We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine Disaster”
Review of Divine Seafood, Pasta & Grill - CLOSED

Divine Seafood, Pasta & Grill
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Balzan, Malta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Divine Disaster”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Visited this restaurant last March... WAS amazing and i repeat WAS! 6 months later the food was just horrible! Not all items on the menu were available. The pasta was average however no words to describe a fillet with mushroom "sauce" (if it can be called sauce!). It tasted like very hard chewing gum, for sure a VERY CHEAP cut.... and the sauce? Some mushrooms with water! To complement the food when bread was brought to our table, after the first bite i thought that by mistake i was digesting part of the table decorations.... must have been ready for a couple of days at least. Service was also rubbish not to mention the poor air conditioning. Very disappointed and disgusted. Will not visit again and definitely do not suggest it to anyone. There are proper restaurants in the same street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cardona73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations - fantastic!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Don't be put off by few reviews, this new restaurant is a hidden gem.

We had muscles to start followed by risotto and steak - cooked perfectly. The peppercorn sauce was incredible! Restaurant is very clean and modern, and staff were very friendly. We were also able to thank the chef personally for the excellent food.

Would return if we came back to Malta.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovelyjubbly44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Level Contributor
168 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The name says it all”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Whenever I used to pass by this restaurant, I was always intrigued to try it, as from the outside, it is already very inviting.

I managed to go for a visit with my work mates, over a lunch, and we really had a great time! The decor and ambience is very welcoming! For starters, we were served a beautiful Tuna Carpaccio, and some other nice shellfish cooked in white wine. As for Mains, we had some exquisite dishes of pasta, also with seafood. The service was also very good.

A highly recommended restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo_M28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I found Divine whilst attending a 2 week study course in Malta. I ate there three times - twice in the evening and once for lunch - and each occasion I had excellent food and very efficient and friendly service. The owner was present on all three occasions and is working hard to make this a real "go to" place to eat in Malta. It is a big cut above everywhere else in the area and really deserves to succeed. It is a modern and very smart place to eat and I would highly recommend you to visit there when you are in Malta. You will be well rewarded for the effort!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJArnoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner experiece at Divine”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I recently visit Malta on occasion of our 25th wedding anniversary.We stayed at the Westin Dragonara which was really excellent.Beacause we have a passion for food and new eateries, we decided to try out some of the restaurants away from the hotel.On our second last night , we discovered Divine a seafood and pasta restaurant one block from the hotel.What a little gem!They have an extensive wine list , very reasonable priced, of local Maltese as well as international wines.The first night we both had pasta which was quite magnificent.We were that impressed that we decided to go back there the following night - our last night in Malta to try something different on the menu.Again we were not disappointed!
The restaurant has a wonderful modern ambience , service was friendly and efficient and the FOOD , of course the food is quite superb.When we return to Malta - which we will - Divine Restaurant will be one of the first places we will visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Divine Seafood, Pasta & Grill also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing