We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Oustanding service”
Reviewed 8 November 2009

First impressions always count - Victor, the concierge, greeted us on arrival and throughout the entire trip could not have been more helpful with suggestions and assistance. Our reservation was not in the system correctly when we arrived, but the girl at the desk offered us a coffee at the bar while she sorted everything out.

We got a gorgeous room overlooking the sea which was spacious and clean. A few downsides as mentioned here in other places drop it from a 5 to a 4 star for us: the queen bed was two thin-mattressed twin beds pushed together; no handcream or conditioner (which becomes an issue in this era of limited liquids on flights); chairs on the balcony not cleaned daily; and no scxreen on the door - and based on the number of bites we had, there are plenty of mosquitos. Overall, the maid service was excellent. The lovely wood floors were cleaned daily and the room was always spotless. Further, in keeping with the "service" attitude, clothes left on chairs were put neatly away, teddy bears tucked into bed, and personal toiletries in the bathroom tidied but not all moved around.

The included breakfast was always good and plentiful. Specialty coffees and sparkling wine and water were also a part of every breakfast buffet - a nice bonus compared to many. As expected, always someone on hand for special requests of eggs and omelets. Overall, a good English breakfast every day. Service (coffee refills, clear plates, etc) was impeccable.

Although Victor recommended several restaurants in easy walking distance, due to night blindness we chose to eat dinners at the hotel all 4 nights. We're not buffet people so we ate all meals at the 24 hour restaurant. Changing daily specials, combined with a great offer of local wine and "cafe meal" kept dinners from being repetitive. Food was consistently good. Not a 5 star restaurant, but very good.

Overall, we would go back in a heartbeat, and recommend it to anyone who asks.

There's an old joke that reaturants in hell have French waiters. After our recent trip, we think the waiters in heaven are Maltese.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiseleMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    925
    317
    90
    37
See reviews for
585
1,238
78
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

This was our second stay at the Radisson. We like it because it is quiet and offers excellent views and service, but is close enough to the tourist and shopping areas to make them easily accessible. Also there is parking, which is important, as we always hire a car in Malta. From one side of the hotel you get views right across the northern villages, such as St Paul's Bay as far as Mellieha and Gozo. One the other side is a first hand view of St George's Bay and the Dragonara Palace Casino.

The staff are always very courteous and willing to help. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent.

I would recommend this place to anyone, particularly those who like a calm, restful holiday. The pools are excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andromeda143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Welcome and efficient at Front Desk, the Room Service was good and the sea views enjoyable.
Evening meals fist class quality and quantity.
It was my wife's birthday and without prompting Wine and chocolates delivered to our room.
Recomend a Hire Car to enjoy the Island.
A great Stay, will return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEDBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed here for a week and were very pleased with the hotel from the moment we arrived. Yes it is outside of St Julians, and up a slight hill, but it was only 5 -10 mins walk into Paceville and the bussle and nightlife. The hotel claims to be 5* but I would agree with other reviewers that it isn't - more 4*. The reception areas etc are very presentable and spacious. The bedrooms are quite big but they could do with redecoration to bring up their standard and provide the 'niceties' of a 5*. The reception staff were friendly and efficient from the moment we arrived until we left, and we had the booked side sea view room. All the staff we came across were courteous and friendly all the time. You could have breakfast outside on the terrace or in the dining area and the choice was good, but the cooked breakfast choice could have varied a bit more. It was nice though to have fresh eggs and omelettes cooked for you in front of you. Being 5* though I would have thought they would have done you your toast rather than self making! We ate one night in the Bistro and although the menu was limited it was good quality. The pool areas were clean and well maintained and there were plenty of sunbeds and mattresses available. There is an inside pool, gym and sauna and if you are into the gym there is a well equipped facility too.
A 2 min walk from the hotel is Vinotheque which is attached to Corinthia Marina Hotel - highly recommend for a lovely french meal. Should also try The Spoon at Portomaso and Peppis at St Julians - both good, but would give Papperazi at Spinola Bay a miss for food but OK for view and drink overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloowarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

This is our second visit to this lovely hotel in 6 months. We enjoyed it very much. The sea view room(352) was excellent thanks to the lovely Marika (guest relations). The food in the Bistro could not have been better. We were looked after very well by Fabian( the boss) and Tristian (the Malta wine expert). You can be sure that if you visit this hotel you can be certain the you will be looked after very well by the superb staff, nothing is ever too much trouble for them.
The pool and sunbathing areas are excellent and kept so clean by Morgan who always wishes you "Happy sunshine"

There is just one negative comment we would like to make and that is the unbelievable prices of drinks especially WATER!!, 4.50 Euro for a litre of water is robbery!!
We will be back for another visit to this friendly hotel soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I stayed here for 2 weeks, from 29-Sep-09 to 13-Oct-09 and had a really nice holiday. This hotel offered just about everything I was expecting of a 5 star. The staff were very good at their jobs and were always friendly, polite and courteous. For me, this was definitely a big strength of the hotel - it's staff. Special mention to Thomas at Concierge who was highly efficient and professional but at the same time had a down to earth and friendly manner which I liked. The food was very good, especially the breakfasts. The amenities were very good as well - pools and fitness centre etc. The evening entertainment probably could had been a bit more varied and better but this wasn't much of a disappointment for me. Accommodation was excellent - spacious room kept very clean and tidy thanks to the maids who cleaned my room every morning (not afternoon which I've experienced in other hotels!).

I would however express my annoyance with the hotel prices, particularly food and drink. The Bridge Bar prices were, in my view, extortionate - £2.80 for a small local beer, £2.70 for a cafe latte, Food in the Bistro, although very good, was also pricey. I stayed at this hotel when it was more or less £1 for 1 Euro, and so that needs to be taken into account. But even allowing for this, it's not cheap. I've no doubt the hotel would attract more business if it lowered its prices! Most guests ate and drank elsewhere. One other avoidable cost - Internet is charged at around 0.40 Euros per minute! Down the road I used an Internet Cafe and paid 1 Euro for 30 minutes - what a difference!

Anyway, all said and done, I was very happy with the hotel.

Gerard Queen
Glasgow

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The hotel is located in a quiet location 10 minutes walk from the busy centre of St Julians and has spectacular views along the coast and Med. The hotel offers all the high quality services one would expect from a 5* establishment. The staff are always friendly, courteous, helpful and efficient allowing the guests to wallow in a really relaxed, yet luxurious atmosphere. With several restaurants the hotel can cater to all tastes and does this extremely well. The Al Fresco experience can be sublime. The overall atmosphere was one of relaxed efficiency. All in all we had a superb stay allowing us to also take advantage of Malta's varied and interesting historical past.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's

Property: Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Address: St George's Bay | St. Julian's, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3391, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian`s Hotel Saint Julian`s
Radisson Saint Julians
Radisson Malta
Sas Radisson Malta
Saint Julians Radisson
Radisson Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Radisson
Radisson Bay Point Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing