We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hostel Malti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Malti
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a great hostel!
I spent 8 days in Malta recently and I would highly recommend it.
Chris and the team were so friendly and really made my stay so comfortable.
The hostel is very clean, fresh and with an awesome rooftop with a lounge and Jacuzzi!
When I return to Malta in the future I would definitely stay with them again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bidzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    29
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
17
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

great hostel, great location and the rooftop is just amazing!
i've been backpacking for a while and i have to tell that hostel is very cosy with a great family spirit.
advice to all backpackers make sure you stay for the mojito nights at the hostel.
special thank chris and aaron for the effort put into make my experience in malta so awesome!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXANDRE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We came, we saw, and decided to stay at Hostel Malti. We felt really welcome and at home right away. Aaron (manager) & Chris (owner) were really helpful from the start and as such it was a piece of cake making plans for our time in Malta. After each day of experiencing Malta it was ever so nice returning to the Hostel again, where other guest were chatting away and getting ready for evening events. The hostel is located quite centrally and near to the bay which is a lovely place during the day and night. Fruit/vegetable stands, supermarkets, and bus stops were just around the corner. During the trips that were organised by Aaron and Chris, to St. Peters Pool, Comino (as far as we know) there was a really good atmosphere which made each trip a truly joyful experience! Many thanks for that!
Cheers Gido & Emma!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gido1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A very appreciable and comfy hostel, run by passionated and serious team, always willing to help with all your questions, and giving you tips and advices for your activities, dinner, parties.
Not too crowded in end-September, we have space and don't have to queue long for anything.
They organize activities such as day-trip, barbecues, or other theme parties.
Situated close from the coast (less than 10 minutes for the closest spots, about 10 for other restaurants, and up to 15 for nightlife.
+ They insist to keep the hostel and surrounding silent from 23.00 (11pm), do their best to improve everyday, and are happy to hear recommendations about it.
+ Comfy bed, 8bed-room ("Sea") spacious enough, kitchen well equipped
+ Rooftop terrace is large and comfortable (sun until 4-5pm, partly shadowed afterwards)
+- They know about the old ventilation and everything should be fixed before summer 2014 to make your stay even better and more relaxing.
- Cleanliness in shower could be better, but it's not too much annoying me.

I highly recommend this hostel

Room Tip: Choose the "Sea" (blue) = more spacious, limited to 8 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulbisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Chris and Aaron are great!
The girls that work for them, to "learn English" should knock before they barge into your room at 8am to empty your garbage bin. Or wait for you to leave for the day till they help them selves to your room.
Note: ~shared rooms do not lock, there are big drawers to lock your belongings in
~People come and go from the roof top even though it's guests only... There are always people on the roof till 11pm.
~ large numbers of intimidating crews sit on the front steps talking till at all hours of the day...
~bathrooms are filthy- dirty floors and shower rooms... Everything just needs a good scrub.
~no soap to wash hands in the bathrooms-BYO, DONT DRINK THE WATER
~dog tied to the front of the building, just if you don't like dogs...
~ rooms very poorly light

Affordable and centrally located... Wouldn't stay here alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I spent 3 wonderful days in Malta thanks to Chris, Aaron and the hostel Malti crew. It's the best hostel experience ever! The atmosphere is really familiar and they do their best to make you feel welcome. I was alone when I arrived and I came back with a bunch of friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitri11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Although we were only there for two nights, we had an amazing time at Hostel Malti. Chris and Aaron are mentioned throughout these forums because they truly make your stay memorable. They take the time to help plan your days and go on excursions. They go above and beyond to ensure that your stay there is perfect. My travel buddy and I were so sad when we had to leave.

The rooms are nice with many fans to get you through the summer heat. Jacuzzi as well as sitting area on the rooftop are great ways to make memorable friends from around the world. It's located just a few minutes away from the shoreline as well as the bars/nightclubs.

Seriously, best hostel that I've ever stayed in during my month long eurotrip. You will leave wanting more and missing the memories that you've made at this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KShui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Malti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Malti

Property: Hostel Malti
Address: 41 Telghet Birkirkara | Ta' Giorni, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1147, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Malti 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Malti is a Backpacker style Hostel conveniently located near the party area of Paceville, Saint Julien's. Also we are only a 5 min walk from restaurants, cafes, shops, pubs, clubs, bars, the sea, buses and much more. We are in the quiet area of Ta' Giorni so you can come home and relax or chill-out on the rooftop. The Hostel architecture is a converted Maltese home dating back some 50 years. The three bright and clean dormitory rooms; Sun, Sea & Sand - are all equipped with free lockers for your luggage, for of peace of mind when you’re out enjoying the day. Well travelled and local staff gives you the opportunity to ask us about any Maltese knowledge or culture to do with our historic archipelago. Did you know... Malta has an average of 299 days of Blue Skies per year. Very few places (if any) can boast such sunshine in Europe. Now, with all these budget airlines flying into our small archipelago, why not book a quick weekend winter break. Come and enjoy our sights and weather in a place created by people who themselves love traveling. Check out our reviews and you will realize that not only do we provide you with a comfortable chill out roof terrace with sea views to relax on, but other areas where you can read your book, use our free Wi-Fi connection to stay in touch with the rest of the world 24/7, while you gently sway on our large terrace swing. Come in and say hi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostel Malti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Malti Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing