We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - recommended”
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We stayed for 2 weeks and could not fault the very friendly staff - everyone that we came into contact with couldn't have been more helpful especially the waiters and waitresses in the Bistro restaurant and the Bridge Bar. The hotel runs a shuttle bus service into Sliema and Valletta and although this costs a little more than the no 66 bus it's a price worth paying for the door to door service. The hotel's grounds are lovely with a choice of pools and for the energetic there's a well stocked gym and tennis courts are available. The hotel is an easy uphill walk from St Julians where there are plenty of bars and restaurants and provides an excellent base for a holiday to Malta.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    922
    315
    90
    37
See reviews for
584
1,230
78
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

15 mins stroll into St Julians it is not. No real entertainment in hotel as promised, only a pianist who played for an hour.
Breakfast was very good but hotel bar expensive for drinks and you were not allowed to use the fridge in your room or you would be charged for what you had taken out.
More a hotel for conferences and weddings than for holidaymakers.
We used the spa pool once and found it grubby all around the pool, jaquzzi was poor and we both came out with lots of bites which I feel was because workmen were removing ceiling tiles while we were in there and may have disturbed insects.We wondered why it was empty the day we went in and now I know why.
Also the steps into the pool were loose but when I pointed this out was told it was quite safe. We didn't use it again
Our room was above the ballroom and the music went on till 1.30am on 3 nights of our weeks stay.
Bar was also closed on 2 nights for private function.
Not what I expected for the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue22_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I agree with most of the reviews on here. The Radisson offers excellent accomodation and service at a reasonable price. The people on here who whinge about it not being a real five star hotel seem to be missing the point as far as I am concerned, as there are not many places where you can get a five star hotel including breakfast for 80 euros a night.
Anyway in my opinion I am actually glad that it doesn't have the usual five star attributes- i.e. flunkies fawning over you everywhere you turn in order to solicit tips.
The atmosphere at the Radisson is much more relaxed but still the service is at a good level. The breakfast buffet was great and all other meals we took at the restaurant had a high quality/price ratio.
OK the mini bar and room service prices may be a little steep when converted to the crumbling pound, but by other euro zone standards (Spain, France Italy etc) they are still a real bargain.
Sure, some of the fixtures and fittings in the rooms are a little tired, and our room smelled a bit musty when we arrived, but overall the standard was pretty good.
My appreciation of this hotel was also colored by the fact that we were given a free upgrade to a Junior Suite with a massive terrace overlooking the sea.
Malta on the other hand is still a scruffy, shabby , cultureless place. Its only asset is the sun and the sea and hotels like this one which are perfect for short off season breaks. If I had one crticism it would be that the hotels so called Lido is not really a Lido as I understand it as there is no proper acces to the sea. The saltwater pools were fine but I like to swim in the sea, and during our stay tis was not possible as it seemed that the conctrete jetty was crumbling and there was no ladder to acces the sea. in order to get to the sea we had to climb over the fence into the Corinthian hotels Lido which is not really an option for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2009

myself & my new husband , would just like to say a big thankyou to the staff & management off the radisson , from when we first arrived untill we left , the staff and management bent over backwards to make us all feel so welcome . The hotel and staff are credit to themselves . The friendliest & best hotel ive stayed in . The manager went out off his way to make sure our wedding was one to remmeber & the week in malta will never be forgotten throughout the 82 guests that came with us . The hotel was amazing . And i just cant speek highly enough off its staff lovely lovely people . We will be definately be going back to malta and definately be staying in the radisson when we are their . Thank you so much to everybody within the hotel for making it a memory we will all never forget

Kare & keith o farrell

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_p_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We were very impressed with our whole experience at this hotel. All the staff from the maids to the reception staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful. The rooms and facilities are 5 star and well maintained. The rooms are serviced to perfection daily. We certainly hope to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0ris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We have stayed at this hotel for our last 6 visits to Malta and we still think that this is an excellent hotel. ALL the staff are friendly, welcoming, helpful and polite. Nothing was to much trouble, even during busy periods.
Any problems that did arise were dealt with effectively and promptly by the Guest Relations Manager. The range and quality of the food was outstanding and the portions were very generous. Our kids were very well looked after at the kids club and the extension of the kids club opening hours was a real bonus. The pool staff ensured that there were plenty of spare sunbeds so we didn't have to get up early to reserve them.
Our room was kept clean and tidy by the housekeeping staff with any additional requirements acted upon quickly.

My family thoroughly enjoyed their stay and we are all looking forward to coming back, worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1veryhappycustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed for a week in July. Liked it so much we're going back in November. This was our 2nd trip to Malta and our 1st stay in this hotel. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is spacious and I love all the marble. The rooms etc are very clean and well furnished. The resturants in the hotel are great. Buffet breakfast is varied and plentiful. The chef will cook your eggs just how you like them. The 24 hour resturant just off of Reception is simply super. The staff are very friendly and the food is fantastic. The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from St.Julians Bay where there is a good selection of local resturants. I highly recommend "La Gonella" for traditional Maltese food. My husband recommends the rabbit. If you don't fancy going out, the hotel is fabulous to eat in and relax in the bar for pre dinner drinks and a cocktail before bed. I recommend the "Radisson Cooler".

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoopsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,670 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's

Property: Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Address: St George's Bay | St. Julian's, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3391, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian`s Hotel Saint Julian`s
Radisson Saint Julians
Radisson Malta
Sas Radisson Malta
Saint Julians Radisson
Radisson Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Radisson
Radisson Bay Point Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing