We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved the hotel and staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Myself and my now husband stayed in the Marina the week of the 2th July. We had a large group booking as we were getting married in a neighbouring hotel but stayed at the Marina due to it's cheaper rates. We were upgraded to a Suite which was beautiful with 2 balconies one of which had a fantastic sea-view.

The rooms were very well kept and after speaking to one of the managers we found out it had only recently been refurbished which explains this. As others have already said the beds were really nice and comfortable. Bathrooms were clean and fresh. Not the most chic of places but definitely smart and comfortable. Any issues we had were dealt with quick and efficiently. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I only went to one of the pools but supposedly between the Marina and the Corinthia there are 5 to use and access to the sea also. Plenty of sun loungers too. Drink was well priced, very well by comparison to the hotel where the wedding was which charged Irish prices. Really well when you went to the bar at happy hour!

Overall I would highly recommend the hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGrauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Management & Staff we would like to thank you for your kind comments. It is of great satisfaction to note that your expectations were indeed exceeded.

In the event that you plan to travel over to Malta once again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    765
    180
    64
    18
See reviews for
448
1,005
68
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Lovely sea view from our balcony,very comfortable beds the best ever,bathroom a good size,everything lovely and clean in room.Plenty of sunbeds always around the pool,quite a lot of noise from Paceville at night which could be heard from balcony.Good selection for breakfast every morning but tended to be only luke warm.Waitresses and bar staff all very pleasant .Snacks obtainable from bar area were very good value and very nice,but avoid Henry J Beans restaurant at all costs food wasnt up to standard waiter didnt care when told.Wouldnt return to St Georges bay but would return to malta.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetter186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to note that your experience at the Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort was indeed a memorable one. We are also looking into your comment on Henry J Beans to identify the cause for your disappointment with regards to the food served and the service you were offered. On behalf of the Management, I apologise for failing to provide the level of service Henry J. Beans is well known for.
Should you consider returning at the Marina Hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We (couple) headed off to Malta for a week for a friend's wedding, which was at the Radisson. The Marina had everything we wanted. The beds in room were the compfiest and biggest I have ever been on...brill night's sleep, had very large sea view balcony and modern bathroom. They even emptied the minibar for me so I could use for water, after sun etc which was great. The best thing about this hotel are the pools (plural!). Between the corinthia and marina there are about 5 swimming pools and around 8 restaurants/ cafes. We spent most of our time at the pools so having lunch options was brill. The beach at St Julians does not look nice at all. It is full of rubbish, quite small and very overcrowded so we did not even go once!

The staff were really friendly and I can not fault the hotel. The only thing I would say that rooms are not ultra modern/ stylish. But you would expect that in Malta. Would recommend to a friend!

Room Tip: booking.com or contact hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirtyminx2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Management & Staff, I would like to thank you for your kind comments and recommendations.

It has been truly a pleasure to host you at the Marina Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Lets start with the hotel marina. Firstly we had interconnecting rooms which was ideal and meant that my two daughters had their own bathroom and balcony - peace for us! The bathrooms are spacious and are stocked with shampoo, shower gel, soap etc - the rooms were very clean and the maid was in every day. We also had lovely white robes and a little clothes line - the hotel dont want clothes hanging over the balcony. Balcony was small but that didnt matter it was lovely to sit and watch the little boats go up and down. Air conditioning worked well and the mini bar is well stocked although very expensive. These little bars are hidden which stops the air from circulating well and this prevents the drinks inside becoming ice cold. The hotel is very clean. The food choice is fab but unfortunately is always luke warm and sometimes the quality of the meat is just okay. The desserts are brilliant so overall the restaurant is good. The poolside bar is not good. Slow service (thats if you get any) and i felt a bit pricey. Has a small play area for the very young and one snooker table. If you go down to the beach (which is grit not sand) there is a lovely little restaurant which serves food at a reasonable price, staff are chatty and prices good. A buddweiser beer costs 2 euro here not 4 at the poolside. You can pay anything for water just depends where you are from 75 cents to up to 2 euro for small bottle. The reception staff are helpful although they dont tell you that the black cabs are much cheaper than the white ones - so before you book any trips check out black cab prices it is well worth it. The hotel had no entertainment at all. Bit boring at night as all you can do is go for a walk - i feel that this hotel would benefit if it put on entertainment at night also i didnt see anything to buy at the hotel so just felt that it forced you out of the hotel when it should be trying to keep its guests within thereby making more money. You have to walk down to the beach area and up through the bars to find shops or the nearest supermarket. The beach and bar area known as paceville is for 17 years of age - very young set as some of the other hotel guests found out so again you have to look at going to other areas for some form of night life. Really if you want to lie by the pools (water is so cold) and relax have dinner and go to bed then this hotel is for you. If you have a young family god knows what you would do at night cause there isnt alot to do. Maltese i think are not happy being in the EU and the maltese people we spoke to confirmed this. They changed the buses whilst we were there which was interesting - old bus drivers made sure that everyone knew they were not happy with this - but the new buses are great so use them as they are a cheap form of transport. Valleta is worth seeing although the hotel courtesy bus only ran once a day and was on a first come first serve basis .The fishing harbour at Marsaxlokk is worth visiting it is very pretty and it is worth speaking to locals for lovely places to swim. It has a sunday flea market although the quality of goods is a bit iffy apart from the maltese lace which is stunning. Back to the Hotel then - they had to introduce a voucher for pool towels so you either collect them from reception or the pool bar and you get your tickets when you return them which is okay - they put our umbrellas down one day at the pool cause they were blowing over - if they were not so rusty at the bottom they could have tightened them up but hey ho so you were left with no shade in 30 degrees. Apart from lukewarm food and nothing to do at night this hotel is okay but does it warrant 4 stars maybe not. Its sister hotel is right next door and it is five stars . Its poolside bar serves ice cold water and drinks worth walking up to. I certainly wouldnt go back to st julians area no buzz - no vibrancy nothing. Had to laugh when the hotel recommends you stay out of the sun from 12 to 4 what do you do then sleep? This was our first trip to Malta - it looks tired it needs to move up a gear if it wants to attract the younger generation it now needs to move with the times if it wants to succeed in tourism. It is steeped in history but thats it.

Room Tip: interconnecting rooms are perfect for those travelling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stewart077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to note that your stay at the Marina Hotel was up to your satisfaction. Malta has so much more to offer and we are sorry to learn that you have missed the most interesting attractions in Malta.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My friend and I had a special reason to stay at this specific hotel and although I cant score it a 5 in every category it was perfect for us as the hotel is built on the site of the former Services Lido where we used to spend our out of school hours swimming and diving! A couple of issues arose, my credit card was not swiped on arrival which caused some inconvenience during room service and the outside restaurant until I rectified this. Secondly the wifi is expensive and didnt work well in my hotel room due to the distance from the nearest hot spot. Then my friend slipped on the steps leading into the sea and gashed an arm on the rocky surface. We have suggested more matting should be put in place. Other reviewers have mentioned the noise - the bay is very small and the noise comes from an amusement area on the nearby beach and a beach club on the opposite side of the bay and carries on well into the night. Even with the balcony door shut the noise is very loud. Malta itself is a wonderful island and I look forward to returning and would use this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortressrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort.
We are very happy to note that your experience was indeed most enjoyable and that you would choose our Hotel once again for your next visit.
On a seperate note, we have taken note of your comments and they are currently being discussed at Management Level.

Looking forward to weloming you at the Marina Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt in the event that you plan another visit to the Island of Malta.

With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We have just returned from a two week holiday and must say the hotel and staff were wonderful.

The check-in was fast and efficient. The room was spacious with adequate furnishings. I must say that the bed was extremely comfortable and the air-con was quiet and very efficient. We had wonderful views from the balcony - to the open sea in one direction and to the sandy beach of St George's Bay in the other direction. There was noise from nearby Paceville at night but with the balcony doors closed this couldn't be heard.

We stayed on a half-board basis and both the breakfasts and evening buffets were really good and offered a wide variety. We also used the other restaurants on the site for our evening meals instead of the buffet on some nights and these were also excellent.

There always seemed to be plenty of sunbeds available around the pool area. The pool area and the pool itself were always clean and tidy with a plentiful supply of pool towels.

The price of drinks was equivalent to what you would pay in a city centre pub in the UK.

All the staff we came into contact with, reception, wait staff, bar staff, pool staff and domestic staff were cheerful, friendly, helpful and efficient.

There is a computer for free use of internet in the reception or vouchers are available which give personal use of wifi at a cost of 5 euros for 5 hours. We used this system which was really easy to use and excellent value.

The only one criticism that we could make, and we realise this is a personal thing, is smoking on the Bay View Terrace during meal service. In fact, some guests would come from the inside restaurant and sit on the terrace where people were eating and smoke next to the diners. I would suggest that the area of the terrace used for dining be designated a "no smoking" area as there is plenty of space for smokers at the other end of the terrace away from the diners.

We have found in the past that star ratings in Malta are somewhat over inflated but we would rate this hotel a good four star and will definitely use this hotel again when we return to Malta.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BobWFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The hotel was lovely. Rooms were spacious and well laid out. We had a balcony with a sea view which was great. The hotel situation was ideal as it was a pleasant short walk to the local area with shops, clubs and pubs but far enough away from the noise if you are looking for a quiet evening. The food was excellent and varied every day. I would return to this hotel although I wasn't too excited about Malta. It all depends what kind of holiday you are looking for. Overall we enjoyed the holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view is best. Ground floor hasn't as much privacy as upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey111144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCBR, Front Office Manager at Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your candid comments.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on robert.borgmillo@marinahotel.com.mt , in the event that you plan another visit to the Island of Malta.
We all look forward to welcoming you back at the Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort.


With kind regards,

Robert Borg Millo

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort

Property: Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Address: St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3390, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views out over Malta's St. George's Bay, the Marina Hotel is near the Paceville district's lively nightlife. It features a private beach club, a diving center, free Wi-Fi throughout and a total of 9 dining options. This 4-star hotel is part of the 5-star Corinthia Beach Resort, which has excellent water sports facilities and 5 outdoor swimming pools. Guests also have free access to an indoor heated pool, a sauna, a gym and spa facilities at the Apollo Day Spa. Decorated in bright pastel colors, all rooms are spacious and feature a balcony, a sitting area and a dressing table. They include air conditioning, a satellite flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi access. The Marina Hotel at the Corinthia Beach Resort has 9 restaurants and 7 bars with Mediterranean and innovative international dishes. A generous breakfast buffet is served daily. You will be just a few steps from a sandy beach and in the heart of Paceville's entertainment district. Both free and private parking are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel At The Corinthia Beach Saint Julian`s
Corinthia Marina Hotel Malta
Corinthia Marina Malta
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing