We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen is going "from strength to strength"”

Zen Japanese Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki
Ranked #39 of 311 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$56 - US$103
Cuisines: Sushi, Diner, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Zen was Malta's first Japanese restaurant and it is still widely regarded to be the best, with a wide selection of specialities and delicacies including miso soup, sushi, sashimi, vegetable & prawn tempura, as well as fish, meat and vegetarian dishes traditionally cooked and served in our Teppanyaki private room. The contemporary style of the restaurant blends effortlessly with the chic menu, providing an all-round, Japanese-style dining experience. Japanese cuisine is a ritual in itself - a celebration of time-honoured traditions, fresh ingredients and charming hospitality. Our knowledgeable staff will be happy to guide you - whether this is your first taste of Japanese cuisine or the latest of many!
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Zen is going "from strength to strength"”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Every time we arrive in Malta, our first dinner is at Zen for a fantastic Japanese meal. Nadia, the owner and charming hostess who has herself lived in Japan has made terrific improvements to the menu in the last year or so. Invariably, there is a new dish to discover each time we come here. The service is impeccable and the lovely Vessi makes sure that the sake never runs out. Zen is a "must go" for every visitor to Malta.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank PHS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    81
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great wine, great host”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It was quite a surprise to find such a place in Malta, definitely a nice change from the local cuisine. The Its not the cheapest place around but it stands up to its great reputation. After the whole meal we even went back and ordered some more starters! Which shows that food is delicious, but also that portion sizes are small.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Savage3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

There is only one word to describe the brilliantly made sushi there : AMAZING! Once you start you will not be able to stop! The service is always with a big smile. The prices are reasonable. I remember the first time I bit into a nigiri : A big far smile just crossed my face. I RECOMEND THIS TO EVERYONE WHO WANTS A GREAT MEAL!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncanator_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We've been to zen several times. We really enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. Thanks also to the great staff and management zen always makes our special occasions ones to remember!! Well done and we recommend zen very much

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davos Platz, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tokyo prices in Malta”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

On March 21 we went to Zen for dinner, a party of 5. The food quality and presentation was ok but nothing more. I lived and worked 30 years in Asia so I think I am entitled to judge.

The seaweed sheet for the handroll was "soggy" instead of crisp, but my real issue is with the pricing policy of this establishment. Items are very expensive. For a tiny bowl of Edamame and steamed rice and extra EUR 3.75 and EUR 3.00 was charged respectively.
I complained to the head witress and she asked me to leave the email address as the owner would contact me. Till now I have not heard anything. There is much better value than the Zen in Malta.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edyleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aellul, Owner at Zen Japanese Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Reviewer.

Thank you for your feedback.

We do endeavour to follow up on our "genuine" customers’ input; consequently we always take “constructive complaints” seriously.

However your case aims to be just a "support" to the previous reviewer since, as you might very well remember, you were attending the same party at the same table on the same eve.

If only Tripadvisor could be physically present at any reviewer's dining experience all this would be definitely spared to them and to any reader.

Last but not least it is brave to say "we are still waiting for the owner to contact us" when your tripadvisor review was sent by phone even before having paid the bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zen Japanese Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Zen Japanese Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing