We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and nice people”
Review of Hostel Malti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostel Malti
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and nice people”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

For the last 4 weeks I stayed in hostel malti. I was in Malta for an English course and I think the combination with the hostel is a good combination to learn English. In the hostel is an open atmosphere. At first Chris and Aaron are nice people, interested and they created a place where everybody is willing to hang with the others. The looks in and outside the hostel are nice. Every room has it's own theme with nice paintings on the wall.

Sometimes Chris and Aaron organized activities. We went to Camino once and did there some cliffdiving. They know the nice places to go to, so on the trip to Camino they could tell us where we had to go to for the best views and swims.

The same is with the activities I wanted to do by myself. They know the nice places and told me what I needed to see, especially the less touristic areas like Hassan's cave.

I decided to take my bicycle with me on the plane to Malta. This costed me €100, after the 4 weeks I'm glad I did it. Malta is "small", but has some steep hills. With a normal mountainbike and some trained legs these are easy to cycle.
I'm surprised that the people on the internet and the Maltese themselves only see the danger of cycling in Malta. I think much more people have to cycle on Malta then you can see the beauty of the whole island. When you cycle 10km from the hostel your in a complete different quiet world, that's what I like about Malta.

I would advice everyone who loves to cycle to take a bicycle with them or hire it. A bicycle rental is 2km from the hostel in San Gwann (The Cyclist). Another thing that I would recommend to do is a walk or cycletour along the sea from Marsascale to Marsaxlokk. There are some nice cliffs and St. Peter's pool, not very touristic but a must to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    29
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
17
65
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The owners of the hostel, Chris and Aaron, are gifted by a sincere and genuine hospitality. During the check-in they provided me with all the info about the island. I spent one week at the hostel and I've always had a pleasent time and good feeling there. The common room is cozy and there is always someone to talk with. The terrace is an extra value, a relaxing jacuzzi is available after a long sunny day, there is also a chance to make a bbq and to chill out with a beer and chat. Great time at hostel Malti!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgeteurotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hospitality of the owners and workers was amazing.
They were very helpful, made sure they would be around when we were arriving late at night, helped carry our bags into our room (which is very rare) and took us out nightclubbing and on tours.
They have an awesome upstairs balcony area with a spa, this hostel creates many friendships!
The only thing was the private room we stayed in the common bathroom didn't seem to get cleaned very often otherwise it was a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Relaxed, chilled out & super friendly vibe - after a day out exploring the delights of Malta, it was like walking into your front room with your mates there to greet you! Chris & Aaron are incredible hosts, they could not have been more friendly & welcoming!

Fantastic communal area with comfy sofas, pleasant kitchen & dining room table that was perfect for a sociable game of spoons! The rooftop terrace is very cool & comfy, the perfect place to curl up & ready your book & the jacuzzi was a real treat, especially after a chilly winter dip in the bay.

I am not normally one to retrace my steps, but I will be returning to Hostel Malti - honestly, it's a real gem!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green-Turtle-Loz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Best week of my two months vacation. Staff and owner fantastic! They made me feel at home from the first second. They had knowledge and good advise about everything. Super balcony with Jacuzzi. I just loved the Jacuzzi, perfect after a long day walking along the cliffs. I loved the art everywhere, It was clean, comfortable bed, Spacious kitchen and living room ++ Thank you Chris and Aaron + the girls. I fell in love with Malta and all of you. See you next year ;o) Big hug from Ladybird

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybird_Split
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hostel Malti is like a home away from home. We stayed in the new private rooms, they were incredible. The new lounge area is relaxing and the roof top area is unbelievable. I own a hostel in Central America and know how people want to be treated. Chris goes out of his way to make sure you know what there is to do and how to do it. Chris, thanks for the great advice, you made our trip special.

Room Tip: The new private rooms can¨t be beat, especially for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Thank you Hostel Malti for your great hospitality! The rooms are specious with own draws to lock away your belongings and keep the room.tidy, small kitchen to cook and have your breakfast, cosy living area and an awesome rooftop balcony with spa that we sadly didn't use as it was winter. Aaron is a great host and a great guy!;-) I've been in many hostels and your hostel was definetely the best hostel I stayed so far. I'm looking forward to my next stay :-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkehhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,869 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#18 of 33 in Saint Julian's
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boho Hostel
Boho Hostel
#1 of 31 in Saint Julian's
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Malti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Malti

Property: Hostel Malti
Address: 41 Telghet Birkirkara | Ta' Giorni, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1147, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Malti 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Malti is a Backpacker style Hostel conveniently located near the party area of Paceville, Saint Julien's. Also we are only a 5 min walk from restaurants, cafes, shops, pubs, clubs, bars, the sea, buses and much more. We are in the quiet area of Ta' Giorni so you can come home and relax or chill-out on the rooftop. The Hostel architecture is a converted Maltese home dating back some 50 years. The three bright and clean dormitory rooms; Sun, Sea & Sand - are all equipped with free lockers for your luggage, for of peace of mind when you’re out enjoying the day. Well travelled and local staff gives you the opportunity to ask us about any Maltese knowledge or culture to do with our historic archipelago. Did you know... Malta has an average of 299 days of Blue Skies per year. Very few places (if any) can boast such sunshine in Europe. Now, with all these budget airlines flying into our small archipelago, why not book a quick weekend winter break. Come and enjoy our sights and weather in a place created by people who themselves love traveling. Check out our reviews and you will realize that not only do we provide you with a comfortable chill out roof terrace with sea views to relax on, but other areas where you can read your book, use our free Wi-Fi connection to stay in touch with the rest of the world 24/7, while you gently sway on our large terrace swing. Come in and say hi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostel Malti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Malti Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing