We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities and good food make for an excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great facilities and good food make for an excellent stay.”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My wife and I have have just returned from our first visit to Malta .
My choice of hotel was entirely down to the reviews already on Tripadvisor and the fact that the Hilton was going to be twice the price for exactly the same bed and breakfast deal .
The hotel is modern with every conceivable facility available if you want it.
The room was spacious enough and cleaned regularly to a high standard.
Breakfasts are what you make them , the healthy option is there if you want it, so is the cholesterol overdose. I chose the latter and loved it.
The hotel has several restaurants available but the star of the show is Le Bistro, its open twenty four hours a day if you need it.
A wide choice of food is on offer and its well presented and delicious with it.
Service was not always as efficient as it could have been but they do get busy, but all the same I give them a 90%.
The quality of their burgers is enough to put Mc Donalds out of business and the fresh fish were still wrigglin.The home made soups were a particular favourite and almost a meal in itself.
Better still eat early and get 20% off,
Quality food at reasonable prices, but the price of the drinks needs to be reassessed.
Very expensive drinks if you choose to drink here and the minibar should be treat as an unexploded bomb!
The staff are tremendously friendly, helpful and talkative and help to make the holiday even more memorable.
So then its great food, expensive drinks and friendly service in nice surroundings.
Two out of three ain,t bad,because there are bars within a ten minute walk.
The bus stop to Valletta is a five minute walk and the hotel runs a courtesy bus into St Julians several times a day.

We were delighted with our stay, a great choice of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheres he gone now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,251
    924
    316
    90
    37
See reviews for
585
1,233
78
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The staff at the hotel made me feel like I was walking into my own home. .
The service was top rate and very helpful
The room was terrific looking out to the ocean and pool
It was close to everthing in easy walking distance
I cant say that I didnt like anything because everything was perfect and I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again as I am intending to do next year.
As I was travelling with another couple they also remarked on how much they liked the hotel and will return when possible.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexything_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Are second stay at this hotel it was great not a bad thing to say about it they make you so welcome.The room was cleaned every day and we had a great view. We like the way the hotel treat you we are going back in september.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsue36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We had a really lovely holiday, the hotel was was great. Service was excellent and everyone was friendly. The food again was 1st class and could not be faulted. The cleaner of our room asked us every day if we were happy with the rooms, we always said yes, however there was dust in various places but the rest was good enough.
The hotel location was wonderful, loads of sunbeds (which you were not aloud to leave towels on), also they had lovely soft cushions on. The pools were very cold, which put me off swimming, but we were not too bothered. Our room looked over the sea, which was a stones throw away. The hotel was only 10 mins from a nice shopping area and although it was a bit steep in places, it was a nice walk.
The reason we would not go again is only because of the cost of the drinks in the hotel. They catered for business people as well and of course as their bills just go on their expenses tabs, the hotel can charge what they like, which means the holiday makers suffer as well. £5 for half litre water, £5 for beer and again for orange juice and lemonade is disgusting. Naturally we were reluctant to buy drinks from the hotel which is sad because we would have had far me if less expensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

A great hotel that balances holiday and business functions extremely well. No loud business people with mobiles by the pool! Room very large but sparcely furnished. Nowhere to sit to watch TV other than a dining chair or the bed.

Word of warning. Watch out for the timeshare touts in the hotel. We were invited to have a look at the Radisson Golden Sands Hotel. On arrival we were ushered into a business suite, asked about pensions and given the hard sell. Having sought clarification regarding the trip beforehand we were not too pleased. Three hours later we managed to escape!

Despite all that we would go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pictonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smollach
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2009

we attend a family wedding in Malta and stayed in the raddisson bay point, like someone said earlier think of it as 4 star, and you will be ok . Its a lovely clean hotel and the chambermaids do an excellent job cannot fault them, thomas the concierge is a true gent and a font of knowledge, the raddisson would do well to consider him for promotion.
2 Biggest gripes i have
the wedding was on a day of the chelsea match, we had the bridge bar booked for the wedding party, in comes the bar manager and asks (tells actually) the bride the the reception must be stopped as there were other customers in the hotel that wanted to come into the bar to watch the match. needless to say that didnt go down well and we sent him off with his tail between his legs, you dont stop an irish wedding for a stupid chelsea match of all things, maybe liverpool.
Night before the wedding we went to the bistro for dinner and ordered from the set menu to make things easier on the kitchen staff, there was out table 24 of us and another table of 10 and we still had to wait 2 hours just for our starters to come. After asking numerous times what was the hold up and getting no answers. The restaurant manager was really really really useless, not once did a waiter come to the table to check if we were alright there was only 3 tables in the bistro it wouldn't have taken a great deal of effort to make sure we were been fed.
when the food came 7 plates had to be sent back and then they never came to take a dessert order, that was the first and last night we ate in the hotel, there are lovely little places to eat all over st julian that dont claim to be 5 star. The bistro staff are pompus and at the very best rude. Its fine to say you are five star and be proud of it if you have something to back it up, we weren't a difficult group to please far from it but our trip was almost ruined by having to complain constantly that night. Another additional gripe is the price in the bar, a bottle of water changed price 4 times in a day ranging from 3.80 to 4.97 . I heard them say the price of beer as well kept changing. There is no need to screw the tourist raddisson, after all they wont come back if you do, i loved malta but not the raddisson never again

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smollach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2009

This was our first stay in Malta and we only chose a 5-star due to a great deal with Expedia.

Room temperature - there is a built-in fan in the room but this didn't seem to do a great deal and I found it too hot at night, this may be because the hotel air con was set too high for me.

Breakfast buffet was excellent - pastries, cakes, rolls, toast, cheese, ham, fruit salad, strawberries, jams, compotes, cereals, nuts, yoghurt, biscuits, fried, scrambled and boiled eggs, beans, sausages, bacon, potatoes, mushrooms; fast and effiecient service.

During our stay there were several weddings but we saw very little of the wedding guests, and a 3-day conference which did involve a poster display and reception in the lobby (perhaps a little intrusive but also a chance to relish the fact we were away from work!) and a rather loud party in the Bridge Bar (when closed the windows did block most of the noise).

We ate in the Bistro restaurant once - small with an intimate atmosphere and delicious deserts - and at the 3-course evening buffet in the Kontiki restaurant once - we were one of only 5 tables occupied in a huge room with enough food to feed an army making the atmosphere a little stifled but service excellent and food good (EUR 28). The Kontiki restaurant was closed 3 days to cater for the weddings/conference.

Outside area - freshwater pool at the top of the 'horseshoe' formed by the hotel, and 2 seawater pools set amongst rockeries/palms near the Edge restaurant (open from May). It was very quiet in late April/early May as the weather wasn't hot enough for many southern Europeans, and only the very hardy were braving the unheated pools. Area very clean and tidy, no unpleasant smells and with a breeze that would be very welcome in the summer sun.

Location - the Radisson is at the end of a street dominated by the San Gorg and Marina hotels, it is a steep walk down to St George's Bay (a small sandy beach with a cafe and beach shop), next to that is Paceville and a shopping complex, and beyond that the more appealing Spinola Bay with a wide range of restaurants and pretty setting. It cost approx EUR 20 for the taxi from the airport. There is a bus stop 300m from the hotel where you can get the 66 to Sliema or Valetta for EUR 0.47.

Rooms - very spacious with lots of storage space, the double beds were 'zipped' together singles, the balcony was large and had a seaview but most did not get any sun and the chairs were flimsy plastic.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,680 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's

Property: Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Address: St George's Bay | St. Julian's, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3391, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Rezidor, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian`s Hotel Saint Julian`s
Radisson Saint Julians
Radisson Malta
Sas Radisson Malta
Saint Julians Radisson
Radisson Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Radisson
Radisson Bay Point Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing