We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“are there two assaggi,s ???”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Assaggi - CLOSED

Assaggi
Price range: US$21 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated in the heart of St Julians right behind Pendor gardens,up the road from HSBC bank, Assaggi is established and a favorite in the heart of the locals, with a chique, rustic dining room, that doesn't fail to impress .Our focus is firmly on great seasonal produce, a combination of Italian and French influences offers a unique tasting experience.Private parking available.
alicante
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“are there two assaggi,s ???”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

judging by reviews read and my experience think we must have visited assaggi 2 (possibly in a parallel universe!!! )
the location is pretty dire in a rundown apartment block courtyard (complte with resident ´topcat´style brigade of stray cats on parade). this could be forgiven if some effort was made in terms of ambience in the restaurant or on the dark dismal terrace but had the feelin no money or very little has been spent on the place for some cosiderable time !!!
onto the food - the ´complmentary´amuse bouche served in what appeared to be a ceramic nite lite holder struggled to live up to its elaborate description, the cauliflower soup (which i love) managed to be overly rich and creamy whilst devoid of any taste of caulflower and a little stale tasting as though, heaven forbid, it had been made some days ago, the scallop perched in the middle was however tasty and perfectly cooked .
the duo of foie, was pretty tasty but the presentation whilst trying hard ended up looking pretty amatureish - oblong metal tray with walnut size ´blob´of warm foie directly on tray, confiture (jam) in that nite lite holder again!!! , biscottes (toast) in individual metal flan holder and the cold foi covering the bottom (just) of a 5 inch tall lid less old jam jar!!!
the rack of veal turned out to be a veal chop, not seasoned, pretty chewy and tastless served with a rather non descript gooey sauce on a bed of mash - all in all a bit of a mess!! the duo of fish whilst ok was simply 2 pan fried fillets (no rocket science there) on a sweet rather sickly fennel foam - oh how i dislke ´foams´- think they,ve had their day!!!
overall so disappointed as had been really looking forward to some fine dining based on reviews. when mentioned to the waiter the rather unbalanced menu with 7 steak based dishes, 1 fish, and 1 rabbit (no chicken, no pork, no lamb , no duck !!!) was told they were predominently a steak house and NOT fine dining (his words not mine) - i suggested then they really should not be charging fine dining prices - 2 starters, 2 mains, 1 x 16 euro bottle wine (good value the vino) - total 99 euros !!!
only 2 other tables of 2 on night we visited , so could hardly say thay were slammed - service was good - friendly and professional - chef walked by our table twice but never stopped for a little chat - perhaps just as well!!!
whilst might not quite be in need of a ramsey kitchen nightmare visit (yet) think as trading on gordon as their ´mentor´he,d probably say they need " a right good kick up the ****** **** !!!!!
really hope one day , maybe , to find assaggi 1 as per T.A. reviews but not holding my breath !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank realmcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    22
    13
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Possibly the best beef ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I took a party of 5 to Assaggi to celebrate a special birthday, having discovered it on my last day in Malta back in April. Back then I had a lovely lunch of local tapas, wonderful belly pork, succulent chicken and splendid prawns. Last night however it was a full on dinner. We were pleased to accept the semi private dining area, which gave us some seclusion but we could still observe the comings and goings in the restaurant. We chose the fresh fish, cooked to order and presented perfectly, on the bone as requested, veal, again cooked beautifully only small complaint, there wasn't sufficient, slow cooked belly pork served with rabbit leg, wonderful combination and I lucked out with the most tender and tasty beef fillet ever. Attentive service, knowledgeable staff, decent wine list and not excessive bill at the end of a special evening. They even, at no notice accommodated my wheat allergy with freshly baked rolls. I would suggest it is worth finding this slightly old fashioned restaurant, wood panels, skin rugs and if you ask them they will arrange a nearby parking space.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungerford
Level Contributor
174 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“OMG You must go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The food and wine is Michelin class at a third of the price. Plus the staff are exceptional, going again tomorrow night

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank thatwhitewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best food I've had since living in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I moved to Malta from London a year ago and one of the biggest downsides about living here has been the complete dirth in quality dining restaurants. If I think I can cook better at home I'd rather not bother at all.So when I went to Assaggi it was with scepticism. However, I was amazed. It's the best meal I've had in Malta by a long way. It had the wow factor and I thought better than many michelin start restaurants I've eaten at in London. The head chef trained with Joel Robuschon and Gordon Ramsey and you can taste it. The place doesn't have the fancy location or decor but as a food place it's way above anything else I've eaten here so far. At last somewhere to go! The red mullet carpacio was excellent, the octopus also excellent. I had pasta and truffles which if you like truffles was amazing and the rabbit and pork belly was also excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBaker_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“But for the steak......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This restaurant surprised for the best and worst reasons. Apart from being stuck in an unprepossessing situation with no view, the decision to pass off a large hunk of meat as milk fed veal was taking the whatsit! It was the only part of a fine meal that disappointed - everything else was beautifully thought out and presented so professionally, so to receive something that looked like it had been prepared buy an enthusiastic amateur just let loose on a barbecue for the first time was astonishing. The size of the steak was out of all proportion, but worse still it was almost inedible, full of sinew and I doubt it had been hung for anything like a decent length of time.. Yes - I should have sent it back, but I prefer to soldier on and afterwards quietly suggest that this was not their finest effort. The response was that it must have been the butcher's fault. Come on.....
Major glitch which spoiled an otherwise fine meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assaggi also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing