We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, reception staff were not.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Westmeath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, reception staff were not.”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Stayed there a week ago. Hotel was spotless, room was a tad small compared to others we seen but were spotless and we didn't mind as we weren't going to spend holiday in the room. Beds were fantastic, so comfortable, rooms were very quiet,great air conditioning and great views. Hotel is in the most beautiful location, every morning i'd be amazed by the views. The italian restaurant in the hotel was gorgeous and th e breakfast was fantastic, great selection of food (however, breakfast ends at half ten and we noticed staff removing food at ten past, just a small thing). Bar staff and cleaning staff were lovely and helpful. I was sick one of the days and they really were lovely about it. The reception staff were not very nice though. When we arrived our room wasn't ready and we had to wait 45 minutes and got no apologies whatsoever for it. We had awful trouble with our card keys not working, we must have went down to reception once a day if not more to get them working. Each time we got nothing only attitude from the reception staff, like we were inconveniencing them and one member of staff actually rolled their eyes and avoided us for the rest of the week. Even checking out at the end of our stay was unreal, no "hope you enjoyed your stay, hope everything was to your satisfaction, safe flight etc" all we got was "room number?" and "ok". Loved the hotel but reception staff really put a downer on it. Oh and one last thing - put your do not disturb sign on the door, every morning we were woken between eight and half eight with a guy trying to fill up the mini bar!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allenrayray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Marina Hotel.We are very much concerned on the points related to Front Desk Team Members. We are currently investigating further as such an attitude is surely not acceptable. We are known to provide a high level of courtesy to all our guests and therefore we take such negative feedback very seriously. Should you wish to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt .
On behalf of the Management and Team Members, I apologise for any inconvenience caused during your recent stay with us.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    738
    176
    59
    16
See reviews for
429
967
68
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at the Marina for one week, the hotel was very good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. There were four restaurants on the hotel complex and they were all very good, maybe a little expensive. It was just as well there were restaurants in the hotel as the St. Georges bay area was horrible. There was only one decent restaurant which was very expensive otherwise all there seem to be were bars which were all very seedy, the whole area was dirty and I definitely would not recommend any one to go there which is a shame because the hotel is very good, so if you just want to stay around the pool area it would be OK, but it would not be advisable to venture out, especially after dark.

Room Tip: Sea view overlooking the bay room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crrollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The Marina is such a nice hotel and with a lovely view of St. George's Bay. Guests are able to enjoy the adjacent Corinthia hotel's amenities as well. The staff all speak English very well and all of them were just so nice and helpful to us during our stay. Our room was extremely nice and quiet and clean.
We could not have asked for a better hotel, better view or more accommodating staff.
There are many restaurants on the property and you can easily walk to the beach and other shops, restaurants and bars. The only comment I would have is that Da Marina restaurant on the property was a disappointment as the food we ate there was not as good as some we had in town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with other readers and for the words of praise on the property, location and members of staff.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the event that you plan another visit to the Maltese Islands.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Stayed here from the 1st May for one week with my husband. Hotel was immaculate throughout. Bargain and brilliant priced food to be got in bar area. In fact we found it cheaper to eat and drink in the hotel. The staff were so lovely and could not do enough for you. Rooms were nice but bathrooms dated but what the heck we were only there a week and not buying the place! Would go back to hotel but not so sure of St Georges Bay. Shame about the weather.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazNorthumberlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to note that staff members have contributed to an indeed enjoyable stay at the Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort.
Please feel free to contact me directly in the event that you plan another visit to the Maltese Islands.
With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We spent a long weekend in the hotel at the beginning of April. When we booked there was no warning on the website that most of the facilities in the hotel were closed for renovation, we only found out when we arrived. The poolside bar was closed along with all the pools in the hotel, we had to go to the sister hotel to use it's facilities.

On the second morning we were woken by a lot of noise and on the 3rd morning it was accompanied by banging and hammering and loud machinery being operated. We rang reception and they couldn't tell us what the noise was or how it could be stopped, they didn't make much effort to do anything. Later we saw for ourselves that they were renovating the bars kitchen right beside us - literally on the other side of the wall. We found out from the manager that the hotel was at half occupancy, so what sort of management puts guests in the room beside a construction site when there are lots of other rooms available? We were there meeting friends who were staying for a week and they had to request to be moved for the rest of their stay as they too were disturbed by the work. We heard others complaining aswell.

We would not have stayed there if we had known about the renovations in advance as there are plenty of other choices in the same price range in this area. Eventually after my husband complained, we were offered a complimentary nights stay in the hotel but we were leaving that day anyway and if we were coming back, we wouldn't stay there, even if it was complementary! They then gave us a slight reduction on our last nights stay and paid for our taxi to the airport - it was something but I still wouldn't go back.

Our room was quite dated and the toilet was covered in stains, nor did it flush properly. Our friends room was on a floor above and in a much better condition. I can only assume we were in the older rooms as they didn't resemble the pictures advertised for the hotel. The balcony was nice.

One positive was that there was a good choice for breakfast and they had a few restaurants to choose from, although we chose to go down the town rather than eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: Go when the hotel is not under renovation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irl_sars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
Our soft refurbishing programme is now complete and the management is currently looking into your comments in order to avoid similar inconveniences in the future.
In the meantime, I invite you to contact me directly should you wish to discuss your experience at the Hotel into more detail.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My husband and i have just returned from a weeks holiday at the marina hotel.We had a fanastic time.
The hotel is close to the town with plenty of good restaurants(i would recommend chapter one,la maltija and kandles),also great shopping.The rooms are bright and spacious with the most comfortable beds,tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar,our room overlooked the sea which was lovely.
The breakfasts were enjoyable with lots of choice from a hot and cold buffet.
The rooms and all the areas of the hotel were immaculate,the staff friendly and efficient.
Our pick up time going home was 5.30pm so we asked if we could keep the room on if available,to do this we were charged 15e per hour,which i thought was quite expensive.
I have already and would recommend this hotel.We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
Dear Guest,
We are indeed very pleased to receive such positive feedback on our strategic location and variety of services. On behalf of all my colleagues we would like to thank you for recommending the Hotel to your family & friends.

We all look forward to your next visit,

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, Berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The Marina gets better every year. A rolling programme of refurbishment since last year shows the dining rooms improved. Ongoing at the moment recarpeting of the ground floor, and refurbishment of the coffee shop. Our annual stay this year was, as expected, brilliant.
The staff are what makes this the place to visit - so helpful and friendly. We booked half board this year and the buffet dinner is just as good as their buffet breakfast - choices, choices. 11 of us travelled this year and all are determined to repeat the trip again next year. If you are travelling to Malta try the Marina at St Georges Bay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C2OPTIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the Management & Staff, I would like to thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad that the refurbished areas were noted and that you have enjoyed the fresh atmosphere. We all look forward to your next visit and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#6 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Property: Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing