We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A balanced review.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. George's Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A balanced review.”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

You will see reviews here both good and bad. This is probably because views can vary depending on personal perspectives, accommodation location and the holidaymakers attitude. When I arrived at this hotel I was already annoyed with the "Management" since I had actually booked to be in a sister hotel in Bugibba which turned out to be not available due to their refurbishment schedule over-running. My wife and I however decided to make the best of it. I will try to give an honest, balanced review despite my initial disappointment, and with respect to the reviews that others have made.

Location: St Julians is an area full of bars, Burger Kings, McDonalds, nightclubs etc... Consequently it attracts youngsters who like to party. Not ideal for those wanting a quiet holiday.

Reception: During the 12 days we were there, reception was nearly always busy, sometimes with 12 or more people queuing. On the few occasions that we needed reception, the staff were nearly always polite and helpful. Many of the holidaymakers, however were not. We got to speak to the Manager, and on two occasions...the Area Manager. We were given (after firmly but politely demanding), FREE Wi-Fi, FREE room safe and a FREE half day guided excursion as compensation for letting us down over our initial booking.

Room: Room was basic. Some mould around the taps and on the bath sealant. Toilet handle needed tightening (I did this myself). Tiled areas needed regrouting. Housekeeping is normally only every two days but we were missed once so at one point went 4 days without it. Toilet paper and soap was often unavailable. We befriended one of the cleaners who not only gave us extra towels but lent my wife a hairdryer for the duration of our trip.

Food: There was plenty of food. There was quite a variety but some basic requirements seem to be missing. Eg. No FRIED eggs....ever,(not even for a cooked breakfast). Fruit consisted of only apples and oranges (sometimes water melon on the dessert trolley). Food was often only warm. Ran out of desserts on some occasions. Queues were quite long for a table. We learnt to arrive for meals 10 minutes or so before restaurant opening times. Sometimes it seemed like the floor hadn't been cleaned from the previous meal session. Waiting staff were ok but a little inattentive at times.

Drink: We were All inclusive and always had plenty to drink.Tea, coffee, soft drinks, Lager, Spirits and cocktails. All bar staff seemed friendly. There are four different locations for drinks, each with its own opening and closing hours, but come rain, hail, or shine there was always somewhere to get a drink.

Entertainment: We didn't use this much bit it seemed to consist mainly of Bingo and Karaoke in the bar at night. There were daytime poolside activities such as Frisbee, darts and Pool competitions. There are two large well looked after pools with plenty of tables, chairs, loungers.

Overall: If you don't mind your accommodation a little rough and ready, you are prepared to stay in an area for youngsters with the noise, rowdiness and drunkenness that accompanies them and you're not too fussy about your eating requirements....then this place will be ok for you. Considering the price you have paid for it, its good value for money. However if you have young kids,cannot tolerate rowdy behaviour, late night noise (dependent on where your room happens to be), erratic housekeeping or expect haute cuisine then do not come here as you won't like it.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor overlooking the pool since this side of the hotel is quieter. You also get a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your balanced review! I will take both the positives and the negatives on board and deall with them as best as possible.

I am glad that al in all you seemed to have a good value for money time with us which is our aim!

Thank you and kind regards,

St.Georges Park & La Vallette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    345
    606
    479
    1,736
See reviews for
557
1,041
222
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pa
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just returned from our 5-night stay at St. George's Park, and it was a bit of a mixed experience. First of all, I think the new management is doing some progress as it was nowhere near as bad as some of the past reviews would make you think (even though it was a very busy period).
The hotel remains largely unchanged from what it was 20ish years ago when I stayed there for a week with my grandparents, i.e. not updated at all. However, depending on the building, the public spaces and rooms have been kept in a good condition, the only thing that really lets it down are the tiny, old and malfunctioning tvs, lifts that seem to break down regularly, and chipboard beds. We found the cleaning to be up to a good standard, even having to move the single beds together there was no dust at all under the beds and bedding/towels, although slightly worn, were clean. In my opinion, any hotel, especially a 3 star one, SHOULD offer shampoo and hand soap, and this was not the case here. It was also not pleasant having to ask for extra toilet paper rolls at the reception (cleaners should leave at least a couple at a time, at least in the rooms with 4 occupants, as they are TINY).
There is no getting away from the fact that one entire building of the George's Park sits directly on top of nightclubs, and one side of another faces towards them - we spent our first two nights (fri and sat, unfortunately), in one of the apartments on top of the nightclubs, facing the noisy street. At least in our case, the whole apartment had a strong odor like cooking grease permeating all rooms that seemed to originate from the air vent in the toilet. Also, the "apartment" we booked did not come with a working kitchen (sink & cupboards only with no cooker/fridge/kitchenware). The placement not a great move by the hotel, as we were traveling with two kids and it is not clear at all when booking either from their own or other websites that some types of rooms are, by default, on the very, very noisy side of the hotel. It seemed to me that rooms are given out in a disorganized manner, so if you arrive later in the day, you'll just get whatever is available then as opposed to having rooms allocated beforehand as some of the hotel's replies to other reviews here on TA would seem to imply.
After spending the first two days periodically checking with the reception when we would be moved either to an apartment with a full kitchen or a room on the quiet side of the hotel, I'm not quite sure whether it was a sudden availability of such rooms or me becoming slightly more forceful with my demand, but we were eventually moved to a standard room on the pool side of the hotel. This was a huge improvement and we were very happy with the accommodation for the latter part of our trip.
Reception staff was ok, obviously it is not nice for them to work in a hotel where a huge amount of people complain at a regular basis about things the staff can't really do anything about, but a smile every now and then would not go amiss, or even a little bit of sympathy for those of us who try to treat them with respect even if we're not happy with some aspects of the hotel. The only exception was Francesco, although, or maybe because, he was pointed out by another staff member the following day as being "new". Thank you!
We only took breakfast at the hotel restaurant, ok for the price, but you could improve the offering hugely by introducing orange JUICE, not watered down squash, and a decent coffee/cappuccino from the machines you already have (seriously it was BAD!!). Also, to cater for south European visitors or others who'd enjoy it, you could introduce some sweet alternatives for breakfast (Nutella or a cheaper chocolate spread would work great with the selection of breads you already offer).
Outdoor pools were great, but no supervision by hotel staff so there were lots of children jumping/diving/playing with balls/inflatables, all of which are supposedly forbidden by hotel policy and potentially dangerous to smaller children and definitely annoying to adults.
The no-smoking policy instead seemed to be well enforced and personally for me, one of the things I liked the most about the hotel.
Overall, we'd probably return to this hotel but only if it was still financially worthwhile to book a sea/pool view room or alternatively a room in the La Vallette building which is considerably farther away from the nightclubs.

Room Tip: Pool/sea view rooms or rooms in the La Vallette building only, high floor rooms should also be less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sajomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your balanced review! I will take both the positives and the negatives on board and deall with them as best as possible.

I am glad that al in all you seemed to have a good value for money time with us which is our aim!

Thank you and kind regards,

St.Georges Park & La Vallette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

On the 2nd day of our 7 night stay in this flea pit I contracted a vomiting bug, it lasted the remainder of our stay so cant really comment on the food other than the 2 occasions I had the misfortune to visit the so called restaurant, 1st time no plates 2nd time no cutlery great fun. The food was vile and cold, I know the cost is low but manners cost nothing. Our room was never cleaned, no towels, the toilet was dirty and I had to buy our own cleaner to sanitise the bathroom. On a positive note the trips away from the hotel were good 2.60 euro value bus ticket all day travel is great, the ticket seller has a great attitude being Maltese. Don't let this report put you off going to Malta just find better accommodation, we have had many budget holidays and they have all been great. Take your own towels, sunshades are chargeable even at the pool bars, sunbed mattresses are extra as well 1.50 euro a day, even if you are all inclusive. Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts need to rethink their attitude having read other bad reviews they cant all be wrong.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnikins93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, General Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guests,

Whilst we will take your comments in general very seriously, we would like to point out that there is a general gastroenteritis virus in Malta. We strongly deny that this has anything to do with our establishment, and would like to inform you that the relevant analysis carried out by independent consultants, as well as certification from the local hospital as well as, from the local doctor resident in the nearest chemist corroborate this.

We would urge you to contact us directly in order to discuss this through the appropriate channels.

Kind regards,

General Manager
saintjuliansmanagement@blueseahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Dont waste your time or your health (party of 3 adults ended up in hospital).
Staff couldn't be less helpful
Filthy canteen,rooms,toilets,pool.
Underlying smell of sewage and urine throughout hotel(hostel)
Please DO NOT GO THERE

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wup112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Guests,

Due to the personal nature of your comments, I would request you contact me directly.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Manager!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

we saw people with vomiting and diarreheo
one of our party was taken to hospital after he put up with it for four days thinking that immodium would cure it
the doctors told him it was definitely due to food poisoning ( chicken )
the food was served at a unhealthy temperature, as my partner owns a hotel and restaurant
and we both have had to do a food health and hygeine course believe me
the dangerous food and filthy hotel which is never swept or mopped is a worse disaster waiting to happen. The manager is never available to complain to and the staff are not interested
as a result of our experience I have been in contact with the Malta Health and Hygene people and are in the process of giving them all the information they have requested

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel someone will die with food poisoning eventually
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank johnbob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, General Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guests,

Whilst we will take your comments in general very seriously, we would like to point out that there is a general gastroenteritis virus in Malta. We strongly deny that this has anything to do with our establishment, and would like to inform you that the relevant analysis carried out by independent consultants, as well as certification from the local hospital as well as, from the local doctor resident in the nearest chemist corroborate this.

We would urge you to contact us directly in order to discuss this through the appropriate channels.

Kind regards,

General Manager
galcaraz@blueseahotels.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Great price, but bad value. Booked all inclusive, ate there 3 days and spent 2 days in bed with food poisoning. Would have been better Self Catering and eating out, which we had to for the remainder of the holiday. We weren't the only ones sick as a lot of people went down sick while we were there, all may I say were all inclusive too. Was late for lunch one day and was told to go away closed, when I reached to take an apple away with me the waiter grabbed the bowl from me saying I couldn't have one as they were closed for food. Check in very slow. The lift had a mind of it's own and went to every floor bar the one you wanted! Bearing in mind we stayed on the 9th floor! Lift broke down with an 80 yr old man inside, in between floors and he was forced to climb out on his own as no one answered the emergency bell in lift. Otherwise a lovely place to visit and the trips are very reasonably priced. Well worth a trip around the harbour and Island, except they omit some of the history of the Island. The guide skipped from 1929 to 1962 failing to explain that it was the most bombed by the Germans in the 2nd World War. It would seem that the Germans don't like being reminded of their history!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, General Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guests,

Whilst we will take your comments in general very seriously, we would like to point out that there is a general gastroenteritis virus in Malta. We strongly deny that this has anything to do with our establishment, and would like to inform you that the relevant analysis carried out by independent consultants, as well as certification from the local hospital as well as, from the local doctor resident in the nearest chemist corroborate this.

We would urge you to contact us directly in order to discuss this through the appropriate channels.

Kind regards,

General Manager
galcaraz@blueseahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Just returned today from the hotel from hell
Next to discos that did not stop booming music out till 5.30am
At 6.30am the building work across the road started
Unable to sleep for the whole week
People dropping with sickness and diarrhea like flies
Including 3 out of 4 from my group
The food at all mealtimes was cold/warm and mainly uneatable
Raw chicken and rotten tomatoes
At least 90 minutes at reception just to get our room with no help at all from the staff

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samgreene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, General Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guests,

Whilst we will take your comments in general very seriously, we would like to point out that there is a general gastroenteritis virus in Malta. We strongly deny that this has anything to do with our establishment, and would like to inform you that the relevant analysis carried out by independent consultants, as well as certification from the local hospital as well as, from the local doctor resident in the nearest chemist corroborate this.

We would urge you to contact us directly in order to discuss this through the appropriate channels.

Kind regards,

General Manager
galcaraz@blueseahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.7 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. George's Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Park Hotel

Property: The St. George's Park Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3140, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea St George's Park, Malta is an ideal choice for a lively break to this stunning Mediterranean island. Located in a privileged position within the heart of Paceville, St. Julian's, this property sits just 300m from a pretty sandy beach and provides easy access to a fantastic choice of restaurants, bars and clubs that this vibrant area is renowned for. The Blue Sea St George's Park is perfect for those who are looking for an active holiday in the heart of Malta's night life, with a range of facilities and amenities at hand to keep everyone entertained. With classic décor throughout the reception area, the atmosphere of this property makes it a great place to relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing or after enjoying the lively local nightlife. The two outdoor swimming pools, one indoor pool (not heated) and a children's pool, provide plenty of idyllic places to soak up the Mediterranean sunshine. Guests of the Blue Sea St George's Park have the opportunity to get active at the gym (available at a local charge). The nearby sandy beach of St. George's Bay, is just a few minutes' walk from the Blue Sea St. George's Park and offers a host of water sports (all at a local charge). A range of dining options are available at the Blue Sea St George's Park that include a lounge bar, pool bar (seasonal) and a buffet restaurant. An in-house entertainment program is offered throughout the year to ensure that everything is provided for a fun and relaxing holiday for the young at heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Onthebeach, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. George's Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Georges Park Complex Hotel Saint Julian`s
The St. George's Park Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing