We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as expected !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. George's Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not as bad as expected !!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Having arrived at St Georges park we were told that we were in La Vallette even though Low Cost HOlidays told us we had been transfered before our arrival..
This issue was sorted though and we got a low room as requested which although basic had everything we needed with TV Clean bathroom,heating and plenty of extra blankets available.
Food on the all inclusive programme was basic but you would never starve - you could find something unless your really fussy and the drinks were of the usual standard.
Pool bar is open in the daytime except during bad weather when the main hotel bar is operational.
At Night the entertainment is of a low standard - bingo most nights but an organist one night and a duo another.
What i must say is that in the week we were there the new General Manager arrived and chatted to customers and you can see the changes happening at this complex - they seem to be always cleaning and fixing things and trying hard to turn this hotel around .
The only point i need to mention is the noise from the disco clubs but having said that the hotel is slap bang in the middle of the resort and it is a very lively resort.
All in all a basic stay but for the price we paid i had no real complains and would go back again.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are going to be quieter !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for all of your constructive comments, which will help us improve standards.

As you say it is a very lively resort, and popular with young people who obviously sometimes are very noisy, if you come back as mentioned, it is possible to request a pool view room, at a small extra charge which is much quieter.

Regarding food, we meet on a daily basis with our caterers to improve standards and variety.

Entertainment is basic in the low season, but will be reinforced from next week onwards. A very full and fun packed programme is prepared during the summer months.

Kind regards,

Tha Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    345
    606
    479
    1,736
See reviews for
557
1,041
222
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We arrived here on 30/12/12 at 5pm & the hotel foyer was full of people trying to book in. we eventually got to the front of the queue to be told that the rooms werent ready & to come back in 2 hours. other peole in the foyer were told to do the same & they had been there since 2pm.afeter a further 2 hours, we got to the roomwhich was clean but tired looking. in the bar area we were greeted by other guests who told us that the food was terrible & they were right. honestly, on the first night we were served up what can only be described as gunge. then on 31/12/12 the real fun started. waves of young italians were booking into the hotel for the nbew year & when they had waited long enough, they started rampaging through the hotel kicking in doors, trying to find empty rooms.this was the first time the police came.After that, fire alarms were constantly being set off, food fights around the pool area. it was like this for 4 solid days & the police were there every day. in the restaurant, the bad food continued all the time we were there. some mornings no tea, coffeee or juice or toasters. the staffs attitude to all this was pretty blase to say the least. on the plus side, the soup was ok sometimes & the ice cream not too bad. so at least something to eat. most people gave up eating there after a day or two. regarding cleaning rooms. this would be done only if you twisted the cleaners arms as they always said they were too busy & most days guests ended up robbing toilet paper, clean towels & bed linen.one morning a fridge appeared outside our room & it was there for the duration of our stay. the entertainment was awful, a young girl playing dancing songs for the kids for half an hour & a guy was on twice in the week, singing live. outside the hotel in paceville, the area is full of night clubs & gentlemans clubs so you will understand this thisplace is not for families with children or for mature couples.it is sad to have to put a report in like this as we actually enjoyed the holiday because of the nice people we met but definitely not because of the hotel or resort

Room Tip: high floors are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank englishmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. These are taken very seriously, and will help us improve standards.

Check-in time is standard , and is done as quickly as possible, and we do try to allocate rooms as soon as guests arrive, but on certain times of the day, or year this os obviously impossible.

Our food is prepared by our caterers, freshly, and on a daily basis, and we are meeting regularly with them to improve both quality and variety.

Cleaning is programmed 4 times weekly, and changes of linnen outside these days can be requested at reception.

Entertainment is limited during the winter months, but from February it has been reinforced with a second person, and there are live music nights, games shows, kid entertainment etc.

Due to its location the hotel is obviously very popular with young people, we do strive to separate age groups in the different blocks of the hotel, but as you may appreciate ate certain times of the year, especially festive periods this is impossible. It is however possible to book a sea view room at reservation, and these rooms are quiet, and away from all the nightlife.

Once again it is unfortunate your stay did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards,

The manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

We have recently stayed in this hotel in St. Julian's and in fairness got an excellent deal for our stay in Malta, however after our experience at this hotel I would rather pay more!

The hotel has carefully taken and chosen photos which conceal the hotels true identity. We were met with a poorly presented and lit entrance way, with no signage welcoming you to the hotel. Our original room in the basement was horrendous. The room was a short walk past the gym which smelt of damp and sweat along the poorly lit corridor.

The room had 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and a kitchen. Both rooms were poorly kept with several dirt marks on curtains, walls and throughout. Decor was very aged and worn. The beds were hard, sheets extremely thin and over sheets looked well used. The bathroom was nearly unusable with a massive water tank limiting head room above the bath. Water marks, mould and dirt throughout. The water also gave off a rather mysterious odour.

After one night in the room we asked to move and we were given a room on the 7th floor. The room was much lighter and compared to our basement apartment seemed relatively luxurious. The room required TLC but overall seemed fine. Our opinion changed when it came to night time.

The balcony doors had no lock so closed to at best. Excessively loud music from nearby clubs started around 21:00 and kept our room awake until 04:00 the next morning. The beds were hard and very uncomfortable. Ever so thin walls and a connecting door meant next doors snores echoed through the wall.

The hotel bar which serves your all inclusive drinks resembles a 1970's holiday camp. Again this is in the basement so there is very little natural light. The drinks served were nice, however we opted out further drinks as the place was depressing.

The buffet is small and limited but had some OK food. Breakfast was acceptable if you arrived there early and had hot food. Food got cold very quickly.

The location of the hotel is great for the main area of St Julian's or if you are wanting a clubbing holiday. If you are wanting a peaceful or relaxing holiday don't bother staying here.

Local transport was easy to find and use with the main bus stops being only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Hire a car- it's the best way of getting off the track in Malta seeing some amazing sights.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limerickonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are currently refeshing the hotel and have made significant improvements to our facilities and services.
Yours,

Graham Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

me and my friend just got bk from a week stay. we were pleased when we arrived until we entered our room,,,we had payed through are travel agent for an up graded room we got a basic room, the tv had one channel depressing mellow music, the phone was broken and are balcony doors didnt shut however they fixed it straight away. The room was cleaned every day and we were given clean towels everyday. the food was horrific we were all inclusive and we attempted to eat it couple times but always ended up going out to eat. the bar was absolutly fine. we went out every night so was lucky we didnt have to suffer the boring entertainment ie bingo. there was a few younger people so we did attempt the pool one was disgusting had alsorts in it the other was ok unbareble,freezing like the indoor pool.we didnt any spa in hotel or they didnt have cues for pool table, there was nothing apart from the bar to do.its on the strip loads clubs and bars so brill for youngsters.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank essex273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments which we will take seriously and use to improve standards after our recent take over of the hotel.

We are sorry that you did not receive the room expected, but we do allocate rooms depending on reservations received and vouchers.

The TV does not have a fantastic selection of channels, but it does have much more than one.

We are glad that the things you reported were repaired to your satisfaction.

Regarding food, we are constantly meeting with our caterers to improve. Entertainment, as it is the low season is limited, but as from february it is being reinforced with another person, and in summer has an action packed fun programme.

The pools whlist not heated are constantly filtered, and cleaned. There is no included spa.

As you say the hotel has an excellent location for night life, but is also suitable for quiet stays if you request a pool view room.

Thank you and kind regards,


The Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

just back last night from this hotel and if i had took any notice of any reviews i had earlier read i would never have went ...but the place is ok ,it is clean ,and comfortable ..it could be warmer at night ,the food was on the cold side too,and there was not much choice,breakfast was ok...the staff were great ,and the manager was very helpful,the drinks in the bar were fine,and the location was excellent....we had very bad weather including the biggest hailstones i have ever seen but that was not the hotels fault,i just think i will write this review and will never read another review as it can be upsetting before you leave for your holiday,also i think anyone who wants 5 star treatment should pay 5 star prices and stop complaining

Room Tip: any room with a sea view is very good but the others could be very noisey and just lookout onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank freddie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments, which we will use to improve standards. We very much appreciate your positive comments about the hotel, and getting value for money, this is our aim.

Regarding food, rest assured we are improving this daily with our caterers, the only thing out of our hands is the weather!

Thanks again and kind regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Need to clean the room no maid service at all while we stayed. Bathroom was revolting unheathly. Yet there was a lad cleaning the foyer all day long. Food was cold and very little selection and repeated most days. Lights missing all over hotel. the Manager couldn't give a dam just walked round with his nose in the air. If you are a smoker don't bother staying here, you will be made to feel like the lowest people on this earth. Don't smoke on the balcony if caught you will be fined 150 euros.
Ps take your bacony furniture when you go non existance.

Room Tip: Pack your Marigolds, Bleach, Toilet Rolls & Broom. Also take a Mircowave to heat your food. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2015
Thank you for reviewing the hotel.
We have noted your comments and are working on improving the aspects to the hotel mentioned.
Yours,
Graham Powell and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I arrived at this war zone on 31/12/2012, to be greated by a horrible receptionist who advised that the room would not be ready until 3pm it was 11am in the morning at this point we were travelling with a two year old and had been awake since 2am that morning. We reluctantly left our luggage in an unlocked luggage room. We found out at a later date hat there had been numerous thefts from there.

Later that day hundreds of Italian students arived there were not enough rooms for them so they slept on mattresses in corridors. They were wild in the hotel setting off fire alarms all night. Running up and down corridors banging on doors trying to break into rooms. They were fighting people were arrested and the police were constantley at the hotel. We booked two rooms one for myself my husband and thirteen year old son and the second for my daughter and two year old grandchild. We only used one room to sleep in as it was too dangerous for my daughter to sleep in her own room. There were numerous burgularies. I spoke to another female member of staff about all this and she just laughed in my face. We met several couples who had been broken into, . Another two men had their passports stolen from their room on the last day and just got home without them.

The pool was filty, the food disgusting we had to eat out because we were so hungry. The bathroom was disgusting.

The whole place was filthy. This was the holiday from hell just so glad we all got home in one piece. Do not go here it may be under new management but its past being improved the place needs to be knocked down.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RHaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments, and my sincerest appologgies that you did not feel safe in our hotel, we have 24 hour reception, security, and any suggestions or reports of theft were taken very seriously, and the correct authorities involved.

We do aim to check guests before 14:00, but sometimes, which was your case on New Years Eve, this is impossible due to the sheer volume of arrivals at the same time.

It is very popular with Italian youngsters due to its central location for paceville, but when not at full capacity, we do try to allocate rooms accordingly to guest types, this can also be resolved paying a small supplement for a pool or sea view room, which are well away from any noise.

Cleaning is 4 times per week, and we are constantly striving to improve the standard of food with our caterers.

The pools are constantly filtered, and cleaned daily.

As you say we have recently taken over the hotel, and whilst you may not have had a good experience, we are constantly improving, and guests are commenting on value for money. We are once again truly sorry that this was not your case.

Kind regards,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.7 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. George's Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Park Hotel

Property: The St. George's Park Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3140, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea St George's Park, Malta is an ideal choice for a lively break to this stunning Mediterranean island. Located in a privileged position within the heart of Paceville, St. Julian's, this property sits just 300m from a pretty sandy beach and provides easy access to a fantastic choice of restaurants, bars and clubs that this vibrant area is renowned for. The Blue Sea St George's Park is perfect for those who are looking for an active holiday in the heart of Malta's night life, with a range of facilities and amenities at hand to keep everyone entertained. With classic décor throughout the reception area, the atmosphere of this property makes it a great place to relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing or after enjoying the lively local nightlife. The two outdoor swimming pools, one indoor pool (not heated) and a children's pool, provide plenty of idyllic places to soak up the Mediterranean sunshine. Guests of the Blue Sea St George's Park have the opportunity to get active at the gym (available at a local charge). The nearby sandy beach of St. George's Bay, is just a few minutes' walk from the Blue Sea St. George's Park and offers a host of water sports (all at a local charge). A range of dining options are available at the Blue Sea St George's Park that include a lounge bar, pool bar (seasonal) and a buffet restaurant. An in-house entertainment program is offered throughout the year to ensure that everything is provided for a fun and relaxing holiday for the young at heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. George's Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Georges Park Complex Hotel Saint Julian`s
The St. George's Park Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing