We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St. George's Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Would not recommend to anybody.
No ambiance at all not a very welcome reception.
Lounge bar is set out like your waiting in a doctors reception entertainment crap..don't expect your room to be cleaned or change towels as that doesn't happen !! Very very noisey hotel youngsters drinking and running around the corridors at night shouting !! Don't expect any sleep ! Nightmare...
Very dreary hotel

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear guest

thank you for your time to write this review, we use all comments and feedback to continually improve our resorts.

Our management team prides itself in assisting guests that feel there expectations were not met on a 24 hours basis and it is with great regret you did not avail yourself of this service prior to your departure.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    335
    591
    467
    1,707
See reviews for
550
1,015
217
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hotel was dimly lit , no restaurant , bar or any facilities - had to walk down the street to another hotel for these basic amenities. 50 euros to use room safe ; no hairdryer ; no tea / coffee making facilities in room as stated ; noisy with people walking and running up the long tile corridors ; could hear everything in next door rooms; T.V didnt work; room only cleaned every other day. Really quite depressing place to stay - we tried to stay out and about as much as possible. Liked Malta but hotel REALLY DISAPPOINTING and staff pleasant but unhelpful - did a lot of shrugging of the shoulders. Glad we were only there for 5 days.

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowlesfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to write this review, we use all comments and feedback to continually improve our resorts.

Hair dryers are now avaiable from reception and kettles are automatically placed in salf catering rooms and delvered on request to others,

As per contract our rooms are cleaned every second day with a bed change once per week. Hence ample supply of towels , blankets etc, available on request or from reception outside housekeeping hours.

Our management team prides itself in assisting guests that feel there expectations were not met on a 24 hours basis and it is with great regret you did not avail yourself of this service.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Awful place. Stayed Self Catering, changed rooms 4 times in as many hours. Filthy, rooms not cleaned in 10 days we was there. Had to ask for towels and toilet rolls. No utensils for us to use. Should be shut down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guest

thank you for your comments and feedback it is with great regret your stay did not meet your expectations.

The management team works around the clock to assist all guests with a personal dissatisfaction and it is with great regret you did not avail yourself of this service whilst with us.

your comments help us to continue to improve our resorts

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcheldean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Pleasant enough swimming pool if you can find a space in the daytime. My pics was taken at night.
'Hotel' is more like a large youth hostel with never-ending corridors which give it the feel of a hospital.

NO refrigerator in my room and surprisingly neither an air-conditioner.

Room Tip: Near the brow of a hill so not so suitable for disabled. Balcony rooms can actually be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, we welcome all feed back positive or otherwise.

It is with gratitude that you give a fair and balanced review , thus helping us identify the areas we need to improve.

I am clad you found your stay with us could value for money which is our main aim.

We will endeavor to take your constructive observations in hand to aid the improvements to the services we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is NOT a 3* hotel it is now a glorified Hostel.
We booked this hotel with Cosmos through Thomsons and stayed 1/3/2014-8/3/2014.The photos of this hotel belong to a different era when it was a 3* hotel. Other than the reception and a privately run gym this hotel was effectively closed. Meals were taken in the sister hotel
La Vallette which was only slightly better according to people we spoke to. The meals were
mediocre but edible. We had the young people shouting and banging on doors in the early hours. This is due to the hotel being used by young Maltese to party at weekends and will no doubt get worse as the weather improves.The weather was cold,wet and windy at the start of our holiday. The only heating was a noisy wall heater situated above the wardrobe rather defeating the object. Rusty water heater, TV that does not work. rooms not cleaned etc are
all true. If you book this hotel after reading this and other negative reviews you only have
yourself to blame. We have stayed in some dumps over the years and this beats the lot.
However, we were saved by an angel named Janet from Cosmos who our daughter contacted
and explained our predicament. Janet arranged for us to be moved on Monday evening to
the Fortina Hotel in Sliema. This was heaven on earth after what we had endured.
There were a lot of unhappy First Choice holidaymakers in the La Vallette all trying to get moved. One unhappy couple were booked in for a month and had already served a week of their sentence. I hope they managed to get moved. I hope both Cosmos and First Chioce
remove these hotels unt they become what they are supposed to be. 3* Hotels.
To Blue Seas Mngmt. I suggest you close St Georges and completely renovate it and return it
to it's former glory. Then do the same to La Vallette. I would only open St. Georges in the low
season as it has an indoor pool and a gym.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to write this review, we use all comments and feedback to continually improve our resorts.

Our management team prides itself in assisting guests that feel there expectations were not met on a 24 hours basis and it is with great regret you did not avail yourself of this service.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here this resort with my son and husband last week. We paid what we thought a reasonable price. When we arrived we went to our room, however, I paid for a kitchen which I needed to use a fridge (for insulin) and there was none. They changed our room in the St Georges to another with a kitchen with no problem. We settled in and unpacked. Yes the rooms we saw were dated and could really doing with bringing up to date but we were ok with things as we were not expecting the HILTON. Next we asked where to get food (all inclusive) and had heard horror stories on trip advisor after we had booked. The food was in the next hotel, actually a fair walk away around the side of a multi story car park and business centre! Disabled, this was way too much for me to walk several times a day for food and I was tired and in pain from the travel. I mentioned this to the receptionist who then said we could transfer to that hotel. She gave us a key to view a room and we viewed it. The room was ok and a little less dated (but still could have done modernizing with new curtains, bedding and certainly use fitted sheets and a duvet) - the view was of the business center and also in front of the hotel they were knocking down a building. We accepted this new room and then transfered over (getting more tired and in more pain and still hungry). The food was actually pretty good, nothing like I had expected from previous comments so well done to them if they have taken on board comments and changed things. Thumbs up from me. As expected the noise from people banging on doors at 3 am actually happened as reported, People shouting, drunken or just plain noisy chatter, horns bleeping (happens a lot in Malta) and then workmen with jack hammers knocking down the building made for a sleepless week (THANK GOODNESS FOR EARPLUGS) LOL. Malta and its people are very friendly and they love the British. However, I will not recommend the area for wheelchair users! Pavements are very high, pathways thin and you often find steps or street lamps or some other obstruction just around a corner on a very thin pathway anyway making you have to go onto the road with very high curbs. Not many ramps and those I did find were often blocked by parked cars or even a metal barrier! Shops are not accessible either, often too thin to get a chair in, or steps, or stock on the floors, there are a lot of steps too, so some shops you can not get near let alone get into! Appreciated it is an old area but how about pedestrianisation with wheel chair access on some of these more thinner roads to ease congestion and make it easier for wheel chair users (visitors and locals) - many buildings are empty half constructed yet they insist on making others, and I found it very claustraphobic and packed that most of Malta is one large city not separate villages or towns - unless you are North or South of the Island. GOZO is a must, and even a great place to stay in a hotel, much more open and green! Over all my Malta experience has mixed feelings but you do pay for what you get. However, with that said, I have stayed in much better hotels for a similar price as I paid here, modern and well laid out even though basic. St Julians area is more for those wanting to club till the early hours, those who dont mind roughing it and is not for families or disabled and should come with warnings!

Room Tip: Over look the pool and not the front of the hotel and try to upgrade for higher spec. Lifts dont al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orac003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, we welcome all feed back positive or otherwise.

It is with gratitude that you give a fair and balanced review , thus helping us identify the areas we need to improve.

I am clad you found your stay with us could value for money which is our main aim.

We will endeavor to take your constructive observations in hand to aid the improvements to the services we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sion Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hotel decor could be doing with a revamp as it was tired and out of date other than that it was good,pool area was fantastic..Rooms were very clean...Food wasnt great but it wasnt bad either we found you were best going to eat when they just opened as some of the trays of food when gone wasnt replaced so if you were late the choices you had wasnt as good...Staff very friendly specially the bar staff

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the pool area these rooms are quieter than the ones at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 34 in Saint Julian's
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 34 in Saint Julian's
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
171 reviews
4.7 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. George's Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Park Hotel

Property: The St. George's Park Hotel
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3140, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea St George's Park, Malta is an ideal choice for a lively break to this stunning Mediterranean island. Located in a privileged position within the heart of Paceville, St. Julian's, this property sits just 300m from a pretty sandy beach and provides easy access to a fantastic choice of restaurants, bars and clubs that this vibrant area is renowned for. The Blue Sea St George's Park is perfect for those who are looking for an active holiday in the heart of Malta's night life, with a range of facilities and amenities at hand to keep everyone entertained. With classic décor throughout the reception area, the atmosphere of this property makes it a great place to relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing or after enjoying the lively local nightlife. The two outdoor swimming pools, one indoor pool (not heated) and a children's pool, provide plenty of idyllic places to soak up the Mediterranean sunshine. Guests of the Blue Sea St George's Park have the opportunity to get active at the gym (available at a local charge). The nearby sandy beach of St. George's Bay, is just a few minutes' walk from the Blue Sea St. George's Park and offers a host of water sports (all at a local charge). A range of dining options are available at the Blue Sea St George's Park that include a lounge bar, pool bar (seasonal) and a buffet restaurant. An in-house entertainment program is offered throughout the year to ensure that everything is provided for a fun and relaxing holiday for the young at heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. George's Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Georges Park Complex Hotel Saint Julian`s
The St. George's Park Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing