We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Villa, in Ideal location for Relaxation”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Villa Belvedere

outdoor pool area with surrounding dining and entertaining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
outdoor pool area with surrounding dining and entertaining area
Facade view facing seaview, Villa Belvedere Villa Belvedere's signature of Luxury and style
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
outdoor pool area with surrounding dining and entertaining area
Facade view facing seaview, Villa Belvedere
Villa Belvedere's signature of Luxury and style
fully equipped kitchen/dining
Spacious open plan kitchen area
Exceptionally in deluxe style
Triple bedroom with front balcony and sea view
Triple bedroom with front balcony and sea view
oudoor dining area overlooking pool and spectaular sea views
Relaxation in superior deluxe
Private pool area with jacuzzi
communal indoor pool area with jacuzzi
double bedroom with balcony and sea view
communal indoor pool area with jacuzzi
games room
communal indoor pool area with jacuzzi
Hallway and entrance
Baystreet - shopping centre and entertainment in St.George's Bay , Paceville
Casino - 10 minutes drive
Popular Tourist beach - St.George's Bay. 5 minutes drive away
Roof top terrace with stunning views
communal indoor pool area with jacuzzi
outdoor pool area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and modern feel of the Villa
Liked least: The elecrticity charges, and the limitation of the use of the A/C
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Nov 2012
Whilst we thank you for your time in submitting us a good review, i have taken the minor issues you had into consideration and that i can respond in just a few words. Electricity and water is a usual procedure for us that guests are given the actual reading upon arrival. They are also given enough usage consumption for the whole week. Yes, however it must be used responsibly as it is payable extra for that extra usage (subject to over consumption here). Guests are provided with starter pack for the first few days. Then it is on a self catering basis. Check out time is 09.30am mornings. Two cleaners run the villa in cleaning and the check in time is at 15.30pm afternoons. The villa is huge and takes time for cleaning to be done and prepare for other guests to come. very glad to hear that you had a wonderful time cruising the islands of Gozo, comino and blue lagoon. Thanks again David and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JYH888
Worcester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely scenic villa and helpful hosts”
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is a brand new villa in a residential part of St Julians. It was tastefully furnished and had wonderful views of the coast due to its location in High Ridge. This created a beautiful back drop for the main living space on level one which had a fantastic kitchen, open plan living and dining area. Along with the pool area this was our favourite part of the house.

Although there is no air con on the basement level fans were provided. We had 4 young children in our group and they loved playing in the Wendy house, caterpillar tunnel and table tennis that were provided. The only criticism was that the table football and pool table were coin operated which was disappointing for a luxury villa. There is one twin bedroom on this floor. We did not need to use this room but it did not have any air con although a room fan was provided.

The double bedroom on the top level boasts wonderful views of the evening and morning sun and coast. However a circular double bed is provided which really makes it suitable for one adult or 2 short people to sleep in. All other bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and nicely furnished.

The only disadvantages were as noted by other reviewers - meter readings were taken for electricity and water in case of over usage and this did create a bit of paranoia as we have never been in a luxury villa that charges extra for basic amenities. We spent 200 euros on air con during the week but it was possible to avoid switching it on in the early evenings and mornings when we opened the windows as mosquito covers are provided on all windows.

The 20 min walk into town is not a pleasant one as it runs next to a main road with no pavement in places. As a large group we used taxis and the local bus which is just a minutes walk away and runs every 12 mins straight into st Julian's and sliema. There is a basic grocery shop 15 mins walk away but the best supermarket is the Arcadia in st julians which provides free car parking when you spend over 15 euros.

The owners were incredibly helpful and responded promptly to all e mail queries. They were also able to arrange airport transfers and car and bike hire. All e mails were courteously dealt with and nothing seemed to much trouble for them to assist with. The housekeeper was also very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Villa, view and facilities. Villa owners extremely helpful.
Liked least: Not easy walk to town despite proximity. A number of extras.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parka
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Family trip”
Reviewed 27 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Family reunion with adults and teens-
Pros: Lovely pool, was clean and perfect temperature. Spacious floor plan, Plenty of sleeping/ showering space for all 12 of us. Loved the large refrigerator/freezer capacity. Tastefully decorated inside and out... the pool furniture was classy and very comfortable. The Wi-Fi worked great. We liked location, proximity to bus, and of course the views. Quiet and safe neighborhood. Grocery store is 15 minute walk away. We used rolling suitcases to tote our heavy (water bottles, etc) groceries up the hill.

Cons: When booking reservation we wanted arrival day of Monday, David replied Sunday would be best. (Oops, sunday check in fee) Management attempted to charge me his bank fees on his end in addition to my fees from my bank. Kinda sketchy practice if you ask me... Upon questioning this policy, he reluctantly paid his own fees.
Communicating with management especially on telephone was difficult, if not frantic, since english is not their first language.
Not enough space for sitting / dining in large living area... Only access to back pool patio area is down stairs through basement. We never used the outdoor dining table. Never used the game room, (oops, coin operated game tables.) The upstairs "round" bed room is navigated up a circular ladder staircase, this is the only way to get to the top patio veranda. Not very user friendly for entertaining, navigating drinks, food, guests up here would be a pain, and only 2 chairs for seating...
Not enough eating utensils, forks, spoons, etc,
(Jane brought us more drink cups/glasses, but we didn't notice the lacking supplies till after the fact.) Most of the coffee cups had chips on the edges.
Utilities usage - understanding some tenants may abuse energy usage, the policy for this is unrealistic, and created usage 'paranoia'. If the A/C is already being monitored and paid for seperately, the other utilities should be all inclusive.A/C is charged by pre-paid cards inserted into meter. This large house with many large glass windows is a challenge to keep at a comfortable temp.:
My rental agreement with David stated: A/C cost: discuss upon arrival...
On check-in The house had obviously been closed up prior to checking in it was a hot box upon arrival- we used 50 euro from midnight to 8 am to try to get a first nights sleep. We found keeping controls between 23 & 25 kept usage down. We only ran the bedroom a/c units at night from 10 pm to 7 am to sleep, and used 200 euro for the week. Leaving curtains closed during morning hours was helpful to keep heat down. I can't imagine trying to keep the house comfortable during the scorching July and August months.
No A/C in game room where a bunk room is located. Bedroom off of main living area the A/C unit never worked.
No instructions for dishwasher / washing machine usage -no dish or laundry soap provided. No kitchen trash bags provided.
No bath mats. The scant supply of towels we received was tapped into to use as bath mats also. For the contemporary open shower design these are essential to control water on floor. My husband and I shared one towel the entire week.
Some of the doors were squeeky. Trying to keep the house open to morning breeze made bedroom doors slam open and closed while trying to sleep...
We had a "fly" problem. Keeping the front door open for ventilation also let the insects in... provide a fly swatter would be a helpful solution.

Transportation- car hire would be recommended, though we were not comfortable with the "other side of the road" way to drive, with our large group we hired Wembley's car drivers vans to shuffle our large group on outings. We tried the bus, a 5 minute walk away, but it was very unreliable, no A/C most of time, and twice would not stop when we tried to get off.

Would we stay here again? In order to accomodate our large family, yes. During the hot summer months, no. Just be prepared for all the "extras", and the heat... I know my review has some negative points to it, but if you know what to expect, your stay will not disappoint.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: Policy on A/C, and utilities usage, scant basic supplies provided
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2012
We take great care in maintenance for our villas which are constantly monitored up to every detail. Optional extras are Wifi and the usage for Air conditioners with pre paid cards at Villa Belveder. On arrival guests are givin water/electricity readings with enough allowed usage for the whole week. It is stated clearly as advertised that overuse of water/electricity consumption is payable extra.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
210Marie
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful villa”
Reviewed 11 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Villa Belvedere. Everything was wonderful there. All rooms very well equipped and beautifully decorated. The pool was really good, and the amount of balcony and terrace space around was excellent.
David was very helpful as was Leonard who is the maintenance man.
Really relaxing!
The villa is located away from the busyness and noise of nearby St. Julians, although it was easy to access using local taxis and buses. We managed to visit most of Malta during our stay - really enjoyed visiting Valletta, Mdina and the old temples at Hagar Qim.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2012
Hi,
thanks for your time in submitting a review. We look forward to having you back for your next holiday. Thanks David and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peppesalu...
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
295 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Caro Cliente

Grazie per la vostra decisione di affitare villa belvedere. Purtroppo la descrizione e tutta chiara sul nostro sito che il wifi, l aria condizionata sono extra e sala da giochi si usa con gettoni. Era chiaro purtroppo. grazie

David e Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$230
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing