We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aint as bad as you hear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. George's Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Aint as bad as you hear”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Just got back from malta an stayed at the blue sea in saint julians the hotel aint that bad really we didnt pay alot £178 each for a week all inclusive. The hotel is based by bar street an can be abit noisey specially at weekends but didnt bother us the location its self is great for the buses an theres lots to do round there. The food was fine always sumthink you could find to eat its not amazeing as its a 3 star the staff are friendly specially the bar staff its cheap an cheerfull an the new owners are makeing improvements daily an cant do enough to help you. If your looking for a cheap hoilday an you like to party this is the place for you if you want 5 star my advice is book an pay for 5 star.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive comments, and we are very happy you found our hotel value for money, and our staff helpful and friendly which is one of our main objectives.

Kind regards,

St. Georges Park & La Vallete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    344
    606
    479
    1,735
See reviews for
557
1,040
223
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Do not come to this hotel! Me my partner and my mum and her partner arrived at this hotel on the 23rd December 2012 leaving on the 30th December.

When we arrived we were dropped off half way down the street not sure if that were the transfer's fault or the hotel had told them to. we went to check in I were told wait half a hour for a key as they didn't have one for our room.The reception didn't seem to know what were going on or why there were so many guests arriving it was complete chaos. The day before departing Low Cost Holidays called to tell us we had been upgraded to a apartment, when this was told to reception they said everyone keeps saying this! Not sure why this happened to most of the guests seems like bad communication between Low Cost and Blue Sea

My mum received her key for the 8th floor and I finally got mine for the 1st floor within about 45 mins

The room was a disgrace. old fashioned, dirty, dusty holes in sheets (see pictures) bathroom just as bad with mould all over bath, however I thought it was a decent size. My mums room didn't seem as bad as mine (not as much mould) so i asked for another room, the reception said there was only one room available on the next floor up directly above the pubs and bars I thought i'd give that one a miss and stay in the one i already had, as it was around the corner away from the bars. The noise from the bar's were very loud but i got some ear plugs and it wasn't too bad but on my mum's floor the noise was deafening going on until 5am.

The lifts were not working half the time it meant my mum had to walk 5 flights of stairs each time to reach her room. her knees were killing her by the end of the holiday.

The drinks in the bar were good I liked the vodka, bailey's, rum, Whiskey etc. although my partner said the beer was rubbish. The bar staff were friendly too and made me a cocktail. The coffee and Hot chocolate were disgusting.

Breakfast wasn't too bad I enjoyed the eggs, potato chips and juice. My partner liked the bacon for the first few day's, then had a dodgy tummy from it been undercooked i couldn't eat it! We never went to lunch so can't comment, dinner wasn't very nice was often luke warm and tasted bland,unseasoned, and undercooked. we didn't eat in the hotel after a few days we couldn't stand the taste anymore. The rose wine was also nice although only available in the dining room.

Overall the hotel should not be open and The agents should have not been selling this holiday even at a low price. The pictures are very deceiving, as are the descriptions. this trip has ruined lot's of people christmas's and new years. For me it was a rather expensive one as we had to make the most of it and go elsewhere to eat eat and drink to have a good time.
Malta is a lovely place as is St George's Bay, Fab night life, shopping, restaurants and bars but I dought i will every return due to this hotel putting me off Malta for good!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sparklestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments which will obviously be taken very seriously and will help us improve standards after our recent take over of this establishment.

It is very unfortunate that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Your negative comments regarding organization, tour operator description/communication have all been rectified, and as fast as we can we are improving standards of the rooms, which in many cases had not been used for some time.

Meetings with our food and beverages suppliers are being held on a daily basis, and we are confident that things are improving well.

As you well state, the location of the hotel makes it a favorite for young people, and although this is obviously impossible to change, we have asked our commercial partners to state this, so guests may opt for seaview rooms at a small supplement away from the nightlife.

Once again thank you for your comments.


Kind regards,

St. Georges Park & La Vallette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Colchester
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay in this hotel, was pleasantly suprised. Had read the comments on here before going and was terrified, but considering what we paid, really can't complain. We were allocated a large apartment with a balcony and good views. The apartment was clean and very spacious. Staff were friendly and always willing to help. Room was cleaned regularly. We were only staying on a BB basis, can't complain about the breakfast, was all that we needed. The apartment was ok to cook in, but there are loads of great value restaurants around so we ate out most days. There wasn't much entertainment in the hotel, but plenty around. Malta isn't a beach destination, but thats why we love it. Loads to see and do, cultural trips etc. We did spend some time in the North of the island at some great beaches too, but they are not on the doorstep. If you're looking for an all inclusive hotel where you can drink all day and occaisionally stroll to a sandy beach don't stay here, but if you are looking for an affordable base from which to visit the rest of the island I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments, and we are glad that you found your stay generally pleasant, both in the Hotel and in Malta.

Kind regards,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2013

we went for two weeks over christmas, we were in self catering. there were a lot of out of control younger guests, the younger guests screamed up and down the corridoors, no staff ever told them to stop. they fought and assaulted an elderly gentleman. there was no sign of security and the reception desk was overwhelmed and understaffed. we managed to get moved from a noisy room to one which was out of the madness but overall there is a sense that no one is really in charge in the hotel. really the management were useless, no one seemed to be able to run the place. our room was understocked, barely cleaned, eventually We found a room full of kettles and took one to use otherwise we would have had to rent one for 35 a week, what a joke! Malta is a really lovely friendly island and they need to take charge of the tourist industry a bit, we would return to lovely Malta of course but would advise people to be careful of where they stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamGreene111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments which will be taken into account, and we are sorry that you did not seem to have the experience required.

There is obviously management in the hotel, both general and in individual departments. There is also security.

As you say the hotel is very popular with young people due to its location, and we do our best to control them, which is sometimes difficult. We strive to allocate rooms according to age groups, so as to keep everyone happy, but this can be assured by booking a seaview room at reservation, or requesting it on arrival, as these are well away from the nightlfe.

Thank you again, and kind regards,

BlueSea St. Georges Park and La Vallette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Malta is not a beach holiday,it is a stone island and you will be dissapointed if its beaches you want. The history you see is great for a couple of days then it gets boring,the busses are good for going around the harbours but over all a disapointing holiday.
This hotel is a 2 star hotel,you get what you pay for and the complex reminded us of somthing stuck in the eighties, in need of a refurb, if its modern and wow you want its not here.
We had a big room which was cleaned every other day with fresh towels and linen, our room was seaview on the eighth floor one of the best rooms, the food here was a bit sloppy at times,cold and basic,although they do listen and try hard to improve,the staff are all good people and friendly,i think it is good value for what you get although the stars need to be true a 1 to 2 star hotel so based on that its a good hotel .
We on the other hand were looking for a little bit of luxury,modern ,and well decorated so if this is you pay more and go somewhere else,entertainment is below average and boring but its not the summer season so ok,for children i wouldnt take any of mine there its not clean enough around the pool area,but i dont want to rubbish up the hotel ,as we made the most of it, and for a two star cheap hotel and holiday it is v good value,but honestly i wish i had chose a different country, i would have prefered beaches and somewhere else think before you book and do your research!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hwingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments! We will be taking them into account to improve the standards of the hotel and its services to the best of our capability.

Regarding the food it is prepared freshly on a daily basis by our caterers, and we are constantly meeting with them to improve as per commented by our guests.

Regarding our staff, we are currently undergoing new incorporations after the very recent management change, and the subsequent training of staff according to our current policies.

Entertainment is limited at the moment, with live music twice weekly, and varied other , quiz, games nights etc. As you say, this is seasonal, and we are happy to take into account any suggestions.

Our establishment is not modern luxury as you were hoping for, but we are striving to make it good value for money according to its category.

Thank you and kind regards,

St. Georges Park & La Vallette Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Unfortunate enough to spend xmas and New year in this place. Do'nt know where to start, ok you get what you pay for i agree this place should pay you, stayed a week room never cleaned after we complained 2-3 times every day, no clean towels had to take loo roll out of bars etc. No sleep at all its right in the middle of red light district and club land. Italian young men take over the two hotels on this complex partying in corridors and rooms till 5 in the morning complain all you want nothing ever gets done. we were told if we didn't like it go to another hotel? terrible attitude by management. they charge 10 euros a night, we told them we has paid alot more basically told nothing to do with them, take it up with tour operator when you get back home. swimming pools closed extra money to go in the gym, steam room etc. everyone seems to have key to your room woken by people trying to get in our room. shower a joke, toilet leaking for 3 days never fixed it, patio door didnt shut never mind lock. i could go on and on never done a review before but would hate people to spend money going to this terrible hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disappointed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your opinions, which will help us improve services after our recent take over of the hotel.

Whilst we obviously only know what our partners charge us, we do not know what the end charge is for the guest, this we are striving to learn so that the experience is value for money in resort.

Kind regrads,

St Georges Park & La Vallette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palma de mallorca
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had a good experience. The staff helped us at all times. basic but clean room. good food and good service. Cheerleader Ewa very friendly. good value for money. I could not ask for more. we booked for this summer to come with a group of friends. the area offers fun and relaxation.
thanks for everything
good experience

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank machiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. They will be taken on board an help us to improve standards!

We will pass on your positive feedback to Ewa.

See you in the summer, when we are sure you will have a great time.

Kind regards,

Tha Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
4.7 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. George's Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Park Hotel

Property: The St. George's Park Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3140, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea St George's Park, Malta is an ideal choice for a lively break to this stunning Mediterranean island. Located in a privileged position within the heart of Paceville, St. Julian's, this property sits just 300m from a pretty sandy beach and provides easy access to a fantastic choice of restaurants, bars and clubs that this vibrant area is renowned for. The Blue Sea St George's Park is perfect for those who are looking for an active holiday in the heart of Malta's night life, with a range of facilities and amenities at hand to keep everyone entertained. With classic décor throughout the reception area, the atmosphere of this property makes it a great place to relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing or after enjoying the lively local nightlife. The two outdoor swimming pools, one indoor pool (not heated) and a children's pool, provide plenty of idyllic places to soak up the Mediterranean sunshine. Guests of the Blue Sea St George's Park have the opportunity to get active at the gym (available at a local charge). The nearby sandy beach of St. George's Bay, is just a few minutes' walk from the Blue Sea St. George's Park and offers a host of water sports (all at a local charge). A range of dining options are available at the Blue Sea St George's Park that include a lounge bar, pool bar (seasonal) and a buffet restaurant. An in-house entertainment program is offered throughout the year to ensure that everything is provided for a fun and relaxing holiday for the young at heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. George's Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Georges Park Complex Hotel Saint Julian`s
The St. George's Park Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing