 118 euro a night :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Paul / Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron V, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay. We are glad to hear your experience was positive. May we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Aaron Vella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,379 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,747 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's

Address: St George's Bay | St. Julian's, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3391, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £58 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Rezidor, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian`s Hotel Saint Julian`s
Radisson Saint Julians
Radisson Malta
Sas Radisson Malta
Saint Julians Radisson
Radisson Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Radisson
Radisson Bay Point Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing